Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    

AustriaObergurgl: Reviews

If you've been to Obergurgl and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews, photos and videos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Anthony Rich
Posted: 28/04/14
For Families Who Object to Half Term Skiing
Overall rating: 5 stars
Anthony Rich
Visited: April 2014

At 2000m Obergurgl is high enough to be reasonably snow sure at the start of the Easter school holidays. It can get slushy near the resort but the higher slopes are usually OK, if at times a little icy first thing.

It is a traditional, charming, working Austrian village (moos and baas heard emerging from sundry barns etc). Situated at the end of the valley it is relatively car free and quiet: a great place for beginners and families. We found lift queues are rare, except at ski school launching time. Whilst there is excellent off piste and ski mountaineering there are limited numbers of black runs but a wide range of enjoyable blues and reds suitable for beginners and intermediates of all levels.

The lift system is well connected between the 3 main ski areas.allowing for variety in a days skiing. For the adventurous the glacier at Solden is a bus journey back down the valley.

3 generations of our family have learned to ski at Obergurgl and the ski school is always helpful and its classes, of modest size, often taken by native English instructors (especially for children). Where the instructor is not British they speak English spoken well.d, excellent

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Richard Clarke
Posted: 21/04/14
Good for a short break
Overall rating: 4 stars
Richard Clarke
Visited: April 2014

Recently spent three days skiing in Obergurgl. The snow was very good for April, with runs right down to the resort still in good condition. The transfer from Innsbruck is just an hour and a half although flights to/from Innsbruck are limited to EasyJet except at weekends. We stayed at the Alpenland Hotel, which was very convenient, extremely friendly and helpful and provided great food - we thoroughly recommend it.
Skied with the Ski Club leader, Simon Brooks, all three days and that meant we could just concentrate on the skiing without worrying about finding our way around. The black runs were not noticeably harder than the red runs but were but pretty much totally empty, which was great. Overall, it is not a very demanding area for competent skiers but there is plenty to do and some good off-piste skiing even late in the season. Virtually no lift queues anywhere, even though we were in the school holidays - what a contrast with France! Prices were also better than France and much better than Switzerland.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Ruth Davis
Posted: 14/04/14
Ruth Davis
Overall rating: 5 stars
Ruth Davis
Visited: March 2014

I skied with Elspeth she was absolutely fabulous, I encouraged 4 of my fellow Chalet guests to try out the ski club hosting, and 2 signed up. Thank you ski club, its always great to ski with you.

I am a 60 year old intermediate skier whose husband does not ski, so I find the ski club hosting essential to get to meet other skiers, otherwise I would have to ski on my own, not a good idea, I recommend all skiers to try out the hosting its fantastic. Ski club - you do not market yourself enough, as too few skiers know about the membership and what it offers .

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Jo Wilkinson
Posted: 08/04/14
Obergurgl/Hochgurgl
Overall rating: 4 stars
Jo Wilkinson
Visited: March 2014

Just returned on 1st April from annual ski trip to Obergurgl with usual group of friends. Snow conditions very very good, especially in Hochgurgl. Not the best pisteing, but great restaurants, coffee stops and apres ski atmosphere the best anywhere. Views from the Mountain Star at over 3,000m awesome. Ski down by path or piste.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Hochgurgl
Hochgurgl
Mountain Star
Mountain Star
Edward Little
Posted: 07/04/14
Not bad
Overall rating: 1 star
Edward Little
Visited: March 2014

Quite a nice resort, better skiing than expected. Excellent hotel (Bergwelt) expensive but... The resort had improved as far as the slopes were concerned since I last visited 18 years ago, but the village is a bit of a dump. When compared with my favourite, Zermatt, there is nothing about Obergurgl which is anywhere near that standard, and it is nearly as expensive. Had a good trip with my family. We all enjoyed the holiday, but I shall not go there again.
EDWARD Little.

Slopes:
2 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
1 star
Value for money:
1 star
John Pope
Posted: 05/04/14
John Pope
Overall rating: 4 stars
John Pope
Visited: March 2014

I first went to Obergurgl in 1958 and in the early 60's and have now returned this being the fourth year running and have skied with the ski club rep. The resort with the connection with Hochgurgl has made a great improvement. It is snow sure and has a great atmosphere.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Chris Galley
Posted: 27/03/14
Regular Trip to Obergurgl
Overall rating: 5 stars
Chris Galley
Visited: March 2014

Although I've titled this a "Regular" trip -we've only been coming here for the last 4 years, but intend coming for many more! We can see why so many people come back year after year. I can't fault any aspect. Obergurgl and Hochgurgl are snow sure, no lift queues, very few boarders, and excellent pistes. Other reviews have done the resort proud, but what makes this stand out is a combination of the people we meet together with Reg, our Leader! Reg always gives us a fantastic time -his enthusiasm both on piste and afterwards dancing in the Niederhutte is first rate. The resort makes you want to come back, and many of our "Reg's group" have already booked for next year at the same time! We are even arranging to meet up in London with Reg in November!
Overall one of the best ski holidays we've had!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Nick Archer
Posted: 19/03/14
Third great year
Overall rating: 5 stars
Nick Archer
Visited: February 2014

The first time we went to Obergurgl it was by chance, after a recommendation answered the 'where on earth shall we go?' question. We're recently back from our third visit with two smallish boys - nine and eight - and will probably be back next year. We had great snow yet again - and this year perfect powder early in the week. Pretty good weather with a couple of blue sunny days. And the Hotel Wiesental, which scores bafflingly poorly on TripAdvisor, is friendly, liked by the children, near everything, and has great food - we go back for lunch on top of our half board. People say that the skiing is not that extensive - true, I suppose. But there's good off-piste which really opens it up, and there are some beautiful runs. Add in the fact that they are amazingly uncrowded, as are the lifts, and Obergurgl is hard to beat, at least for a family not after après ski.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Martin Magee
Posted: 15/03/14
Martin Magee
Overall rating: 5 stars
Martin Magee
Visited: March 2014

First time in the resort but had heard good reports from friends who had visited. We had 7 days of glorious sunshine and therefore had a ball. For hardcore skiers the variety is perhaps limited due to scale of the area but for intermediates who want to ski in/ski out in a pretty resort with a great snow record and meet friendly locals then Obergurgl should be for you.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Neil Mollison
Posted: 02/03/14
Obergugl/Hochgurgl
Overall rating: 5 stars
Neil Mollison
Visited: February 2014

One of the best ski holidays we've ever been on. Normally we head to France but this year we decided on Austria to bet the half term crowds and what a difference. Almost no queuing at all and felt that the food and drink everywhere, even on the mountain, was great value for money (Sorry France). We can understand why most people we met have been to Obergurgl/Hochgurgl on numerous occasions- we will definitely go back.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
1st day excitement at Obergurgl
1st day excitement at Obergurgl
It's a Vets Life !!!
It's a Vets Life !!!
Walking the plank at Solden
Walking the plank at Solden
Caroline Flanagan
Posted: 13/12/13
Austrian Gem
Overall rating: 5 stars
Caroline Flanagan
Visited: December 2012

This was my 3rd New Year visit to Obergurgl. As others have said, it is not an extensive ski area and it is not cheap. However, the families who own the area ensure that there is enough uplift capacity to make queues unusual and the lift system is mostly new and comfortable - down to the heated seats in one gondola! The mountain restaurants are comfortable and have enough capacity to deal with the capacity of the resort even in peak season. the slopes are only crowded when the weather closes in and only a few runs are open. Great for cruising intermediates. If you get bored of Obergurgl then you can get the free bus to Solden about 20 - 30 minutes down the valley. A great place to visit for the day but you are glad to get back to Obergurgl again. If you like your apres ski to be late afternoon and then have a good hotel meal and a quiet evening then this is the place.
A lot of the hotels are ski in/ski out. All of the rest are no more than 3 - 4 minutes walk from the slope.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Kevin Murtha
Posted: 15/02/10
Obergurgl review
Kevin Murtha

Only our second family ski holiday (mum, dad and 8 year old son) but fortunate enough to stick a pin in the brochure at Obergurgl. not the cheapest place, but I believe you get what you pay for.

I agree with the last review that the Edelweiss is great for location but we stayed at the Bellevue and only had a couple of minutes walk to a slope that took us down to the lifts. The hotel made us feel very welcome and the food was superb. My son gives a big thumbs up for the Nederhutte on a Thursday, we had a blast in there!

Everyone we met seemed to be on their third, fourth, fifth even 15th visit. we will definitely be back later this year.

Rob Ward
Posted: 19/03/09
Obergurgl review
Rob Ward

We went to Obergurgl 14-21 February 2009 and had a fantastic time. Plenty of powder and we took full advantage of it.

The resort has invested in new lifts and queues are negligible – even in half term week. No seriously steep runs, but the off piste made up for it. The runs are not particularly well marked, so you may get temporarily lost, but as there are only 115km you won’t go far wrong. In the past, I have skied in the big French resorts and had been drawn into that British obsession of skiing as much as possible without skiing the same run twice. I have now come to the conclusion that you can indeed ski the same run more than once and it does not affect your holiday enjoyment.

I skied with the SCGB rep, Sue Fishwick on two days and she showed us some excellent off-piste, transceivers and shovels included. This was well worth the cost of joining SCGB in itself. Choose your days as the rep takes people of different abilities on different days.

We stayed at the perfectly located Crystal Sportiv with Inghams. This hotel is linked by a walkway over the road to the Hotel Crystal and all the spa facilities are shared. The Sportiv is right next to the Festkogl lift, there are never any queues here and it gets you directly to the centre of the ski area. It is not in the centre of the village, but then there isn’t much centre to speak of. The staff are polite rather than friendly. The accommodation is a league above some of the places we have tolerated in France.

Your lift pass includes one day at Solden, if you pay an extra 10 euros, but you must get this at the beginning of your holiday. The free bus takes 15 minutes. The lifts from Solden village up the mountain had half hour queues and this was in complete contrast to Obergurgl. Solden has a big resort feel about it – the third language on the menus is Russian. The jump park and half pipe – always a laugh on skis - were still being constructed when we were there.

Obergurgl is not cheap, but the overall experience is a very positive one. Some may say that the skiing is limited, but a couple of days with the family, a couple with the SCGB rep, one in Solden and one white-out meant we did not get bored.

Good points – snowsure, ski in/ski out, no queues, SCGB rep, good off-piste, quick transfer, minimal snowboarders
Bad points – only 115km of runs, no night life (if you like that kind of thing)

Ian Grant
Posted: 15/03/09
Obergurgl review
Ian Grant

Just returned from a lovely week in Obergurgl. The revamped Crystal provided wonderful accommodation - the new wing is just great. Cool and contemporary with fab restaurant. Town, connections, local people and tourists were very friendly. Ski show on the evening was great too. Reg Favell the rep provided sterling service and we enjoyed several days out with him on the slopes - thanks Reg! The only problem to look out for was the lifts closing due to wind. On Friday the sun was shining for much of the time, the snow was in fantastic condition - yet there were only about 6 lifts open in the whole resort. The lift pass is quite expensive for a relatively small ski area - it makes it even more expensive when most of the resort is closed when it seems unnecessary. It was equally frustrating on the Wednesday afternoon, when everything closed early. Surely it would have been possible to at least keep the lower part of the Gaisberg gondola lift going? Overall we had a great holiday in Obergurgl, but found the closure of lifts to be very frustrating. This would make us think seriously about not returning again.

Jon Webster
Posted: 11/02/09
Obergurgl review
Jon Webster

Just back from a week in Obergurgl staying at the Alpenland. In summary if you want snow with no lift queues this is the place to go! First time in Austria for me and we had a great week made even better by meeting up with the Ski Club Rep - Sue Fishwick and making some good new skiing buddies (ok and drinking buddies as well!).
Like most people, having spent the best part of 2 grand (2 of us) for week half board with lift passes etc you're always a bit tentative when you read other reviews and you wonder whether it will be worth it. The majority of people we met were on return trips to Obergurgl and I can see why. Yes it does cost a bit but some of that is down to the failing pound, 4.8 euros for a beer (0.5l) must be quite comparable to anywhere else in Europe at the moment? We had snow and sun - when the snow stopped we maxed out the lifts and covered the whole resort(s).
I can see where Finlay is coming from with his comments below but my advice would be to ski on and discover the tighter areas and through the Ski Club Rep, venture off piste for some snow fun and plenty of smiles. (I personally have never skied on the moon but if that is moon skiing then maybe when all the snow melts we will be on ski holidays to the moon one day - bring it on!) I am bemused by the way the Austrians just number the runs - why not give them names like the rest of Europe? "Blue 5" just does not have the same ring as "The Face" etc.
The Nederhutte is a must for apres-ski (see other reviews) - say no more - I wonder if the Ski Club will host the photos??? The Alpenland was spot on, food and hospitality were excellent with its location right next to the piste - only gripe is that people still smoke everywhere in Obergurgl (except most of the restaurants) so go prepared to do some lung damage if you want to sit in the bar areas. Will we return? Why not? There were certainly runs that we didn't do due to losing some time when winds closed the higher lifts plus I would like to discover the backcountry with a ski guide. We made some good friends and talk is on of a trip back there next year, yeah bring it on!

Finlay Macarthur
Posted: 31/01/09
Obergurgl review
Finlay Macarthur

Not long returned from Obergurgl, stayed at the excellent and reasonably priced Hotel Lohmann, situated directly in between the Gaisbergbahn and Festkoglbahn lifts. It serves great food and free wine, beer and soft drinks with your evening meal, and it’s unlimited (for some strange reason, I didn't abuse this). It also offers free internet access within the small bar area and a wellness centre with sauna and whirlpools. The skiing itself is pretty good, I found the Hohe Mut (Hohe Mut Alm restaurant has got to be the best ski cabin in the ski world) and the tree line Steinmann (Davids Skihutte another great place to eat) area to be of most interest to me, I found it to be a lot more fun skiing here than any other area of this resort. The other area reached by the Festkoglbahn and Robkarbahn I found to be absolutely dire. This area is moon skiing at it’s worst with extremely poorly marked piste’s and down right dangerous when the visibility becomes poor. The piste grading is also pretty poor, I didn’t really see any difference between a blue, red or black run within this area.
On the other hand, the Hochgurgl area is another fun area to ski in with long, wide motor-way type pistes that everyone should enjoy, especially on a sunny day. If you take a trip up to the top mountain star don’t bother to go down the blue runs, it’s far easier to do the black (or maybe red) from the top.
On the whole I did enjoy my week in Obergurgl. The friendliness and civility of the people I encountered within the resort was absolutely first class. It was nice to visit the resort, but I wouldn't return, it lacked something I can’t quite put my finger on.

Paul Hewitt
Posted: 23/01/09
Obergurgl review
Paul Hewitt

Recently returned from a weeks skiing in Obergurgl and in a nutshell I cant praise the place enough, suffice to say I am already booked to go again next year. Stayed at the Edelweiss and Gurgl hotel which is in a central location right next to the two main ski lifts in Obergurgl itself.

The hotel is immaculate with very helpful, friendly staff. The spa area and pools are well worth a visit, even a dip in the outdoor pool. The food is superb with plenty of choice, however wine at the dinner table is pricey! The lounge area is for some serious relaxation on a leather armchair by the log fire, just what you need after a hard day on the piste.

The village itself is small and quaint, very picturesque and is convenient for the local Spa and within walking distance of other hotels/bars. I think I may have just found my annual ski resort at last. It’s very comfortable and relaxed. This is not a fast-paced, lively resort but all in all, I found plenty to do in the evenings with the Nederhutte being the place to be on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays are great fun but get there before 3pm if you want to get a table - it does get rather packed but you will know why once you've been there! The best part is the ski back down after when you have had a few drinks and its gone dark, but what a great view of the village. However, don’t worry if you don’t feel up to this as the Nederhutte provide a ski-mobile taxi to get you back to your hotel safely.

On other evenings of the week, apres ski can be found at the Edelweiss and Gurgl's Schirm Bar with plenty of hot Gluhwein to keep warm under the 'big umbrella'. There is a ski shop located in the Edelweiss and Gurgl and I can say for a fact that the equipment available to rent is first class, all new gear and top quality stuff.

OK, the skiing. It's not the most demanding skiing in the world, but there is a good red run down from the Hohe Mut and if you are up to it an unmarked mogul run that runs off to the right as you ski down. The one thing I will say is that I found the piste markings to be rather poor and on occasion found myself off the piste I was meant to be on and skiing down onto a black. This could be made worse if there is poor visibility. Tip here is to get to know the piste and if available take a ski guide with a local ski instructor. (I did this with Inghams and it was well worth it). All in all however, the pistes are wide open and mainly blues with some decent reds and the blacks I would more so classify as red, being more open with plenty of room to ski.

Beginners and upcoming intermediates will find they can’t go wrong over in Hochgurgl with what’s best described as a wide open bowl with uncrowded pistes to ski and beautiful scenery. A visit to the Top Mountain Star is a must to take in the views - you can see the Austrian/Italian border and view the Dolomites from this awesome vantage point. It can be skied down from also with a nice blue run or a black/red for the more advanced skier. (Or boarder, can’t forget you guys, although there is not an abundance of boarders in this resort).

There is a ski show put on by the ski school on Tuesday evenings with night skiing also. The show is great and worth a visit, it is reached by the Festkogel gondola and you can ski down from here on the 'family run' and back up until the show starts at 9pm until 10pm and then there is a firework display on the mountain top afterwards. The Josl Keller located in the basement of the Josl hotel is a good place to visit in the evenings also with lively music and a DJ. I’m sure I could write more, but I was well impressed with Obergurgl/Hochgurgl hence my booking for next year already. I can’t wait to return, a small, intimate and uncrowded village with good skiing and plenty to do once the lifts close. I will also add, that I met more people here than at any other resort I have been to and they were all very friendly and some of the best people I could ever wish to meet. Roll on January 2010. Thanks also to Alistair Ross of Ski Club.

Ivan Lloyd
Posted: 18/01/09
Obergurgl review
Ivan Lloyd

Returned from Obergurgl on the 10th of January after a week of fantastic skiing. Four of us went all of different abilities; from beginner through to strong intermediate, but the one thing in common was that we all really enjoyed the holiday. As the only skier not having lessons, my thanks really go to Alistair the ski club rep for leading me on a week of great skiing. I have never skied with a ski club rep before, but if they are all of Alistair’s standard I can’t recommend the experience enough. As previous visitors have said; a visit to the Nederhutte on a Monday, Wednesday or Friday afternoon is a must - this is après-ski at it's very best and if you want to get a table you need to turn up way before the 4pm start. Be prepared for an adventurous ski back home afterwards! Also worth attending is the evening ski show at the top of the mountain from where you are able to ski by floodlights all the way back to town. We stayed in the Edelweiss and Gurgl which was very comfortable and ideally located by the main lifts and ski school. I would definitely recommend a visit to Obergurgl for skiers of almost any standard; only experts may be a little short of activity although if the snow is good there looks to be plenty of off-piste opportunity.

Posted: 20/04/08
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just returned from a last minute booking to Obergurgl. The snow was really very good with three days of fresh powder and only one day with poor visibility. There are some new gondolas which were an added bonus this year. I did however think the runs could have been better marked. This was a nice last minute resort but not hard to ski in 3 days.


The town is very small and not what we are used too in Austria. The Spar shop was our lifesaver as was the one small cake shop. Our hotel was the Alpenblume and was more like a cheap pension – very old inside and looking rather tired. Breakfast was a bit pathetic with all crockery badly chipped. Our room was tiny, and the bathroom left much to be desired. Main meals were in the Edelweiss and Gurgl and simply not cooked enough for us, with the meat and fish almost raw. We have been to Austria 12 times and will not be going back to Obergurgl again. There is much better places to go.

Posted: 14/04/08
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just back from a week in Obergurgl 5- 2 April. We booked independently getting a flight only deal through Inghams and then organised direct with the resort. This was very easy to do and resulted in a saving of around three hundred per family of three (we were a party of six).


Having been to Obergurgl twice before we knew a bit about the resort layout. We chose the Hotel Alpenland (booking easily via email) in the hope that we could ski to it more easily and this was a great decision. There is very direct access from the slopes which made the start and end of the day very pleasant. The hotel was fantastic - the food was superb, staff very friendly and rooms spacious and nice.


The weather was mixed with some sunny days and some low cloud and snow. As intermediate skiers these were good testing conditions that brought on our skiing ability. We went to the ski school and thought that the instructors were great. We also went skiing with friends who were complete beginners; they found the combination of the weather and the run into the village quite tough but are still enthused to dip their toes in the water a second time. The new gondola in place of the original two man chair was great and the new red run down from Hohe Mut now accessed by the gondola was a good addition to the resort.


We had a private taxi transfer with taxi Lenz (€360 return which for six) again arranged very efficiently via email which was a big improvement on waiting in the coach for all the various flights to arrive. We would definitely book direct again as you get better rooms, a better price and better transfers, leaving you free to enjoy the skiing.

Kirsty Baxter
Posted: 11/03/07
Obergurgl review
Kirsty Baxter

Spent half term week (17th Feb) in Obergurgl, where we stayed at the Hotel Bellevue. Had a fantastic time, although as some of us in the party were beginners, the conditions weren't the best for us. I wouldn't say it's the best resort for beginners, but our ski instructor, Heinrich, was fantastic. My 10 year old son's ski school was great, he was skiing reds by mid-week. The hotel was first class, would definitely recommend it - the food was excellent, service efficient and rooms very clean. The spa was great at the end of the day's skiing!

Caroline Morris-Hills
Posted: 19/02/07
Obergurgl review
Caroline Morris-Hills

Spent a week in Obergurgl from 3rd February. Lovely resort, quiet and charming. We stayed in the Hotel Bellvue. Great hotel if youve got kids, but not ideal if your a couple hoping for a quiet, romantic getaway. Hotel was practically ski to door(2 minute walk) which was great. The skiing was quite demanding, some of the blue runs were scary, especially the one back to the hotel. Really enjoyed blue run number 6 and red number 16. Didn't need to use a single drag lift all week! Food at David's Hutte and nederhutte was excellent. Found the higher runs at Hochgurgl really icy. Overall, we really liked Obergurgl as a resort and would definately return, but wouldn't stay at the Bellvue.

Posted: 25/04/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

I booked a last minute trip to Obergurgl (first time) and found your rep, Laurie Palmer on my first day. He, and the existing members, who were regular visitors to this resort, made the week fantastic for me. Laurie was first class and lots of fun both on piste, off piste and at the apres ski! This will go down as one of my best ski hols since I started skiing some 15 years ago. Thanks Laurie.

Posted: 10/04/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

1st visit to Obergurgl w/c 25th Mch - great conditions in a resort ideally suited to family skiing. Ski School was outstanding and was reflected in the progress made by our 2 daughters (10 & 12) for whom this was the first trip to the slopes. We stayed in the Bellevue which was great and really felt like a home-from-home by the end of the week. Particularly liked the Hochgurgl area for some good cruising blues and some great views down the valley. Will be back next year.....

Posted: 27/03/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just back from the best week ever! As others have said, its all about ambience in Austria. We checked out lots of the hotels while we were there and without exception all looked cosy and inviting. We were at the Olympia which was really nice - family run, spotless, comfortable, panoramic views, great food and easy slide on to the pistes. Abit further coming back but very conveinient. The Nederhutte is an institution - we have at last discovered apres-ski!! Herr Gamper rocks! Sliding back down the gentle run into the village at the end of the session under the stars is an experience in itself. John Hearne was the Club rep and put on some great trips - I hope he'll be back in the resort when we return!

Posted: 20/03/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

We went to Obergurgl Feb 06 Half Term with our 7 year old and 15 year old. Had one of the best ski holidays ever - great snow, lovely resort, clean and efficient. Stayed with Esprit at Chalet Verwall which we would recommend but used the Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgle for pre-dinner drinks which was fab and we'll definately stay there next time. One to avoid - the Hochfirst Hotel - substandard brandy, warm champagne, bar staff with attitude - very strange attitude - several other 4* hotels to pick so avoid this one. Ski School excellent. The resort is worth the extra and I personally gained a lot of confidence and moved my skiing forward!

Posted: 06/03/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

This was our second year at the Hotel Madeliene in Obergurgl. Went as complete snow novices in April 2005 and enjoyed it so much that we booked to go back in February this year. Again we had a wonderful time. Preferred the snow conditions in February; as novice skiers the softer slushier snow in April made the ski back to the village harder. The ski school was fantastic both years and we feel that our skiing has definitely improved. Accomodation pristine, food was excellent and staff very pleasant. Very good english was spoken everywhere, putting us to shame as usual. Nightlife was quiet and so I would not imagine that this resort would appeal to party animals, but we would certainly go back again. Feedback from fellow holiday makers seemed to be that all the hotels in the resort were great. we considered the Edelweiss& Gurgl due to its great location right next to the lift for the second year as we hadn't realised as novices how far a three minute walk could be with your skis and boots, but when we saw the price difference we decided to stay at the Madeleine again and do the short walk!!!

Posted: 06/03/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

This was our second year at the Hotel Madeliene in Obergurgl. Went as complete snow novices in April 2005 and enjoyed it so much that we booked to go back in February this year. Again we had a wonderful time. Preferred the snow conditions in February; as novice skiers the softer slushier snow in April made the ski back to the village harder. The ski school was fantastic both years and we feel that our skiing has definitely improved. Accomodation pristine, food was excellent and staff very pleasant. Very good english was spoken everywhere, putting us to shame as usual. Nightlife was quiet and so I would not imagine that this resort would appeal to party animals, but we would certainly go back again. Feedback from fellow holiday makers seemed to be that all the hotels in the resort were great. we considered the Edelweiss& Gurgl due to its great location right next to the lift for the second year as we hadn't realised as novices how far a three minute walk could be with your skis and boots, but when we saw the price difference we decided to stay at the Madeleine again and do the short walk!!!

Posted: 10/02/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just back from brilliant week in Obergurgl.Skiing conditions were perfect ,with new snow a few times in the week it was our best ski holiday yet. Runs are well mixed with easy cruising to very good reds. Advanced skiers will find it very limited execpt for some excellent off piste runs which were breathtaking after new snow. A resort for middle aged to older skiers who like their comforts as all accommodation is top quality hotels that spoil there guests.Indeed there is a marked contrast in manners and friendly service of all people who work in this resort, to the rude and badly mannered French we have experienced in the last five years. The food here is excellent and apres-ski matches anywhere,but younger set will find nightlife very disappointing. A really top quality resort ..

Posted: 06/02/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Lovely resort for up and coming intermediates, nothing is really too challenging in good weather conditions. Ski school to be recommended, very patient and understanding. Nederhutte is a blast but beware of drinking and skiing.

Posted: 06/02/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Took family (incl. kids aged 5 and 7) in Jan 06. Probably the best ski school for the kids we have experienced anywhere in the Alps - particularly the dedicated "bobo land" for beginners. Very friendly resort. Great being able to switch between Obergurgl and Hofgurgl depending on the time of day/ conditions. Highly recommended.

Posted: 31/01/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just back from a great weeks skiing. Stayed at the Edelweiss & Gurgl - can't rate it high enough - the superior rooms were warm and spacious - the food was fab and the staff are brill.

Posted: 31/01/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just back from my first visit to Obergurgl. I wish that I had discovered it before! Wonderful resort and hotel Eidelweiss and Gurgl is fantastic! The spa is superb. Had great week skiing with Jane Billington. Great skier and guide and lots of fun. Yes, including dancing on the tables in ski boots at the Nederhut!!! A wonderful week with excellent snow, and day on the glaciers at Solden was memorable. Andrew Warin

Posted: 20/01/06
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Great for an eay, confidence-building holiday. Very friendly, good convenience, no queues, but runs limited - worth taking the bus to Solden for a day of more varied pistes.

Posted: 12/12/05
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

I've just returned from a 4 day trip, stayed at the Bergwelt as they offer childcare facilities which we were advised were free, only to find out that under 3's charged at 18 euro an hour...my children are 1 & 4. This restricted the skiing somewhat....Anyway great to get some skiing in so early, high resort & you do pay a premium for that luxury here...not for the small wallet. Conditions were good but cold -15, icy in places...I would recommend Hochgurgl for the better pistes. Minimal queue's due to good lifts also there are few boarders.75% of runs open, I suspect all will be open in next week or 2. Plenty of snow cannons. Good resort for beginners if you can afford the tuition & ski passes, intermediares will have bagged the pistes in 4 days & Advanced will find limited challenges. They do accomodate well for children over 3...still plenty of time to get a few more trips arranged in the season though.

Posted: 20/12/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just got back from a "white week" break in Obergurgl. The week was very white, however this was mainly due to artificial snow, although this should be put right this weekend with heavy snow forecast. What a fantastic resort, with ski runs to suit all grades of skier. Not too many runs for the advanced skier, but that didn't bother me as I am at the other end of the scale. Plenty of wide blue runs in Hochgurgl which is only a mile down the road (use the free ski bus or the top express gondola which links Hochgurgl with Obergurgl). The resort is very quiet with a few bars (check out the Josel keller immediately after ski school closes) and a few sport shops (if you don't like skiing then stay away from Obergurgl as Oxford street it definately is not!). Stayed in the Hotel Bellevue which is linked too the Austria hotel via a underground corridor, what a fantastic hotel, extremely friendly staff and owners, exceptional food and facilities (we were picked up on our last day at 06.30 for the transfer back to the airport and the owners sent off with a packed lunch because we missed breakfast). The Austria hotel has a nightclub below which can be accessed from the Bellevue via the tunnel. All in all a fantastic week that was only marred by the fact the tour operator decided that the chartered flight to Innsbruck needed to be cancelled therefore we were put on a scheduled flight from Gatwick to Munich which mean't we lost of the first day travelling. As a final note if you do nothing else while you stay in Obergurgl, make sure that you catch the Festkogel bahn to the top station on tuesday evenings no later than 20.30 where you can warm yourself with a glass of gluwein and watch a spectular show laid on by the Obergurgl ski school instructors followed by some fantastic fireworks, but remember WRAP UP WARM at around 3000m at that time of night, it is pretty chilly. Thanks Obergurgl for a truly brilliant week, see you again next year!

Posted: 06/10/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Obergurgl is certainly the most charming up market ski resort in Austria. We have stayed at a number of hotels in the village, but return again and again to the Bellevue. A family run hotel with great views and superb food. With the attractions of an indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and the most wonderful food, getting a days skiing in, which is virtually doorstep, can prove very challenging ! Oh, and the Austriakeller nightclub under the hotel is great fun for the evening without having to go out into the cold night air.

Posted: 26/04/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

It is an outstanding resort. Our favourite hotel is the Edelweiss & Gurgl, and it is truly ski in - lift out. The hotel is Austrian owned but you would be hard pushed to find non English speaking staff or guests. Most originate from UK, Ireland or Benelux countries with a few German families who are pleasantly bemused to find themselves in such an Anglo - Saxon environment. The family owners are welcoming and friendly but firmly Austrian in their manners and greetings, which makes this hotel so special. Obergurgl ski school taught my wife, a timid learner to be a proficient and keen skier. She was taught firstly by an extremely patient and excellent ski instructor, when she returned the following year with inhibitions about skiing, she was placed into what I called a 'special needs' class which nutured her on easy blue slopes. From this shakey beginning and with help from the Obergurgl ski school she is now proficient and confident on red ski routes, and will attempt blacks in good conditions. On a recent easter ski club holiday (in France) achieved the club grade red/silver for on -piste and red for off - piste. She is really pleased with this grade (so am I) and we both believe that the solid and dedicated teaching of the ski school helped my wife achieve this level of proficiency. The resort is small but after skiing there for 6 years I still find new patches of previously unskied areas. It is the lack of lift queues, the certainty of snow, the excellent mountain restaurants the excellent and such convienient hotel, plus the efficient ski school which continues to attract us each year to return to Obergurgl every christmas.

Posted: 12/02/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Our second pre-Christmas visit to Obergurl accompanied by 13 and 14 year old children. Early snow, no queues, excellent instructors, hotels full of alpine charm. Must be good the same people return every year! If you're looking for shops go somewhere else.

Posted: 10/02/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Just back from Obergrurgl with young family - superb week - I commend the ski-school particularly for their excellent handling of children - Very much an ideal family choice (as an advanced skier & boarder, my wife and I found skiing very limited - However, because of young children this is still an excellent choice.

Posted: 26/01/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

I disagree with your comments on the ski school. My children have skied from age 3 and we have used schools in France and the USA and the instructors in Obergurgl are the best by far, committed, fun and very cool! I suppose I should be glad because your comments probably put lots of people off coming and that leaves more space for us.

Posted: 22/01/04
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

One word describes Obergurgl and Hochgurgl perfectly- BRILLIANT!!!

Posted: 16/12/03
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

I love this place! It may not be a destination for the budget skier
however the hotels are first rate, especially for traditional Austrian
cuisine. In Obergurgl there is also a very relaxed atmosphere and almost
no wait for lifts. The only downside was that by the end of the week there
were no challenging runs left to ski but aside from this it is brilliant!

Posted: 18/09/03
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

If you want great snow, fast efficient lifts, quality Hotels and wide really wide open pistes then this is the place.Not the best for nightlife better suited to the more mature skier of family but the quality shines through.

Posted: 28/08/03
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Went to obergurgl from 03/01/03 for 7days. fantastic, perfect skiing holiday!! great scenery, friendly locals and super hotel(hotel muhle). Yes- not the best place for double black diamonds, but we went one day to Solden were there is loads of more testing runs. i would recommend it without hesitation to anybody looking for a super relaxing skiing holiday in a superb setting.

Posted: 08/04/03
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Perfect conditions, Obergurgl is the best resort I have skied in. Ski School instructors are fantastic and the Nederhutte is unbeatable (who is that Alice anyway!). We meet the same people there year on year. Please don't go there as I want it for myself!

Posted: 08/01/03
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

I have been to Obergurgl several times over the last 12 years. Most hotels are 4* plus. The resort is aimed at up-market skiers,so do not expect to many boarders. I know of families who leave their skis in the hotel until the next year!Skiing is good for intermediates with litle scope for experts. Beginners might find the runs a little challenging at first.

Posted: 06/01/03
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

RE Ski School. My daghter and I were in Obergurgle 14th-21st Dec. Very good ski lessons. Goog English spoken and courtesy offered. Half Day Private or for 2 people, Really exellent.

Posted: 12/12/02
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

One of the great features of Obergurgl is the almost complete absence of waiting time on the lifts. In sixteen years I have never waited for more than five minutes to
get on a lift and last year over a two week period only twice did I have to wait at all! The hotels are expensive but the Pensions are superb and reasonable, the ambiance is without parallel and sleep is not disturbed by drunks, traffic or loud music. One downer this year however is the inability to enjoy the delightful restaurants and the mountain huts for dining in the evening. This been denied by a certain Tour Operator making the pensions that do B&B, requiring the visitor to go elsewhere for an evening meal, only do half board.

Posted: 28/11/02
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

Obergurgl is a fantstic place to ski. A little boring for the advanced skier? Maybe, but I dont believe that Obergurgl is that kind of resort. It is aimed at families and couples who just want to have fun. The food is fantastic - Dave's hut serves the best food and everyone seems to know it because the wait for a table can be quite long. Couples and families keep on coming back to Obergurgl every year because of its friendly, welcoming atomosphere. Testament to the fact that Obergurgl really is a great place
ski.

Posted: 01/11/02
Obergurgl review
Ski Club member

I just love Obergurgl! The skiing is somewhat limited, the resort is expensive, it's a long journey, BUT the place has masses of genuine alpine charm. One of these days I'm going to take my family there for Christmas. (Not one for beginners, not one for serious black-runners & definitely not one for a budget holiday).

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

Ski Club Freshtracks holidays to Obergurgl

PE Austrian Indulgence
Action zone: 7 nights, 10 Jan 2015
Back by popular demand Obergurgl's fantastic high altitude skiing and traditional Tirolean...
PE Final Fling
Action zone: 7 nights, 11 Apr 2015
Squeeze one last week's skiing out of the season with a final fling in the snowsure resort of...

tour operators in Obergurgl

Neilson Holidays
10% discount for Ski Club members
As a Ski Club of Great Britain member, you can receive a 10% discount on all Neilson Ski, Beachclub...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...
The Oxford Ski Company
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over fourteen years of experience, some 450+ personally inspected luxury ski chalets and 90...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 9 countries, Inghams offer...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski holidays to...
Crystal Ski Holidays
£100 discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...
Crystal Finest
£100 discount for Ski Club members
Treat yourself to something extra special where luxury accommodation, amazing food and impeccable...

member discounts in Obergurgl

Skiset
50% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...

resort video

footprint
Footprint Travel Guides

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by Footprint Travel Guides, available in our online shop from £17.99

Buy now