Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    

FranceLa Rosiere: Reviews

If you've been to La Rosiere and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Jaime Holland
Posted: 22/04/17
Skiing with toddlers in tow
Overall rating: 4 stars
Jaime Holland
Visited: January 2017

This is a great resort for families with young children. We travelled with Esprit Ski, staying at Chalet Schatzi and was expecting our trip to be a little stressful at the very least. The location of our accommodation and childcare enabled us to spend maximum time on the slopes, and the organisation of the travel company ensured we could ski without focussing on the kids' needs throughout the day.

Getting to the resort wasn't too bad; a little apprehensive about a three hour transfer from Geneva Airport but the journey via Annecy was fine, especially as we arrived 30 minutes earlier than expected. The girls managed to have a little nap, which worked out very nicely so we could peacefully admire the scenery en route.

During our week there (29 Jan to 5 Feb) we had perfect conditions; lots of sunshine, a huge amount of snow falling too, mainly overnight. The link over to La Thuile was open all week, and having read previous reviews about the tiresome drag lifts I wasn't looking forward to it, but it was absolutely fine! I can imagine it wouldn't be so nice with a bitterly cold wind, nor tired legs but heading over there first thing on a sunny day was fabulous.

Being a fan of the 'plat du jour' in France I was very happy with lunches at L'Antigel - arguably a little more pricey than other restaurants in resort or down the road at Les Eucherts area; however the quality of food, location and service was worth it.

The ski bus to Les Eucherts is handy if you have non-skiing children; we took our three year-old there just so we could walk back through the forest. It was magical for her as we'd just had around 75cm of snow, almost a white-out, and living in Hong Kong we don't have anything comparable!

Overall we had a wonderful trip, and usually we don't visit the same resort twice but we would come back here again. This is a great place to build confidence on intermediate terrain, no wasting time with lift queues, and enjoy good food on the mountain.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Mark Funsch
Posted: 11/04/17
Great Family Ski Trip at La Rosiere/La Thuile!
Overall rating: 4 stars
Mark Funsch
Visited: April 2017

None of our group - 7 adults and 7 kids (7-12yrs old) - had been to La Rosiere before but were told it would be great for a spring family ski holiday. When you combine the La Thuile ski area, accessible by one of the longest poma-lifts I've ever seen, this is one excellent resort.
Given the time of year (Apr 2nd-Apr 9th) we were taking our chances with the conditions. Well, we're pleased to report the conditions were very good, especially on the north facing slopes in La Thuile. Not the most challenging skiing but there was enough off piste to keep things interesting. Oh, and lift lines were rare - we had much of the hill to ourselves!
La Rosiere is nicknamed The Balcony of the Alps. Well, amazing 180 degree views all over the mountain were just amazing - worth the trip just for the photos!
Dining on the mountain and in La Rosiere town was fairly limited but since we were staying in a catered chalet it didn't matter much. There were enough mountain options for lunch. Check out Maison Carrel in La Thuile (service stinks but views great) and L'Antigel near the bottom of Roches Noire in La Rosiere. Good luck!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Jessica
Jessica
Panoramic 1
Panoramic 1
Panoramic 2
Panoramic 2
With the kids
With the kids
Paul Stokes
Posted: 05/05/16
Nice, friendly place. Good for families
Overall rating: 4 stars
Paul Stokes
Visited: January 2016

We liked la Rosiere. It's an attractive resort with all that you'd need. The ski area is a little limited if you are used to larger resorts but there's certainly enough for a family trip. It's marketed as Espace St Bernardo but the link with la Thuile is poor, to say the least, and our boarder didn't like the long, old drag to get there. I get the impression that neither resort is willing to spend the money to send its guests to the other resort! La Rosiere has the shops and bars you'd want and it still has the feel of being a village. If you get the chance, go to an ice hockey match at the ice rink in les Eucherts side of the village - the manager/team captain/coach/rink supervisor/former professional player is a real star! The atmosphere was great and the local club very welcoming to their curious Brit guests!

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Oliver Vicars-harris
Posted: 21/03/16
A charming and friendly little resort made better by the link to Italy
Overall rating: 4 stars
Oliver Vicars-harris
Visited: March 2016

We were really taken with La Rosiere. The centre is a small cluster of the essential shops and restaurants along a single road so you're never far from anything and there's a free bus which travels up and down every 10mins if you don't want to walk.

It is mainly small chalets which gives it a nice feel and the smaller area of Les Eucherts down the road is even more romantic with lots of new but traditional wooden chalets with skiing right to the door. If we went back we'd probably stay there since it had a lovely feel tucked away in the trees but still within easy reach of La Rosiere centre if needed.

As for the skiing, we were lucky to have near perfect conditions with lots of fresh snow and then sunshine. There are lots of south facing slopes so I think they might be quickly affected in warmer weather but I gather the resort has a reputation for holding its snow well. The skiing is relatively limited and probably won't satisfy someone wanting to cover large distances, even with the link to La Thuile.

It takes about 45 mins to work your way over to the Italian side including two rather tedious drag lifts and I gather there can be problems with the link to Italy being closed in bad weather but we didn't experience that. It's well worth it though since there are lots of well kept pistes and many more red runs including a lovely tree lined one which runs right down into La Thuile itself. It's also worth knowing that the weather on the Italian and French sides are often very different so you can often escape clouds in one to find bright sunshine in the other.. The food on the Italian side is also very good and noticeably cheaper, though La Rosiere didn't strike me as a particularly expensive resort.

Perhaps the most important impression we took away from La Rosiere was of it being by far the most friendly resort we'd ever visited, with absolutely everyone we met bending over backwards to help. I'd never have believed we were in the French Alps!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Ski to the door in Les Eucherts
Ski to the door in Les Eucherts
The journey to La Thile
The journey to La Thile
The view back towards La Rosiere
The view back towards La Rosiere
The view South from La Rosiere
The view South from La Rosiere
Neil Skinner
Posted: 15/02/16
Love it but the Italy link was a nightmare this year
Overall rating: 4 stars
Neil Skinner
Visited: February 2016

This was our third annual visit with friends to La Rosiere (stayed with Esprit in chalet Amelia in the Ourson building next to the nursery slope).
We love it dearly (pretty , compact resort . Good shops and restaurants and a few bars). Very family friendly. Not much night-life (better in Eucherts 10 mins walk)

But...

The advanced skiers in our group were very frustrated with the link to Italy - it was never open early and only open 2 days out of 6 while we visited this year.

The resort is very prone to winds and we had lots of new snow which probably did not help.

The pisteurs were very unhelpful. "its closed due to winds" said one , then another told us (2 minutes later) " its due to avalanche risk - not open today"). An hour later it had opened but we had ventured elsewhere and missed our chance.

This happened several times. It is almost like the French do not want you to go....

One day , the link run from the top of Bellecombe I (Liason) was closed with a tape but we could see the Italian chairs running (i.e. the way to get home).

As previous posters have mentioned , the quickest way to the main Italy area is via two long drags (Bellecombe I and II) but - you can miss the second and take a slightly longer run (Liason) down to the Forclaz Express Chair which takes you up to the same spot as the second drag.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Paul Stokes
Posted: 30/01/16
Nice place, shame about the link
Overall rating: 3 stars
Paul Stokes
Visited: January 2016

La Rosiere is a nice, well appointed resort. We rented an apartment at The Refuge. The bars are good and there are enough facilities for a family visit. The skiing is pretty reasonable but if we hadn't had three days of snowy weather we'd probably have skied La Rosiere in those three days. The advertising for "Espace San Bernardo" is something of a con. The link from France to La Thuile is a very long and leg- burning button tow which had our lone boarder screeching. The chairlift to get you back to France is a very old "calf-thumper". Why is this so difficult? I assume that La Rosiere doesn't want to pay to let "their" guests go to La Thuile to buy lunch. Aside from this, we liked the resort and its friendly feel. Good for families.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Maggie Wayte
Posted: 21/03/15
Just lovely
Overall rating: 5 stars
Maggie Wayte
Visited: March 2015

Fab trip, I am an intermediate skier and this resort is excellent
I had a private lesson with ESF. teacher spoke good English and this helped a great week skiing
Resort can be icy in the morning and as we had exceptional weather snow became slushy after 2:30
Trips to Italy are worth it but tiring so as we had such good weather forecast we happily alternated between days
Skiing is not cheap but this resort was far better price than Austria
Felt safe and slopes not crowded at all
If you want to learn to ski this is the place to come
I would say that the choice of slopes is limited compared to other resorts and advanced skiers would have to seek out challenges

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Great weather
Great weather
Last drink after the final run
Last drink after the final run
View across the vally
View across the vally
Waiting for the ice to soften
Waiting for the ice to soften
John Holland
Posted: 26/01/15
Good for families, beginners & intermediates. Quiet slopes.
Overall rating: 3 stars
John Holland
Visited: January 2015

Fortunately, Christmas snowfall had boosted the slopes but apparently the levels were well below what La Ros is used to. That and the strong winds meant that even after heavy snow midweek, it was all getting a little packed, scrapy and icy by the end of the day after, The resort is linked to La Thuile but they'd had even less snow and all accounts from fellow skiers advised against skiing over to Italy.
We had a group of varied levels from absolute beginners to very competent. La Ros catered for everyone but the advanced skiing is limited. With more snow though, I imagine the off-piste would be lots of fun for those who want some powder without heading off into the back-country. For beginners the resort is great. You can get everywhere (and down from everywhere) on blues if you want and some of the reds are good for developing confidence on steeper slopes. What's more the slopes were sparsely populated. Certainly no lift queues when we were there. It's quite windy (a trait I believe it shares with La Thuile) and there's nowhere to go but up to the top of the hill but wrap up warm and you're fine.
Chalet-ed in Les Eucherts where access to the lift is easy but you can get from one side of the resort to the other pretty much on two lifts. Not much choice of on-hill restaurants but very good chocolate on the sun terrace at La Traversette near the Fort chair.
Top tip - Don't fly in to Geneva, it's a 3.5 hour transfer that Crystal managed to turn into 5.5 hours despite good weather.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Keren Hunter
Posted: 14/01/15
Fantastic Resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Keren Hunter
Visited: December 2014

Have owned an apartment in LA Rosiere since 2003 so know it well. We are a family of 5 & tried a few resorts whilst our children were small & from our experience there are is no better resort to visit with young children. The ski schools/crèche are excellent and the lifties go out of their way to help children/beginners onto the lifts. The link to Italy is only closed in extreme weather conditions & yes they are long drags but fairly flat so easy to maneovre. The restaurants in LA Thuile are cheaper so it's better value to ski over for lunch, if you find LA Ros too expensive. Lift queues are almost non existent, you may hit 5/6 people in front of you at half term & yes you must visit Le Genepi, but book well in advance. If you want lift queues, busy pistes & lots of après ski then LA Ros is not for you, but if you want uncrowded pistes, & a goodmeal at night with a few drinks then LA Ros is perfect

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Penelope Parsons
Posted: 05/04/14
Mixed opinion
Overall rating: 4 stars
Penelope Parsons
Visited: March 2014

I have mixed opinions about this resort. There are some very positive things going for it, but also some limitations. Bad things first: Amount of skiing limited, opportunity to ski over to Italy very weather dependent - lifts often closed in high winds/low cloud. Trip to Italy involves 11 minute drag lift. Once committed to this lift, there is no other choice - unless you get up the lift you are stuck. Resort is high and exposed so, even on a sunny day, it is cold on chair lifts, need lots of warm head wear all the time. Lots of drag lifts (higher ratio than most other resorts) - can get very icy, can't be avoided. Apparently 2 of the drags will be replaced by chairlifts for next season (2014/2015). Condition of slopes can be disappointing; resort is south facing, but biting winds - therefore slopes can be slushy, bare or icy.
So, now for the good bits: Everyone I met in the resort absolutely loved it. Seems to be very good for families with young children. Also good for beginners, plenty of nursery slopes with short lifts - which are free! Good for non-skiiers, plenty of scenic walks. For skiiers, pistes can be great if lucky. Once over in Italy, the terrain is steeper, plus black runs and long reds through the trees. Skiing convenience good, Regular ski bus (half hourly), reliable and free - no queues or crowds. No lift queues at all, skiied straight to barrier every time. Views are magnificent, One main 'street' of shops, bars, restaurants, hire shops etc. Not a lot of night life, but plenty for most. Attractive resort despite being 'purpose-built'. Good value too - lift pass cheaper than bigger neighbours, good chalet deals possible, prices reasonable. Everyone friendly.
To summarise, for the purist skiier, the skiing could be limited and frustratingly weather-dependent. But for those who are looking for a good value ski holiday (and won't be too disappointed if the weather/conditions curtail the possibilities) it is definitely worth considering.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Mick Sowden
Posted: 30/01/14
Great family friendly resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Mick Sowden
Visited: January 2014

Started coming here 14 years ago and have visited every year since at least once. The resort has continued to improve during this time whilst retaining its character with new construction in the alpine style.
Skiing is ideal for all levels and ages and with the easy access to the pistes in La Thuile, Italy it makes a great playground,
When I first came here 14 years ago I booked an off piste lesson with the ESF and because of this I discovered a great ski area and started to improve my technique to allow me to get to the level of skier I am now. The ESF encouraged me to take the BASI qualification and with
their help I got to a level that allowed me to achieve my Level 2.
Before I discovered La Rosiere my wife had lost her confidence and with the help of the ESF she rediscovered her love of skiing.
We have introduced many friends to La Rosiere who now return at least once a year as they enjoy the skiing and the ambience of the resort. Always a friendly welcome.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Andrew Luckhurst
Posted: 04/02/13
Well planned out resort
Overall rating: 3 stars
Andrew Luckhurst
Visited: January 2013

La Rosiere offers some great skiing and competitively priced ski deals via the choice of catered chalets which are available.
Skiing - Some great runs, particularly when taking the opportunity to get over to Italy, especially run 6 and some short but interesting blacks as you approach La Thuile. Please make sure that you pay attention to the lift reports as La Thuile and the Saint Bernard pass is often closed due to the high winds and it may be best to take advantage of the conditions when the weather is favourable. At the start of the week, Les Eucherts tends to be busy due to the ski school usage and as a result head over to the left hand side of the resort, where in my opinion, the run down to Ecudets through the tree line is the best in the resort.
Food - La Rosiere is becoming more and more expensive, 19 euros for sausage and chips on the piste (Plan du repos), is not value for money, particularly when compared to the excellent Foyer restaurant in La Thuile with beautiful large home made pizzas for 10 euros only. If you like something more alcoholic, again La Thuile is better value, Bombardino's for 4 only euros again in the Foyer against over 6 euros for a beer at the Kitzbuhel bar back in La Rosiere.
I have been to La Rosiere twice, the skiing is varied and excellent and the link to La Thuile certainly provides a good range of runs. Considering it's proximity to Les Arcs, La Plagne and Tignes, La Rosiere is cheaper regarding lift passes and as an overall resort it is well planned out with an ice rink and a lovely wooded walk between Les Eucherts and La Rosiere, but the ever increasing prices are making Italy look more and more attractive option.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Edward Silva
Posted: 26/01/13
I really wouldn't bother but some people seem to like it
Overall rating: 2 stars
Edward Silva
Visited: January 2008

I really didn't think much of this resort at all.

Expensive, food very poor indeed, runs icy/windswept/windscoured and limited.

Lots of ski in / ski out accommodation- great for yummy mummies who don't like walking in ski boots but really that's about is as far as I can see.

Not my cup of tea- but I guess many people couldn't disagree more.

Good for: you'd really like to go to Meribel but can't stretch that far at half term.

Bad for: you like interesting skiing but hate poor value French self service restaurants.

Slopes:
2 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
John Jenner
Posted: 15/02/10
La Rosiere review
John Jenner

Stayed in the MGM Les Cimes Blanche apartments, lovely, really nice spa and pool complex. Spacious, although those apartments provided through Crystal are the North slope facing ones and not those offering fantastic views across the valley to Tignes and Les Arc. They are also a little smaller than the South facing ones. (we had a snoop around when we left!)

We hired 2 apartments, a 4 bed and 10 bed. They are set in a small village. You can ski to and from the door, fantastic boot and ski locker rooms (separate), lovely heated boot store. You can order bread and we only found out on the last day, hire DVD players and DVDs at reception!

OK ski hire under apartments, most of the ski hire seems to be SkiSet around the resort. Was cheaper to book direct with them than Crystal, as was the ski school.

The Town is split in 2, with 2 ESF ski centres for each. The main village is a lovely 10min. walk along a Harry Potter type path, lights, snow, but not practical for shopping. There is a small supermarket in both areas. It’s all pretty new, but amazingly for France really pretty.

Can't praise the ESF school enough. We had children from 5 to 16, they all had a fantastic time. Excellent English spoken by everyone. The adults did a lot of off-piste skiing with a ESF instructor called Vince - wow what a blast.

Negatives:
- Skiing to Italy was horrible, slow drags in biting winds, we had 3 separate attempts and did not enjoy any of them. We did make it in the end, but it was not worth it. Would have been better off staying in the French side. The 2 chair lifts out of la Rosiere are very cold, always had a biting wind in our face. We were told the two resorts La Thurle and Rosiere always have opposing weather systems, so if it's not nice in La Rosiere, head over to Italy.
- Limited slope restaurants, two unless you head back to the village.
- Pretty much all the slopes are South facing, could get tricky if the snow is poor!

David Atkinson
Posted: 22/01/10
La Rosiere review
David Atkinson

We went in early March 09 and stayed in Les Euchets. The view across the valley was the first thing that struck me as you can see 3 other resorts (Les Arc, La Plagne and Val D'Isere). La Rosiere is the most unknown in the valley but then again it's going up against some of the French Alps Heavy weights.

The conditions were good when we went but then again I always think that resorts have little control over this side of things. The fort at the top represents a good challenge for the lower level of skier to reach whilst on holiday and for those looking for more adventure you can ski into Italy (La Thiule) be beware if the wind blows the link with La Thiule will shut and the options for a the better skier become a lot more limited.

The link between the two resorts is also something to consider. Having had a hard days skiing the day before we went over into Italy again the next day, which meant going on the 2 long drag lifts to get there. Now I'm not unfit but I'm not the fittest either (like most people I guess) and half way up the second long drag lift I was trying all I could to relive the pain because it got bad. Having learnt my lesson I think that if you ski hard one day do not try to ski in Italy the next as the drag will get you(unless you're very fit).

The resort it's self was as comparable as any other that I've been to enough nice bars to have a drink and the food on pistes was equally as good as any other French resort. The footpath between La Rosiere and Les Euchets is great for a romantic walk and getting a toboggan out if you can't ski.

I do find myself thinking where does La Rosiere fit in when compared to other resorts. It's not a complete party place although it has enough. It's not 'the' family friendly resort but a family could go there and be very happy with it. It's not got a massive ski Area although with the link to Italy it has plenty to ski.

I know it's the last minute resort. You fancy a skiing holiday but decide to book late and see what there is. You go into the travel agents and they say there's a chalet in La Rosiere going cheap, the night life's not bad, it's fairly family friendly and has a reasonable piste map as it's linked with La Thiule. You take it as the price is right and it looks like a good deal, you won’t be disappointed but it won't bowl you over.

Susie Moore
Posted: 18/01/10
La Rosiere review
Susie Moore

Have just returned from my 1st visit to La Roz. The resort itself is compact and, in comparison to many other French resorts, is pretty. The locals are friendly and ski hire from La Poudre excellent.

The skiing itself is limited if you like 'fast and furious' and the link to La Thuile temperamental - weather dependent. High winds are common but the resort is south facing so plenty of sunshine too. Mountain restaurants are cheaper than many of La Roz's neighbours and the food we had in both France and Italy was very good. Highly recommend the Genepi in La Roz (like the previous reviewer).

We stayed in Chalet Edelweiss courtesy of Green Rides. This chalet is well situated to the village and the slopes. Our hosts Dan and Jess were very sweet and helpful.

Posted: 09/07/09
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

What do you want from a snow holiday? You want a nice place to stay, friendly surroundings, great food and drink, and an excellent ski area.


I've been on a lot of snow holidays but I can safely say without doubt this was the one I had the most fun on - from great evenings out to snowboarding for 20 minutes without seeing another person (you really feel like you have the mountain to yourself here).


We stayed at Bura Snow in La Rosiere - the staff cannot do enough to help whether it be creating a culinary delight for the evening meal, making sure you glass is always full or getting out on the mountain with you and showing you the best runs as a ski guide.


This is a place I can see myself coming back to again and again, roll on next winter! Nice one La Rosiere & Bura Snow.

Paul Nolan
Posted: 14/04/09
La Rosiere review
Paul Nolan

La Rosiere is a wonderful resort. The restaurants are excellent and the staff are polite and pleasant. However there is one notable exception - L'Ancolie in Les Eucherts.
In this restaurant they appear to have a problem with anyone who speaks English. Avoid this if possible and try the much better food and warm welcome at Genepi in the main resort. Also try La Turia for an interesting Lebanase buffet and attentive service. Unlike L'Ancolie children are more than welcome here.
Go to Italy for a more rustic experience - Le Rascard in La Thuile and La Maison De Neige just below the Fourclaz chair lift are both wonderful and child friendly as well.

Miles Drew
Posted: 31/10/08
La Rosiere review
Miles Drew

Stayed at Chalet Oliver for a week in March 08. The chalet is run by SkiOlympic and was excellent. We will certainly go back there in the future. Most of the accomodation in La Rosiere is centred around the main street, at the top of which is the main ski lift. Its well worth getting over to La Thuile whenever possible as the lifts are quieter and the food better. However, the link is frequently closed due to bad weather. Although La Rosiere is a small quiet resort there are a few lively bars all with a good atmosphere. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our week and would recommend La Rosiere to families and groups alike.

Peter Gethin
Posted: 14/01/07
La Rosiere review
Peter Gethin

The resort village of La Rosiere is at 1850m. Whereas there is a run that goes down to Villard Desous which may be as low as 1200m, this is rarely open. The vast majority of runs are above the resort village.

Matthew Weaver
Posted: 19/12/06
La Rosiere review
Matthew Weaver

To update those unaware of improvements that appear to be ongoing within the branding "Espace St Bernard" there are now two excellent, fast 6 man chairs to whisk you up the mountain.
The resort is excellent for novices and safe and secure for children. For the more adept,sking with friends or family there are large areas of accesible off piste with some really challenging slopes and gulleys to spice things up. When all the pistes are open, La Rosiere combined with La Tuile offers a great alternative to some of the bigger congested resorts in the Tarantaise. I for one
have skied many resorts throughout the Alps but still enjoy going back there, every other year.

Posted: 30/05/06
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

La Rosiere exceeded our expectations. Spent a week from 8 -15 April 2006 there with two beginner children (6 & 8 years). While modern, the resort is not unattractive being built in chalet style and the height meant the snow was excellent - it snowed a lot while we were there and since it is an intermediate resort, the off piste snow was not skied out. Had a morning off piste with Jean Luc at Evolution 2 who was excellent and the children had two hour lesseons with ESF which was perfect, by the end of their first week they made the circuit to Italy, down to La Thuile and back, with lunch at the Roxy at the bottom of the Forclaz chair (there is also a nice restaurant further on, left slightly off the main route to La Thuile - it looks further on the map than it is). La Rosiere eating is not fantastic, good traditional dinner at Le Genepi. It is a perfect resort for a family who want to ski - not much non-skiing though.

Posted: 03/04/06
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

The resort altitude is 1850 metres, not 1200 metres as stated in the Resort summary, which is very misleading. Nearly all the skiing is above that height. Only one chair serves skiing being below that level.

Posted: 29/03/06
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Have just returned from a tremendous week in La Rosiere. This is a friendly little resort, perfect for young families. The skiing is quite gentle with lots of cruising reds and blues. Going to La Thuile would extend what is a fairly small ski area, but the link is not always open and entails a very long drag lift. Drag lifts are pretty much the only downside to La Ros - there are a number of them, some quite violent and some very long indeed. We went with esprit, and the childcare and ski school were all of a high standard. The chalets are all very close to the slopes. True, there's not much nightlife, but this is a family resort. I think this is a place you could visit a couple of times, before heading somewhere bigger.

Posted: 24/03/06
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

If you like a good snow record (better than Tignes or les Arcs), exceptional hours of sunshine (I'm told better than any French resort except for Isola), remarkable views from everywhere )including Mont Blanc and, from the Italian border-on skis-of the Matterhorn too, and reasonable prices (still, but for how long?), in a pretty resort, then la Rosiere must be the best mixed-ability ski resort in the world.. Until recently a French family secret, with kids packed off to well organised kids clubs, intermediates cruising the long, wide but not boring pistes, and good skiers going off-piste with guides (more off-piste here than at St Foy), or heliskiing the Italian glaciers, then all meeting up again at lunch. This is my fourth time, and I prefer it to all the major resorts in North America and Europe. Downsides? Not much night life to speak off-but no rowdy crowds either. Not a great choice of on-slope eating, though a couple of lovely places in Italy (Lo Riondet and the newly opened Hotel de Neige), but not bad. The link with Italy can also be closed in bad weather. Nice friendly feel to the place -largely still French. But best is the remarkably good skiing for all levels in extarordinary, mainly sunny surroundings.

Posted: 05/01/06
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Spent Xmas and New Year 2005/6 in La Rosiere with my wife and two children (boys age 12 and 5). First time skiing with children - they loved it - booked private lessons with Evolution 2 and the children were hooked and progressed fantastically quickly. The snow was immense - snowed each night - powder everywhere. Ski lifts are a little slow and basic but queues were minimal even over the holiday period. This is a real gem of a resort located within easy daily drive of its more glamorous neighbours (Val D'Isere, Tignes and Les Arc). Organised accomodation direct with Le Ruitor Hotel and self drove to resort (635 miles from Tunnel) Skiing is more interesting as you go over the mountain towards La Thuile in Italy - pretty cold though -20 not uncommon whilst there.

Posted: 25/01/05
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Back from our 2nd visit to La Rosiere and another great time had by all inc my 3 young children. Whilst the snow was in need a good fall, most runs were open and the piste's relatively well maintained, particularly in La Thuile. This little slice of "Austria" in the Franch Alps offered wide runs which at times fealt almost empty, allowing the children to develop their skills without the fear of others flying by too close. They are also yet to experience queues as I don't recall a single one all week. The 2 new chair lifts certainly help on capacity and speed up the mountain and opens up runs to La Thuile; for a laugh we did the round trip from resort to resort in less than 2 hours. You can see the development of this small resort coming so get there before the crowds do. We'll certainly be going back for the next few years.

Posted: 16/04/04
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

We visited La Rosiere in January 2004. It snowed almost all day every day and all night every night! It is a lovely town and the skiing is really great. However the lifts are really old and slow - lots of very long drag lifts and some are those nasties that lift you off the ground when you start off. Our kids had lessons with Evolution 2 who were great but the class sizes were much bigger than we were told they would be by the travel company (Esprit Holidays).

Posted: 20/02/04
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Just returned from a week in La Ros (14/02/04). This is our second ski holiday (me, my husband and 7 year old child). After a very bad experience with the ski school last year we very nearly never repeated the experience again. However, the ESF ski school in La Ros proved to be excellent and I'm sure they would be hard to beat elsewhere. Class sizes were small (no more than 8 - often fewer)and with English speaking instructors. They regularly evaluated people's ability within the groups - moving them to different classes as necessary. All the instructors we came across provided symapathetic instruction along with encouragement and made the experience an enjoyable one. The ski school also provided reasonably priced private tuition which proved useful to boost confidence and skills. The resort is very family orientated, very french and very friendly. However, if you find that skiing is not for you there is little else to do in this resort. Overall a gem of a resort which sadly looks set to spoil with the investment of the lift system and the increasement of planned accommodation. Our advice would be to try it sooner rather than later - you won't be disappointed.

Posted: 16/12/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

This is pre-holiday feedback! (if there is such a thing). My family and I
are about to embark on our Christmas winter break to La Rosiere next week.
Having my younger brother living there all season ('Nev' to the locals),
it is surprising how much can be done in a resort that is still relatively
small and untapped as a major destination. The skiing is ideal for
beginners and upper level intermediates although if you are an experienced
or advanced you might find the runs a little easy. As in most reports on
this page the lifts are indeed 'naf' and need modernising or simply more
speed, however, as my younger brother 'Nev' (who will be working in the Le
Roc Noir as a ski guide and happens to be a very good skier)found out when
he FELL OFF!!! last year, they may not speed them up just yet.
Other than that the Yeti Bar does exceptional pizzas with the best one
being the Yeti Special washed down with a bottle of Chablis and Le Pub
(took them ages to think up that name!) is okay for a late drink. Enjoy La
Rosiere this year and Merry Christmas 2003.

Posted: 23/10/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Highly impressed by one hour flight over Mont Blanc from the altiport. Why are Blue runs marked with so dark a navy blue that it is hard to tell from black? Experts and we ordinary folk must be equally vexed.

Posted: 11/03/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Returned on Sunday from La Rosiere had an excellent weeks skiing really good conditions, able to ski down through the trees to 1100 meters on superb snow. The reds and blacks here do wonders for your confidence! Didn`t encounter any ice all week although some of the runs were a bit hard especially in the morning due to the low temps. My son was in competition class with the E.S.F. and had a great time, if you book lessons between 11-15 and 13-15 you are guarenteed an English speaking instructor. It was a mixed class with French children, class sizes also appeared to be small. We stayed in the Le Roc Noir with Ski Olympic very friendly and helpful staff. There can be long waits for the lifts at half term first thing in the morning when the chair lift is late starting or when the links with Italy are closed. The lift system could do with upgrading I don`t think I have been on so many lifts that have ground to a halt so often! It is fairly easy to get across to Italy but the link involves a very long cold drag lift, but worth it for the hot chcolate on the other side I think they had melted a Galaxy. We ate lunch a couple of times at Le P`tit Relais at the bottom of the slopes. Pizzas and Omlettes cooked to order recommended. Also stopped at the restaurant next to the Ice Tower on the San Bernardo Pass in La Thuille good value 10 euros for 2 courses and wine or soft drink. We had an excellent weeks skiing and wouldn`t hesitate to return.

Posted: 11/03/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

A great resort for early intermediates who want to build confidence on wide empty blue and red runs. As with all resorts, there are a series of pluses and minuses....the pluses being that the resort and runs never feel overcrowded...we enjoyed empty slopes even in peak holiday season. Good, friendly restaurants in the village as well, although be careful at Le Chalet...it has good food, but no childrens menu. When we were there, every group had kids of varying ages, and every parent asked for a childrens menu, to be met with a straight, 'non, we're sorry'. There were also a few minuses...although we had brilliant sunshine, there is a constant cutting wind 8and I cannot overstate how bitter it was !), which made sitting on the antiquated chairlifts a seriously uncomfortable experience. The only way to get around the slopes are either by long buttons or long slow chairs...the resort badly, badly needs a gondola from the village and another to connect to Italy where there are now 2 long, tiring button lifts (too difficult for kids). Also, don't go to La Rosiere if you hope to do anything else other than ski for 7 hours a day, you'll be bored rigid. 50/50 as to whether we would go back again....I'll have to wait 6 months and see if La Rosiere has grown on us!

Posted: 04/02/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Just back from a cracking week in La rosiere, very tempted not to tell anyone else about it due to the wide open pistes and complete lack of queues... Plenty of snow, Great Ski school, eager to help locals! I believe the local town council signed a deal about two months ago with a private developer for some much needed investment in the lift system, in turn for increasing the resort's bed occupancy over the coming years. If claustrophobia is a problem for you and you don't need a designer shopping fix with your skiing, then La Ros is for you.

Posted: 06/01/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

We skied at La Rosiere for two years and loved it. We were a mixed ability group of 18 staying in a great Chalte with Ski Olympic. The resort does cater for all abilities and is the antidote for the large, expensive, imnpersonal, busy French resorts. True, it is smaller but being twinned with la Thuile in Italy you get a good size ski area. The villiage is small and traditional and freindly. It is not great for boarders as the run over to La Thuile involves a very long drag lift. We loved the resort and even those skiers who have 'done the lot' really enjoyed its atmoshphere and laid back view on life. We will go back again!

Posted: 06/01/03
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Just back from La Rosiere, first time we've visited & vey impressed. Small & friendly resort great value lift pass & lots of skiing including the link to Italy. Found everyone very friendly and helpful, a refreshing change from some larger resorts where service with a snarl seems to prevail. Stayed in a lovely cosy chalet run by Tracks located in the
Vieux Village, nice and quiet. Enough action in the village to keep us happy, had a really jolly Xmas eve visiting the roc noir, Terrasse de Yeti, Le Pub and Arpins bar, bit of blur after that. We'll be going back to La Ros now we know what a super little resort it is.

Posted: 17/12/02
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Dear Ski ClubGB, please, please, please stop publicising La Rosiere, possibly the best kept secret in the French Alps. I would like it to stay that way! I have been going to La Rosiere for 5 years and I love it. Find out for yourselves, I will be in Le Roc Noir every Happy Hour during New Year week if you wish to buy me a beer for this recommendation!

Posted: 12/12/02
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Having read the comments of some of your other subscribers, we felt we would like to add our thoughts on La Rosiere. We first went there 2 years ago & found it delightful. Eilidh was 7 and a complete beginner; I was very rusty, having not skied for more than 20 years! Eilidh was very nervous but did very well with sympathetic instruction from Evolution 2.
I had to go back to total basics with ESF but had a delightful female instructor who soon had me sking fairly confidently again. On our final day she took us out with another family with 3 young children and coped admirably with a very varied age and ability range, providing a memorable and fun end to a super holiday. My husband and younger daughter were unable to come on holiday that year, and we were definitely the 'odd couple' compared to most of the family groups,but we were made very welcome, particularly at lunch, when the restaurants were happy to provide child size portions at very reasonable prices, for Eilidh. Also Mum was v relieved that there was a refreshing lack of fancy shops. As this can add considerably to the cost of any holiday with young children, this was great. Another plus - the resort was definitely FRENCH and we got the opportunity to speak it. Yes there were quite a few Brits on holiday but they did not overwhelm the resort as is the case in so many. A definite thumbs up for families & beginners!

Posted: 01/05/02
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

Dinner at Le Chalet restaurant is excellent (reputed to serve the best food in La Rosiere), although the service we received was appalling (2 hour wait after they "lost" our order in the kitchen). This is a fabulous resort for young children learning to ski. My two 5-year olds spent many happy hours on the bottom nursery slope which has the smoothest drag lift I have ever experienced. After a week's instruction from Evolution 2, they comfortably tackled the full drop from the top of the mountain down the main blue motorway.

Posted: 01/05/02
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

We skied in La Rosiere in early Feb 2002. In contrast to just about every other resort if France there was enough snow and in Italy snow conditions were good. This had to be attributed to good piste management and grooming. It was noticeable while we were there that instructors from as far away as Val d'Isere were bringing their clients to La Rosiere. When it snowed we had some of the best days skiing we've ever enjoyed, the off-piste was fabulous. We found the locals to be very friendly and welcoming, in marked contrast to better known and larger French resorts.

Posted: 01/05/02
La Rosiere review
Ski Club member

I visited La Rosiere as my son is working as a chalet host for the 1st time. I had never skied before so this was my opportunity! albeit forced by wanting to see my boy! I loved the resort I found it very friendly not at all intimidating I had 1 hour tuition with ESF the instructor was very nice english was pretty good and I was on my way there are plenty of easy runs for the beginners and by day 3 I was completing blue runs easily. My partner is a more experienced skier and there were plenty of challenging runs for him. We are going back this weekend for 1 week and I can't wait - La Rosiere I would highly recommend it for the first timers!!

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

tour operators in La Rosiere

Skiworld
10% discount for Ski Club members
The largest independent ski operator in the UK. Featuring over 140 catered chalets in superb...
Ski Amis
10% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Amis offer catered chalet holidays of a high standard at affordable prices in the top French...
Mountain Heaven Ltd
10% discount for Ski Club members
Mountain Heaven Ltd offers great value superb catered and self-catered accommodation with no hidden...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Ski Independence
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Independence is one of the UK's leading tailor-made ski specialists offering the best hotels...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...
Lagrange Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
Lagrange specialises primarily in self-catering ski holidays to France, featuring accommodation to...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...
Esprit Ski
5% discount for Ski Club members
Esprit Ski, No 1 for Family Skiing for over 34 years covers every angle for the skiing family. ...
Crystal Ski Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...

ski accommodation in La Rosiere

Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
PowderBeds.com
5% discount for Ski Club members
PowderBeds is an online Ski Accommodation Retailer, offering a huge range of hotels, apartments and...

member discounts in La Rosiere

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Evolution 2
10% discount for Ski Club members
Winter activities include: Ski & Snowboard courses, Husky rides, Ice Climbing, Snow-shoe tours,...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now