Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    
If you've been to St Anton and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Ian Constable
Posted: 11/03/16
World Class? That depends on what you want... PART ONE
Overall rating: 3 stars
Ian Constable
Visited: March 2016

I believe this review is honest and accurate, offering a fair reflection on St Anton and its surrounds. I hope people find it useful as I can’t help but notice that many of the published reviews on St Anton suffer from copy & paste journalism and are, at best, economical with all the facts.

I visited St Anton with 3 friends in early March 2016, my first time there since two holidays approx. 15 and 20 years before. We are all experienced skiers; I have as an adult skied for over 35 weeks, on a total of 30+ separate holidays to 20+ different resorts in Europe and Canada.

St Anton and its associated resorts position themselves as “World Class” “Top 10”, but I believe this to be true for only certain skiers and boarders, the reasons for which I set out below.

The resort runs of St Anton itself – i.e. those within its immediate confines [so excluding Lech, Zurs & Warth etc] – are not extensive. As a consequence they can be very busy and thus become quickly worn out/chopped up. Their poor condition is further exacerbated by the fact that the pistes tend not to be ‘bashed’ frequently and that the resort suffers from a lot of freeze and thaw, resulting in areas of ice.

It is not uncommon to encounter large clumps of soft snow, hard moguls and ice all on the same run. Add to this the fact that the run is likely to be busy with many skiers and boarders of varying ability and the skiing will certainly be challenging. You will not be gently cruising around on a smooth well-prepared run.

A good example of the issue is the ‘happy valley’ run, which turns into the home run past the KK and Mooserwirt to the Gampen and Galzig lifts. This is often very busy and in poor condition, the same can also be said of the red run down from the Rendl and the long blue down to Stuben.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Ian Constable
Posted: 11/03/16
World Class? That depends on what you want... PART TWO
Overall rating: 3 stars
Ian Constable
Visited: March 2016

On the subject of blue runs, it is often commented that the blue runs in St Anton would be red elsewhere. This is perhaps true, but it is somewhat oversimplifying the issue. It is more accurate to say that with proper piste grooming, less ice, fewer moguls and fewer people, the colour coding may be about right. However, with the busy runs left in the poor state they quickly become, a relatively simple blue turns into a trickier red in no time at all.

Where St Anton and its surrounds excels is its off piste areas and the sheer variety of skiing available to the truly advanced skier – and by this I mean seasoned skiers with a high degree of technical capability, not your average once or twice a season Brit. There exists mile after mile of off piste opportunity, some of which is suitable for the not quite so advanced skier, so powder hounds and the like are well catered for.

The resorts of the wider Arlberg area that are included on your lift pass – Lech, Zurs, Sonnenkopf, Warth etc – offer great skiing on well-maintained runs, plus some lovely off piste. But, and it is a BIG but, it takes time and money to get to them, which eats into your holiday. A minivan taxi one-way to Lech will only take about 30 minutes, but it will cost over 50 Euros. Therefore a return trip will take an hour out of your day and cost over 100 Euros. To save this cost you can take the bus from St Anton, which is much cheaper, but takes even longer. Alternatively, ski from St Anton to Stuben and take the free bus to Lech from there – great value, but again time consuming.

From next season [2017] a new lift is going to physically link the St Anton area with Zurs and Lech, via Stuben. This will undoubtedly be great, but again it will take time to get away from the poor piste conditions of St Anton to the better maintained areas, which begs the question that if you want decent runs, why not stay at Zurs or Lech instead of St Anton? They are fabulously expensive, that's why...

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Ian Constable
Posted: 10/03/16
World Class? That depends on what you want... PART THREE
Overall rating: 3 stars
Ian Constable
Visited: March 2016

All of the above said, the physical St Anton piste conditions or the time taken to travel to other resorts may not be of great importance to you, depending on what you actually want from your skiing holiday. St Anton has more than its fair share of excellent restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs, so a good many people visit St Anton with the intention to do a lot of eating, drinking and being merry, with some mild to moderate skiing in between. If this sounds like you, you are going to have an apres-ski ball at the Krazy Kangaru, Mooserwirt and other similar places – although don’t be surprised to find yourself surrounded by people in varying degrees of inebriation dancing on tables and singing along to YMCA, Take Me Home Country Roads, 500 Miles and various euro-pop cheese. If you are a music aficionado, you may find yourself wishing you were elsewhere!

It is also worth mentioning that whilst accommodation in, and holidays to, St Anton are expensive, the prices of food and drink are generally quite reasonable in the town and on the mountain. If you’re used to over-inflated Swiss or French prices, you’re in for pleasant surprise.

My lasting overall impression of St Anton is that it works well for some people, meeting their needs perfectly, but if you are a skier or boarder that craves less crowded and well-maintained slopes, there are many resorts in Europe that are better options – and better value too.

In summary, you WILL like St Anton if:
• You are a very experienced and capable skier who intends to spend considerable time off piste, or
• You don’t mind travelling to the other local Arlberg resorts to ski on properly prepared runs, or
• You like to ski comparatively little, but eat, drink and/or shop lot

You WILL NOT like St Anton if:
• You are a beginner, intermediate or advanced intermediate skier, who intends to spend the majority of time honing your technique on well-maintained runs that predominantly have good conditions

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Toby Becker
Posted: 07/03/16
Agree with rating - No beginners
Overall rating: 4 stars
Toby Becker
Visited: February 2016

I enjoyed a short break with a friend, we'r e both intermediate but have not been for a few years. I totally agree if you're a beginner or timid intermediate you may struggle if conditions aren't perfect. We had a lot of poor viability days and the lack of piste preparation made it hard going.

We found the blue runs off the Nasserein lift much tougher than the Galzig so if you find yourself struggling then stay away from Nasserein side. Most of the runs into the resort are quite steep and although labeled as blue certainly in my mind were closer to red sometimes. I found the same in Lech the last time I stayed. So if you are looking for some nice and easy cruising blues on bashed pistes then you are going to be disappointed.

With Lech and St Anton being linked for next season I can see this resort getting ever more popular as it does have a lot going for it.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Paul Derbyshire
Posted: 04/03/16
Not so good as last year
Overall rating: 4 stars
Paul Derbyshire
Visited: February 2015

A great resort if you can ski reasonably well. The slopes this year were very bumpy. Not good for Leaners or second week skiers. The run from the Krazy Kangaruh was bad by 12 each Day.

Nasserein was far better. The piste didn't seem so good this year but we had more snow almost every day. Rendl was superb though and the run back into town was in great shape. Lech was as good as ever and well worth the trip over there. Still a great choice and wonderful off piste this year. Last year excelled for me so i compare it to that.

I still can't get to Silvretta Montafon though!!!

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Duncan Mcallister
Posted: 24/02/16
Up to the St Anton Challenge
Overall rating: 5 stars
Duncan Mcallister
Visited: January 2016

I have just read John Pattison's review and he is spot on. I have been going to France for over 20 years and have to say they do prepare their slopes very well allowing you to cruise easily all day. However, I wanted a new challenge and read up on St Anton. They say in all their advertising that it is a challenging place for good intermediates and above and they are not wrong. The piste is not as well groomed as France, but often left in a more natural form which helps you develop your skiing. Their red diamond slopes are a typical example of this as they are never groomed. The two places known in Europe for their off-piste are Argentiere and St Anton, and I had always wanted to do proper off-piste skiing. I did a 5 day course and it didn't disappoint at all. It was awesome. To add to this, the town has a lovely alpine feel with wooden chalet lined streets and the best Apres Ski in Europe. So, if you want to progress your skiing and want to be challenged it's a great place to go. If you are a beginner or an intermediate who likes to cruise there are better suited resorts in Europe. I have been converted, so much so, that I have just returned for some more powder.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
John Pattison
Posted: 22/02/16
Excellent Resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
John Pattison
Visited: February 2016

The St Anton area is truly massive with great variety from fast cruising reds to miles of moguls and magnificent and very accessible off piste - powder fields, trees, couloirs and safaris. In addition the area has some of the best on piste restaurants and bars you will find anywhere (far superior to the bland service stations of the purpose built French resorts). When a skier has tired of St Anton, he has tired of life!

I noted an earlier reviewer bemoaning the difficulties for beginners in St Anton. Basically if you are a beginner don't go there, If you are intimidated by the odd bump and you schuss too slowly to avoid poling, you may not enjoy the skiing. But if you are intermediate to expert, it is one of the very best resorts in the world (though certainly not the cheapest).

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Hugh Davis
Posted: 15/02/16
An uphill experience
Overall rating: 2 stars
Hugh Davis
Visited: February 2016

Any skier accustomed to skiing the extensive purpose-built resorts of France, Switzerland and Italy is likely to be underwhelmed by what is on offer here. The St Anton pistes could easily be skied in a day were it not for the ubiquitous queues. Also, it has many other features that detract from its old world charm. Here are just a few of them:-

1) every ski lift entrance is uphill from the piste 2) almost every blue and red run has at least one hump somewhere in it requiring a serious amount of uphill poling 3) the standard of piste maintenance leaves much to be desired (we saw no evidence of any piste flattening whatsoever in the first four days of our stay). This makes the resort very difficult for beginners and low intermediates to handle. 4) Apart from in Rendl, the runs are arranged in a confusing jumble that includes both "dead ends” and "exits to nowhere", and the numbering and signage varies from confusing to non-existent 5) There are many T-bars and ancient two-man chairs in “key connecting” positions that would have been replaced with six-man express lifts years ago in any self-respecting French resort.

When you buy your expensive “Arlberg area” lift pass you might reasonably expect to be able to ski the whole area unhindered, but you soon discover that should you wish to sample neighbouring resorts on the map such as Lech, Sonnenkopf, Warth etc. you will have to pay for a ticket to travel there on a slow and infrequent Postbus which as likely as not will be full up and not stop for you. Taxis hover around certain bus stops at peak times to to cash in on this. On one morning we arrived at the bus stop in St Christoph at 9.20 to go to Lech, and because of full buses and a 70 min wait in the lift queue at Lech we did not get on the piste until 12.15! We later discovered that to ski the “famed” White Ring circuit involved two further waits of 45 minutes each at two slow and ancient two-man chair lifts.

Goodbye Austria!

Slopes:
2 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
The long wait
The long wait
Peter Aldridge
Posted: 08/02/16
It's never let me down
Overall rating: 5 stars
Peter Aldridge
Visited: January 2016

I'm 62 and have been skiing virtually every year since I was 18 - I wish I could do it all again! I 'discovered" St Anton and its neighbouring resorts of Stuben, Lech, Zurs et al about 20 years ago - and sad to relate have skied there every year since - sometimes twice a year - I have found nowhere in Europe to compare. I and my family never tire of the place - and we have skiied there between mid December and mid April.
It is fair to say that skiing on the main St Anton slopes after lunch is often a nightmare - crowded, mogulled and a bit slushy. The key is generally to get up early and "do" the main St Anton slopes in the early morning (in particular "Happy Valley" which is usually a joy up until 12ish) then get over to Zurs or Rendl or Steuben.
Getting to Zurs is remarkably easy - for a party of 4 or more just grab a taxi in St Anton - don't mess about with buses - my family's happiest days have been spent just skiing Zurs slopes all day long sometimes - but St Anton is still the best base.
I'm not someone who as a whole contributes reviews - but I was prompted to do so because elsewhere I have read a number of negative reviews of skiers who appear not to have strayed away from the main St Anton slopes - and I can readily see how someone who just spends a week or more just skiing the south facing St Anton slopes might be underwhelmed. It is those slightly more distant slopes (still covered by the same ski pass) that leave you (or me and my family at least) always wanting to come back.
Peter Aldridge

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Phillip Stockton
Posted: 02/01/16
Quiet Christmas in April Weather
Overall rating: 4 stars
Phillip Stockton
Visited: December 2015

St Anton is the resort where I fell in love with Skiing twenty five years or so ago, on a fabulous Christmas trip with brilliant conditions. it remains one of my top three resorts.

This visit, my tenth to the Arlberg, had very different conditions: the runs to the resort were a miracle of modern snow making though the end of the run to the Mooserwirt, remember when this was just one room?, was more carpentry than snow making. However, the conditions on the Valluga were good and St Anton has invested in the equipment needed to keep the lower runs skiable; unlike Lech, Zuers & Warth who still rely heavily on the real snow. This is the only time I've seen better conditions in St Anton than Lech & Zuers, where the only good snow was from the Ruefikopf to Zuers and alongside the Hasenfluh chair, where we found some squeaky snow that wasn't worth the walk around the lake to get back.

The lift system continues to improve: almost no drags left in St Anton now that the Tanzboedenbahn is a six seater chair with heaters (a big upgrade from the intimidating old drag).

The resort itself was very quiet for Christmas: to be expected given the conditions and the weather but the Apres Ski on the runs down was still lively and we were able to get a table in the Museum Restaurant for dinner.

I'll be going back again but hope there is much more snow next time.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Improvised lift in Warth
Improvised lift in Warth
Real Snow (on the White Route)
Real Snow (on the White Route)
Skking on Wood Chips
Skking on Wood Chips
St Christophe looking snowier than it was
St Christophe looking snowier than it was
Philip Taylor
Posted: 27/12/15
Family visit
Overall rating: 5 stars
Philip Taylor
Visited: December 2015

Another poor snow December but St. Anton worked hard to make the best of the lower slopes. There was a reasonable route all the way to the bottom. Higher up piste conditions were good and well maintained. Ski School instruction for the children was excellent. Both enjoyed learning and did well.

The family wants to go back, the children want the same instructors.

Philip

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Martin Atkinson
Posted: 15/10/15
Probably less than the sum of its parts
Overall rating: 3 stars
Martin Atkinson
Visited: January 2015

St Anton has always been billed as one of the best resorts in the world but I'm about to be a party pooper. Yes its good but the skiing is not as challenging as it is often stated to be unless you're prepared to go off piste with a guide or spend the day on the un-pisted trails from Valluga and Kapall and even that is limited and often closed in poor weather. To be fair however these runs are magical when snow conditions are right and well worth repeating over and again. The pisted skiing is uninspiring for experts but paradoxically the main runs back to the resort are difficult for intermediates/beginners and often horrendously crowded and dangerous. There is very little skiing to be had below the tree line for white-out days. Lift queues can be horrific and getting to and back from the lifts can involve a long walk through the town. Convenient it is not.

The one thing St Anton is justifiably famous for is its apres-ski especially the Krazy Kangaroo and Moosevirt bars. However even they are flawed as getting back down involves an undignified 500 metre scramble in the dark down a mogul infested slope often with poor snow which is not easy for the inebriated or faint hearted.

I have visited St Anton several times when staying in nearby Lech but decided I'd never done it justice so welcomed the chance to spend a week there on an organised trip. I have now realised why, Moosevirt excepted, I was always glad to get back to Lech!

Would I go back? Yes but with adjusted expectations. This is a resort for good intermediates, experts will be disappointed unless they are in denial and should head for Chamonix/Argentiere.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Off piste on Valluga is fun
Off piste on Valluga is fun
Jerry Gilby
Posted: 23/04/15
Had to go back for more
Overall rating: 5 stars
Jerry Gilby
Visited: April 2015

Having skied for a lot of years and worked in resorts St Anton is still my favourite. I suppose we have been more than 15 times here.
Had a week in February when the snow was superb and just had a long weekend when despite high temperatures the pisteurs did a magnificent job.
Freeze thaw conditions meant it was a bit hard first thing then there was a golden hour or so when it was fantastic.
Favourite run is still the long one down to Stuben especially if it means a long lunch at the Berhaus which has to be our favourite out of all ski resorts.
Après is whatever you want whether it be quiet or wild. However remind me next year that 3.30 is too early to join the KK closing party.
Downsides - can't think of any except having to come home!
Stay in town if you can but be mindful that the chalets in Gastig and Stadle are a long uphill walk!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Jayne Street
Posted: 08/03/15
More piste maintenance required
Overall rating: 3 stars
Jayne Street
Visited: February 2015

This was a good resort if you like après ski, and difficult skiing.
Après ski starts early in the afternoon, and this isn't surprising when the pistes are so chopped up (essentially moguls) very early in the day.
It's definitely a first lift resort, to get skiing in on decent slopes.
There were days when the blue runs down to the village were very chopped up by 10.am
The piste area is vast and if the weather permits there is a lot of skiing to be had.
Ski school for the kids broke for lunch in another part of town, well away from the main lifts, so if you are intending to lunch with your children then this limits where you can ski, although they do offer the lunch package where the kids eat lunch with the group - we signed ours up for this after day 1.
Overall, great if you are a bunch of lads who play hard and ski hard on poorly maintained runs, and enjoy skiing off piste. Not great for families in our opinion.

Slopes:
2 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Paul Derbyshire
Posted: 01/03/15
Fantastic ski area
Overall rating: 5 stars
Paul Derbyshire
Visited: February 2015

Wow, what a great ski area this is. Fun for all abilities i think. Glorious long blues, superb Reds and some great blacks and so much off piste.
After 25 ski holidays we finally got here and throughly loved it. We've booked for next year. Great lifts, and modern systems. Lech for an away day was superb as was Sonnenkopf. Rendl was fantastic too.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Paul Derbyshire
Posted: 15/02/15
GreatSki area
Overall rating: 5 stars
Paul Derbyshire
Visited: February 2015

Just got back from a great weeks skiing here. Go to Lech and Sonnenkopf too there also superb. The snow was fantastic after sunday and mondays snow. Bit warm at 4 degs though. Off piste area is vast, you can ski almost anywhere off piste and be close to a run. we loved it here. Didn't really do the pares ski apart from after the end of the day.1 person did the crazy kangaroo and had a 510 euro bill as people take advantage when you have had a few so be warned. Overall a great ski area and we will be back.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Roy Simmonds
Posted: 13/02/15
Good in Parts
Overall rating: 3 stars
Roy Simmonds
Visited: January 2015

Rather prissy resort, Immediately touch you for extra 20E local tourist tax, to pay for Hush Police to patrol the streets after 10 pm to keep visitors quiet. Little notices all over the place telling you things you cannot do, including skiing back into the town, .Skiing in largely featureless terrain above the snow line, runs and lifts are not well signposted. Visitors appear to be largely 40yr old shaven headed boarders with tattoos who board hard and drink hard.
Runs, although not difficult, many should be listed as reds, rather than blues, Not a place for beginners. Locals run numerous snow cannon all day, which means your skiing on new powder over ice, and the fine snow mists up your goggles. Good off piste potential in new snow. Bus to Lech is 10E, but if you take the easy blue to Stuben, you can catch the free ski bus, which is less crowded and a shorter trip. Lech has greater variety of wider runs, better views, and more family friendly atmosphere.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
2 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Paul Margetts
Posted: 22/01/15
Top resort for serious skiers
Overall rating: 5 stars
Paul Margetts
Visited: January 2015

A week in Inghams Chalet Rose. Good accommodation, 10 min walk from the lifts. Excellent hosting by the very capable Ben and Ryan – thanks boys, and plenty of wine too (4 choices).
The snow was OK but more would have made us merrier. Our first visit to St Anton - (both of us mid 50s snowboarders), we are comfortable on most pistes and enjoy powder wherever possible.
St Anton is a unique resort, few poseurs, less women than most places and almost no kids, and after a dump the early gondolas are packed with serious skiers, powder skis and ABS back packs – this is the best indication of the type of resort that St Anton is. It would be an exaggeration to describe the pistes as a means of linking the off-piste areas to the lifts, but it really is an off-piste paradise. The intermediates who shared our chalet were moaning about there not being enough “cruzy blues” – fair comments, this isn't really a novices resort.
The St Anton pass is good for Zurs and Lech too. Lech has much gentler skiing, wider pistes and very up-market accommodation. The famous White Ring race circuit can be explored, nice to see fresh countryside but not very challenging.
We spent quite a lot of time in the almost deserted small resort of Zurs riding the old Tritkopfbahn gondola, the snow in this area seemed to get ignored even after other areas were tracked out. Ski buses are free and efficient.
St Anton’s après-ski lived up to its reputation! Top resort that puts the skiing first.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Rodney Brooke
Posted: 17/01/15
A great resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Rodney Brooke
Visited: January 2015

St Anton has unrivalled skiing, including very challenging itineraries. It is now augmented by the slopes of Sonnenkopf (accessible by skibus from Stuben) and Schroecken/Warth, now reached by gondola from the far end of Lech. Both offer uncrowded slopes and excellent snow.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Dec B
Posted: 05/01/15
Hard
Overall rating: 1 star
Dec B
Visited: January 2015

Just back from 3 days in St Anton. Despite a good snow fall very late in 2014, the snow at the moment is iffy on the lower sections at best. From the mooserwirt down its all brown. Elsewhere on the lower elevations (below say 1800m) its very hard sheet ice. So sharpen up those edges and get ready for fast skiing alternatively pack your ice skates. Despite the groomers doing their best to keep the place going, Heavy rain on Friday night (2nd Jan) and saturday morning (3rd Jan) has really hurt the snow conditions. Better skiing to be had in Zurs and Lech.

Slopes:
1 star
Kate Boswell
Posted: 02/01/15
Ski theft
Overall rating: 5 stars
Kate Boswell
Visited: December 2014

Just returned from a great week in St Anton. Snow scant for the first few days but now good. Week marred by the theft of skis - one lot on day one and a mixed pair on the last day. All taken from outside the Mooserwirt. When reporting thefts, we heard of several others, both hired and privately owned skis. Police are aware that Atomic skis are being targeted in resort at present. Please take care and, if visiting the Mooserwirt for any reason - lunch or après, use the ski lockers which they have but don't advertise very well.
Happy skiing, happy après and safe skiing!

Malcolm Bentley
Posted: 05/04/14
PE Arlberg St Anton
Overall rating: 5 stars
Malcolm Bentley
Visited: December 2013

Heartily endorse Caroline's cheery review below. She didn't mention that she is probably 30 years below the PE age, being there with uncle Phil, but still had a great time and certainly led the apres charge!
Even without the greatest off piste snow conditions, we had plenty of very good skiing and excellent instruction, and added to it with the other activities Caroline mentions; curling, our slalom race and daily apres in the underground with its great live music.
St Anton is one of the World's top resorts for its combination of challenging skiing, including generally superb lift served off piste with marked itineraries and steep couloir, probably the best on-slope apres anywhere in the Moosevirt, Krazy Kangaroo or quieter Underground and a delightful car free village centre, Not recommended for beginners and they or mixed ability groups would be better staying in Lech.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Stewart Campbell
Posted: 31/03/14
Hot Slopes Cool Bars
Overall rating: 3 stars
Stewart Campbell
Visited: March 2014

St Anton's reputation is world renowned and it certainly delivers for bars and apres.

In the right conditions it might well deliver on snow too, but sadly it does not have the height to resist a hot March sun and the slopes suffered badly in the heat. The highest lift goes to 2800m but had a 1hr + queue to reach what were the only decent runs left by mid morning. Everything below 2400m (which is most of the resort) was slush and moguls by then.

I wish I had enjoyed it more and if it was all about apres I'd go back. But I like to ski as well so I'll be looking for a resort with more height next time,

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Caroline Bell
Posted: 16/12/13
PE Arlberg st Anton
Overall rating: 5 stars
Caroline Bell
Visited: December 2013

Absolutely brilliant holiday one so good I had serious post holiday blues! Instruction from Christophe was excellent the best I've had. Our ski leaders Malcolm & Kim were fabulous at not only picking us up & retrieving lost skis after the odd tumble but also organising a number of activities including alpine curling but only 'Malcolm's rules' applied! Debbie from head office joined us also for a couple of days & I promised to add that we didn't appreciate the weighing scales that were present in our rooms which obviously were broken ;)
The underground was the best après ski bar I've been to (& as my fellow holidayers now know I'm an expert in this field!) I will never forget Charles, Joan & a scoop of ice!
I really couldn't recommend this holiday more & I will definitely be back next year & can't wait to see the gang again because they were a brilliant bunch & we laughed all week.
Oh and how could I forget we had a race on the last day which in one members words 'So you're putting a bunch of highly competitive 70 year olds into a race - what could possibly go wrong?!'

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
M�tley crew
M�tley crew
St Anton
St Anton
St Anton
St Anton
The race on last day
The race on last day
Jeffrey Lee
Posted: 12/11/13
The Best Resort Bar None
Overall rating: 5 stars
Jeffrey Lee
Visited: February 2013

I have visited St Anton at least 10 times in the past, so you can gather I love it. For me it is the best resort there is, for it's vast area, off-piste skiing, picturesque village (although it has become slightly more modernised over the years) and last but by no means least the brilliant apres scene. The Krazy Kangaroo used to be the place on the slopes but has been over taken by the Mooserwirt and to a lesser degree Taps next door to it and in town you can't beat Gunar playing live in the Kandahar and whoever they now have on in the Piccadilly opposite (it used to be Gunar until he fell out with the management !!). It all kicks off at 3.30 in the Mooserwirt when the DJ plays the Final Countdown, although you will need to be in there before then to get a seat. Bar Cuba in town is where the seasonnaires hang out and the place to watch the footie. Whilst a visit to the Underground near the bottom of the home run opp the Museum, which also has live music is always fun.
The skiing area is great with many different varied runs and an absolutely endless amount of off-piste, although I have been with beginners before it is not a resort I would recommend for them and if, as is becoming more common the Happy Village (blue run 4) run home is closed due to weather/avalanche danger it is carnage on the slopes !!
Come and try it if you party as hard as you ski, you will not be disappointed.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Malcolm Bentley
Posted: 13/10/13
One of the very best
Overall rating: 5 stars
Malcolm Bentley
Visited: March 2013

St Anton along with its Arlberg ski area all the way to Lech is right up there with the very best (Val d'Isere, Verbier, Zermatt) for the combination of outstanding off piste, village atmosphere and serious apres. The skiing opportunities are endless and some is properly demanding, like the couloirs off Schindlergrat.
The Moosewirt is probably THE on slope apres bar in the world, beaten off the slopes by Verbier's Farinet. The pedestrian village centre is really attractive with lots of little bars and live music and the exhibitionists or voyeurs amongst you will love the public wellness centre with many saunas, hammams etc all in a costume-free zone.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Terence Foster
Posted: 20/04/13
not for the feint hearted
Overall rating: 5 stars
Terence Foster
Visited: January 2013

Simply a super time can be had here, we love the home run stopping at the senne hut, then the heustadl (live music) outside on the stage in our recent march trip, then on to taps bar or crazy kangeroo, saving the best apre bar in the world lol The Mooserwirt :)) with just a short night ski down to the galzig, gets a bit lumpy and happy valley was vile and closed after several avalanches in march, We love it here and posh Lech is only 20 mins away by crowded bus but its well worth the journey, 5 times been here now and booked again for 2014 in st christophe :)) cant wait

top skiing

foslington smythe

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Andrew Chalmers
Posted: 02/04/13
Freshtrax Week
Overall rating: 5 stars
Andrew Chalmers
Visited: January 2013

Like The Stones?...Clapton?...Grands Montets?...this is the place for you...Moosewirt a great laugh...Kangaru for the youngsters...can't wait to return...rockers compulsory...

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Kenneth Lawson
Posted: 27/03/13
A reputation to uphold
Overall rating: 3 stars
Kenneth Lawson
Visited: March 2013

I last visited St Anton in 1973, so was curious to find out how it compared with my subsequent experience of other resorts. I am sorry to say that I concluded that it is living on its reputation and that I probably won't try it again.

On the plus side, the skiing at Rendl and Stuben has added some good cruising red runs and Lech and Zurs provide an extensive alternative ski area on the same lift pass. On the minus side, the itinerary accesses to both Rendl and Stuben involve dangerously crowded pistes and the bus links to Lech are a lottery.

It is the overcrowding on the pistes which particularly worried me. St Anton does not have a ski terrain which has lent itself to satisfactory enlargement. The return links to the town are indirect and narrow. I shared your previous reviewer's frustration at the shutting of the Steissbachtal, but, even when it was open, it was a narrow overcrowded gully. The celebrated Valluga is best avoided as a half-hour queue adds only a short additional descent, although it may be worth it for the views.

Most of my skiing is guided day touring these days and it may be that my inability to enjoy these overcrowded pistes would apply to many other resorts, but I have to say that I found St Anton a disappointment.

Lastly, if you arrive on a Saturday, make sure you bring your shampoo with you - everything seems to be shut on Sundays.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Tim Carswell
Posted: 13/03/13
St Anton
Overall rating: 3 stars
Tim Carswell
Visited: March 2013

I have been to St Anton four times in the last ten years and whilst generally enjoying the Arlberg area have two criticisms of the skiing in St Anton.

First, some of the pistes, particularly Kapal down to Gampen and over at Rendl, get very crowded making skiing pretty unpleasant and dangerous. In fact, I had my collarbone broken by a boarder who hit me on piste at Rendl!

Second, they had experienced the usual avalanches onto 'happy valley' (blue run no. 4) reducing it to a narrow icy path or closing it altogether with the result that at the end of the day the only way down from the main skiing area was the black Kandahar run which became extremely bumpy and congested and was clearly a struggle for a lot of skiers. A resort of St Anton's size and repute should have the resources to erect some snow breaks on the hillside above 'happy valley' to reduce the frequency and extent of these regular avalanches. There may be conservation issues but they need balancing against the safety of skiers on a major 'arterial' piste.

If you want to ski in peace on safe slopes then head over to Stuben or Zurs!

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
David Mcintosh
Posted: 07/12/12
My favorite ski resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
David Mcintosh
Visited: January 2012

A first class resort for intermediate skiers who want to be challenged. If the runs into St Anton are not to your liking you can catch the bus a few minutes along the valley to Lech or Zurs and ski motorway pistes.

The snow is managed well and in Jan '12 the massive dump was cleared quickly and effectively to maintain good skiing.

Lastly St Anton is renowned for being the "party capital" but there is plenty to attract those who do not want to be up all night.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Lucy Jennings
Posted: 15/08/12
Austrian charm, world-class apres and seven resorts on one liftpass
Overall rating: 5 stars
Lucy Jennings
Visited: January 2011

I returned to St Anton in January, having visited the resort for the first time the season before.

We were lucky enough to find a luxury chalet deal with Interactive Resorts http://stantonchalets.co.uk/st-anton/christiane and on arrival our whole party were blown away by the standard of the chalet and the quality of the food cooked to perfection by our chalet hosts. Plus it was an easy 10 minute walk to the town centre from the Oberdorf area and a free ski bus picked us up and deposited us at the bottom of the slopes every morning.

There were 8 of us in total - a relatively even mix of ski standards with a couple of boarders thrown in. St Anton is reknowned for being an advanced skiers paradise and it does not disappoint. A blue run in St Anton would be a red run elsewhere, see a red run expect a black and so on and so forth.

However, do not be disheartened! Your ski pass covers the entire Arlberg area which means seven, yes SEVEN resorts are at your disposal, they include: St Anton, St Christoph, Stuben, Zurs, Lech, Oberlech and Sonnenkopf - a personal favourite. I would recommend that you visit as many of these other resorts as you can fit in, as each offers skiing for different abilities, different terrain and spectacular views and all can be accessed by a free ski bus.

Last, but by no means least, the apres in St Anton cannot be bettered. Stop off at the Krazy Kanguruh (KK) or the Mooserwirt on your run home and you will have no option but to party till dark, dancing on the tables in your ski boots whilst knocking back Jaegarbombs.

Enjoy!!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
In the Mooserwirt
In the Mooserwirt
Interski 2011
Interski 2011
Krazy Kanguruh
Krazy Kanguruh
Gareth Sefton
Posted: 26/01/09
St Anton review
Gareth Sefton

Just got back from St Anton. Loved it. The skiing was superb, although some of the busier blues were getting a little unpleasant later in the day. It's been said that St Anton is not for beginners. I agree, but there are some gentler, and MUCH quieter runs over on the Rendl side of the valley. Also, the skiing over in Lech and Zurs seemed nicer and quieter, with the exception of the White Ring which got very busy in places.

Apres ski. We never got out of the Krazy Kanguruh, probably because it was in walking distance of the chalet. Most nights it was fantastic, but on a couple of quiet nights, it was very quiet, almost to the point of being dead. All in all, it was superb, and I'm missing it already.

Posted: 08/04/08
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Skied St Anton for the first time this year with my wife and 9 year old son. I have been skiing for 35 years and had the impression that you wouldn't go to St Anton if you were a beginner but I think this is selling St Anton a bit short. They have some of the best off piste and great black runs but my wife and I both thought that you would have a good time even if you were a beginner.


St Anton has some of the best après bars in the Alps and the village has a fantastic atmosphere. Having come over from Australia we managed to fit in Saalbach, St Anton, Zermatt and Courchevel all in one big holiday and observed that the Austrian's seemed to have a far better all-round time than the French. The runs aren't necessarily any better but their villages are beautiful and they seem to have their après skiing down to a fine art!

Bruce Robinson
Posted: 01/03/07
St Anton review
Bruce Robinson

Returned to St Anton for the 7th time this year - off piste back country course - great! - skied the steep coulouirs under the Schindlergrat chair for the first time - 39 degrees. Off-piste powder hard to find but ,hey, that's what the Arlberg guides are for! Thoroughly recommend this resort to any skier/boarder except beginners ( only 2-3 runs in Nasserin area). Good for experts - esp. the Back of The Valluga -a classic off piste run and I still haven't done it! It's a 'no-fall zone' & is 40 degrees+ at the top. They won't let you up without a guide & only if you are good enough.
Book a cheap B & B in town on the web, & eat out at BoBos Mexicana, Pommodoro Pizza place, or the Funky Chicken. Apres ski at the Piccadilly, Kandahar, Krazy Kangaroo, & the best , THE MOOZERWIRT! - go enjoy!! The snow is deep!

David Nicholas
Posted: 26/02/07
St Anton review
David Nicholas

Just got back from this amazing resort feb 07. I was a little concerned before I went as to whether it was going to be too full on apres ski. Still, you could take it or leave it and inevitably one joined in with the infectious atmosphere. The ski area is very good but pistes to the resort can get extremely busy. The longest we had to queue was 20 min and this was in Zurs. Though we only explored the pisted areas and trails, the off piste potential is phenomenal. For this I would rather take a guide, but hey that's for our definite return visit.

Posted: 07/03/06
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Spent a week in Lech second week in January, with one side-trip to St Anton. Now have a total of about 20 days skiing over three seasons under my belt. Great conditions all week, so a good time to try new places. I can wholeheartedly confirm that St Anton is not a good place for a beginner or a nervous ever-so-slowly moving in the direction of early intermediate. I've skiied blue and some red runs in Courchevel and Val d'Isere with increasing confidence and enjoyment, but found the blue runs in St Anton (especially 17 down to the bus back to Lech) genuinely uncomfortable and very under-graded by comparison. Very busy slopes, lots of young, fast skiiers having a great time (beautiful runs, scenery) but all a bit of a nightmare for me. My vastly more experienced companion, who would know, also commented that some of the speedy riders didn't strike her as that good or that under control. I experienced lots of zipping past four feet away with twenty metres to spare on the other side. Tres amusant pour eux. Whereas, Lech, Sonnenkopf (a charming small resort nearby, very quiet) and especially Zurs I found challenging but varied, less busy and very enjoyable (apart from some major bursts of fear at several points, but that seems to come with the territory wherever you are, at my level! )

Posted: 03/03/06
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Just got back from another brilliant week in St Anton (11 - 18 Feb 2006). Fortunately the Scottish school's half-term missed the Dutch "Krokusvakantie" this year. As a result the pistes and restaurants were not too crowded and we didn't have to wait long in the lift queues. We stayed, as we did last year, in the Schwarzer Adler Hotel in the centre of town (very, very good, friendly and comfortable!) and easy for the lifts! The snow was both excellent and plentiful (now 2 years running at this time) with superb off-piste conditions. We skiied everything, normally starting at 08:30 and finishing at 16:00 (yes fanatical, but few people start early when the pistes are at their best!), with lunch either on the slopes at St Christoph or Stuben. We had a fantastic day where we skiied everything from St. Anton via Gampen, Galzig, Stuben (via free bus to), Lech, Zurs and (free bus) back to Stuben and then back via Glazig and run #4 to St Anton. We even had lots of Sunshine at the beginning of the week and snow towards the end of our stay. We've already booked to go back next year, but it will have to be New Year as we are now tied by University holidays. Great Place, Great Snow, Great Skiing!

Posted: 13/02/06
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Just got back from St Anton. Loved it! Will be going back next year. Compact, convenient town. Hotels, lifts, bars, restaurants all within stumbling distance . Fantastic challenging skiing, inspiring all those off piste virgins to take the plunge. Blues are under rated but reds and blacks are pretty spot on so long as you like bumps! Off piste was unlimited! Sporthotel was of typical Austrian high standards; clean comfortable, great food and very friendly helpful staff. Lounge area was too small but can't comment about noise levels overlooking the main street as I was probably one of the contributors! Everyone in the resort seemed to be there to ski and party, in that order. No drunken teeny boppers though, more like a european melting pot of club 25-45 ski bums! Had a great holiday but am confident it can be matched or bettered again next year, by returning to St Anton!

Posted: 13/02/06
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Decisions, decisions! I've skied St. Anton ten times now and am considering a different resort. However, nothing that I research seems to compare! The skiing is supberb! The area is vast and the off-piste enough to challenge even the expert skier (not myself!). The pistes tend to be more taxing than other European resorts and it's not really a beginner friendly resort. As for the mountain restaurants, Rendl has nothing to write home about, but on the main ski area you'll find some great ones! If you follow blue 8 down to St. Christoph, the Hospiz Alms is unbeatable for atmostphere, great food and there's even a slide down to the toilets - fantastic when you've got your ski boots on and had a few Gluweins! The Lech ski area is a 30 minute bus trip away, but well worth experiencing. Some challenging skiing in Zurs too. As for the apres ski, I don't believe there's anywhere to rival St. Anton. Start apres skiing in the Kangharoo and move down to the Moosewirt. Then take your choice from a number of rocking bars in the town - Funky Chicken, Bar Cuba and Scottys to name but a few. To conclude, there's heaps to ski in one week without getting bored. You'll also want to come back for more! I think I've just talked myself into another holiday in St. Anton!

Posted: 18/01/06
St Anton review
Ski Club member

St Anton, I think is the best resort I have ever been to, purely because it has the right balance of everything....including excellent food on the piste from small, well located friendly resturants. Excellent.

Posted: 29/11/05
St Anton review
Ski Club member

This is an amazing resort with great vertical and terrain, not to mention the best apres ski in Europe at Mooserwirts!!! the only drawback is the lack of accomodations. If you do not book way in advance, and cannot stay for a week, then you are out of luck!!!!

Posted: 22/11/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Don't forget that the tobogganning at night down from Gampen is not to be missed; it's supposed to be lit but lights are 'occasional' and the turns are sharp which makes life fun if there is someone right behind you. It's great entertainment!

Posted: 13/09/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

St Anton is without doubt the best ski area in Austria, most probably Europe. it literally has everything, great boarding, great off piste in the bowl area of zurs and unbelievable nightlife. Personally the best bar to go to is Funky Chicken, wednesday nights is a must, with all the scandi women in there! other good places to go in town are Bar Cuba, which is predomnently a hang out for all the workers and kandahar, a club that really doesn't get going until all the other places shut at 3am! the legendary Mooserwirt and Krazy Kanguruh on the mountain are definately not to be missed. Ski area wise i would say the best areas are the top runs on valluga, stuben area and the itenerary runs in zurs when there is powder, one place definately worth a visit, espeically if you are looking for powder is Sonnenkopf, very hard to get to (there is a bus from the bottom of Stuben) but always empty.

Posted: 13/09/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

We skied regularly in Lebanon (Faraya) when we lived in Damascus, Syria (1997-2000). When we transferred back to Europe we got advised to try St. Anton and enjoyed 2 weeks at end Jan/Early Feb. 2000. It put the Lebanon in perspective, but I still liked skiing above Beirut! We stayed at the Hotel Arlberg, St. Anton - comfortable, pool, massage and a busy bar, reasonable food. Problem was it's at the end of town and walking in boots was not the answer! The weather was mixed to say the least - rain, mist and too many dull days. However, the good days were superb. We skied everything many times and fell into bed exhausted almost every night. Some of us fell asleep during dinner. We went back to St Anton for Christmas/New Year 2002/2003 and this time stayed in St Jakob (Haus Feuerstein). Comfortable self catered flats (we need two as there are six of us... 4 teenage boys). The accommodation was comfortable, but too far out of town for the boys and the night life. A busy, but reliable and good bus service from St. Jakob down to the lifts. We took a couple of trips to Lech & Zurs (raining) and to Sonnenkopf (brilliant sunny day) and headed for the highest point and the off-piste cirque. The latter was a welcome break from the busy slopes of St Anoton on New Years day. Christmas/New Year 2003/4 we went to Grimentz, Val D'Anniviers, Switzerland and stayed in the Hotel Alpina - well located at the foot of the lifts. Excellent skiing, perfect snow, brilliant weather. A charming Swiss village and not too busy on the slopes, but no night life. Hotel food was monotonous and couldn't really manage my wife's vegetarian requirments. Skiing was excellent, but limited for 2 weeks; it would be perfect for a week. This year its decision time again - Zermatt, Solden, Obergurgl or back to tried, tested, proven and excellent St Anton? If so, it will be to the centre of town! Note: All resorts visited were accessed by car and the car was available thoughout. Our eldest can verify that the rescue service in Switzerland was excellent, if a bit price! My advice is... "don't skip on insurance cover", you will welcome it when things go wrong".

Posted: 13/09/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Will be back in St Anton this season....not the best place for beginners but otherwise a fantastic resort. The direct train from Zurich (approx 2 1/2hrs) makes access easy too. Hotels are cleaner than most NHS operating theatres, but maybe that's not saying much. The extensive areas of marked ungroomed skiing make this one of the best resorts for those looking to learn the subtle arts of off-piste skiing...and there is some fantastic real off-piste within a 1-2 hr walk of the lift system for those who are willing to fit skins and touring bindings....

Posted: 05/04/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Just back from St Anton. I love Austria and have spent teh last two ski holidays in Kaprun which was difficult to fault. I usually travel independently but I needed a late deal and had no time to arrange anything other than a chalet deal. I just saw where the most snow was and booked. I could not have timed it better - lots of snow had fallen the previous week, although the St Anton slopes were a bit over-groomed for my liking and felt like sheet ice early on. However, they soon became slushy and by 2pm. The good news is that Alberg are is huge! St Anton runs are very extensive but the map which indicates which is a blue / red / black is really not very helpful in planning routes especially if you have beginners or early intermediates in your party. Some blues were more like reds and vice versa which can be a bit daunting for some. The Alberg ski pass allows you access to (north facing) Lech which is either a 30 minute bus ride from St Anton (Euro5.50 rtn) or you can ski to a Lech ski bus pick up point. about half way along. Get off at the second stop in Lech (bergerbahn cable car). The snow in Lech was incredible and the pistes perfectly groomed and maintained with long wide runs for those who prefer to cruise. It was also suprisingly quiet. Beware that the return bus only runs twice and hour and only once an hour at certain times. Alberg pass also gives access to Rendl and a couple of other places - so it is nearly impossible to be bored in a week. I stayed in Nasserein - it is quiet and a short walk to St Anton (10 mins) and a 5 min walk to the Nassereien cable car. I went with Skiworld (though I gather they are also referred to as 'thirdworld'!) but I am now sure that with the amount of free accomodation I saw in the area it is easy to get to Zurich or Innsbruck and get a train direct to St Anton if you want to go independantly.

Posted: 15/03/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

This will make more sense to you once you have spent a few amusing Apres ski hours in the Mooserwirt in St Anton - one of the most hysterical places I have ever been. It's situated to the right of the main run back to town, you cant miss it as the music is a deafening mix of Euro Pop, glam rock and Robbie Williams. Prepare your lungs for a good old sing song. Other places to go are the Krazy Kangaruh - this place rocks every night ( but esp Friday night ). Other great Apres places to go is Piccadilly which is situated on the main street running through the centre of St A. They are open till 8pm and re opens at 9pm.They have live music - guys singing to Sweet Home Alabama and that sort of thing. The Funky Chicken is where allthe weirdy-beardy snowboarders hang out, get drunk and say " dude alot ". A very young crowd and gets pretty packed. Underground is just round the corner and is a little more civilised with an older clientele.It is howver, as the name says underground and the safest way to breath in there is through a cigarette - be warned. Club wise Post Kellar ( next door to Piccadilly ) but the best club is Kandahar which doesn't realy kick off till 2am and keeps going as long as you do. The skiing is wonderful. The pass covers 4 resorts, there are long fun blue runs from the top of the mountan to the bottom, but you have to be careful you don't take a wrong turn which is easily done here cause you could end up down a black !!. Rendel is fab skiing but as an intermediate / expert there is no better place to go ( well .. maybe Zermatt but there isnt much in it ). Beginners are catered for but the blues are not easy. The ski school ( Alberg ) is good - very young ski instructors who take their profession very seriously indeed - ladies if you think they are out every night parting - think again. The standard of the tution was good, one of our party went off piste every day in a class of 8 and said it was the best skiing she had done ( and she was a guide in Val d'Isere ). restaurant wise nothing to shout home about ( Zermatt rules here I'm afraid ) but there is one lovely resturant " undergrund on the Piste " nr the mueseum - which serves the most wonderful fondue- the service was excellent too. Final word - pack the cash cause it ain't cheap ... enjoy St Anton is defo one of the skiing greats ..

Posted: 19/01/04
St Anton review
Ski Club member

This year we booked very late...2 days before departure, St Anton was the destination...it was the right one!...having skied in Switzerland (Zermatt), Italy (Cervinia), and recently mostly France,(Courchevel 1850)...I have to say St Anton was a revelation..the village atmosphere and night life made it worth while dragging tired limbs out until the early hours...from the UK very short transfers makes it score heavily over France..the locals are also very friendly...and the skiing is as good as it gets...I will definately return next year.( BIG mention for the Underground bar...the entertainment there is unbelievable...you will not want to go home...)

Posted: 11/03/03
St Anton review
Ski Club member

09.02.03-16.02.03 Fantastic all round fun resort. As a lowly intermediate I found it very challenging, but the pistes were fantastic. Fellow more advanced skiiers were unhappy that they wouldn't have time to do all of the difficult runs! Apres ski extremely lively. Had a brilliant time.

Posted: 23/01/03
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Just returned from St Anton on 18/01/03. An outstanding resort. I have skied in France and italy several times before but the overall combination of excellent ski-apres ski in St Anton makes it a winner. The best apres ski bar in St Anton by a long shot is The Fang bar beside the Nasserein gondola. Fantastic hosts (Hasse and Paul)and a great atmosphere.....But watch out for those shots of Stroch...Looney juice!!

Posted: 08/01/03
St Anton review
Ski Club member

I have skied the Alberg and in particular St Anton on 7 separate occasions with the most recent visit Jan 2002. Value for money you cannot beat it with almost guaranteed snow of good quality. The large queues at the bottom in the morning seem to have disappeared. The lifts are being continually upgraded. Crowds do build up in some areas on and off the piste but the secret is to to keep moving. If you like challenge try Hinter Rendl over the back. The pistes get crowded on Gampen and on the home runs in the late afternoon, but this presents a nice challenge ducking a weaving between the terrified beginners and can be great fun with a few mates. For some interesting excursions try Stuben but not on a cold day as the lifts are freezing out of the sun until the top. If you want the best St Anton is a must!

Posted: 01/05/02
St Anton review
Ski Club member

Run #17 from Schindler is one of th best. Try folling this run to Stuben where it is less crowded. For a great days Skiing try the White Circle starting in Lech by taking the Gondola up to Zurs and sking down to Zurs, cross the Road and go up to Madlochbhan. Follow this back round to Lech. Best food this year I found in the Well Com center where the Fish soup is highly recomended. Best Bar has to be Bar 37 where it is small with lots of athmosphere.

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

Ski Club Freshtracks holidays to St Anton

PE Arlberg Achievement
Off piste zone: 7 nights, 17 Dec 2016
A week long off piste instruction ski holiday to St. Anton with local Arlberg instructors is all you...
PE Arlberg Achievement 4*
Off piste zone: 7 nights, 17 Dec 2016
A week long off piste instruction ski holiday to St. Anton with local Arlberg instructors is all you...
St Anton Adventure 1
Off piste zone: 7 nights, 22 Jan 2017
Famous for it's terrain and apres ski St. Anton is the perfect place for some powder skiing on...
St Anton Adventure 2
Off piste zone: 7 nights, 05 Mar 2017
Famous for it's terrain and apres ski St. Anton is the perfect place for some powder skiing on...
St Anton Easter Weekend
Weekend zone: 4 nights, 13 Apr 2017
Why not make the most of your Easter weekend by spending it in one of Europe’s snowiest areas? ...

tour operators in St Anton

Mark Warner
10% discount for Ski Club members
Mark Warner have been operating ski holidays in the Alps for over 40 years. They operate their own...
VIP Ski
10% discount for Ski Club members
VIP SKI is not an agent, we operate over 60 of our own luxury chalets and 3 luxury ski hotels in...
Skiworld
10% discount for Ski Club members
The largest independent ski operator in the UK. Featuring over 120 catered chalets in superb...
Neilson Holidays
10% discount for Ski Club members
As a Ski Club of Great Britain member, you can receive a 10% discount on all Neilson Ski, Beachclub...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
Travel Club Elite
6% discount for Ski Club members
Travel Club Elite are an Awarding Wining Travel Agent. We are an ABTA member (82689) of 30 Years and...
Snowscape
5% discount for Ski Club members
Snowscape offer weekly and flexible quality ski and snowboarding holidays to Austria. Our main...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Ski-Val
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski-Val has been successfully operating catered chalet holidays for over 40 years!. We remain an...
Elegant Resorts
5% discount for Ski Club members
Elegant Resorts, the UK's leading luxury tour operator, provides exceptional client service and...
Ski Independence
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Independence is the UK's leading tailor-made ski specialist offering the best hotels,...
The Oxford Ski Company
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over eighteen years of experience, some 450+ personally inspected luxury ski chalets and 90...
Ski Total
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Total, the Ski Chalet Specialist, has over 33 years experience and offers over 100 high quality...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...
flexiski
5% discount for Ski Club members
Flexiski are tailor-made ski holiday experts with over 20 years experience in planning ski breaks to...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...
Crystal Ski Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...
GirlsSki2
5% discount for Ski Club members
Inspiring alpine adventures for women. GirlsSki2 is a website, community and travel event organiser...

ski accommodation in St Anton

Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...

member discounts in St Anton

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now