Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    

AustriaMayrhofen: Reviews

If you've been to Mayrhofen and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Ann Anthony
Posted: 16/02/17
Not sure what you mean
Overall rating: 5 stars
Ann Anthony
Visited: January 2017

Great skiing with leader David Coombs. Just like the old days of Ski Club. Excellent choice of runs,friendly group,lots of banter with food and drink at reasonable prices.

Paul Crisp
Posted: 11/02/17
Mayrhofen and the Zillertal
Overall rating: 4 stars
Paul Crisp
Visited: January 2017

In M after over a week of unbroken sunshine on a not very established snow base so we weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the pistes. The hire shop (Rent for Fun) guy predicted more of the same; pronounced no off-piste and persuaded us into edgy GS skis. He was, as it turns out, wrong but the hors piste was mostly tracked out and piecrusted. The pistes themselves were in surprisingly good condition with few icy bits and a lot of late afternoon wet sugar snow piles. Weather was mixed with one brilliant blue sky day at the beginning, a couple of sunny/broken cloud days at the end with a fair bit of poor visibility in between.

Spent most of the week skiing with the Leader David Coombs and a nice bunch of members. David was a top class leader - knew the mountain well. However, the mountains in question were mostly not the ones above Mayrhofen as most mornings saw us getting on trains and buses to other bits of the valley and skiing there. David's comprehensive knowledge of the whole valley really came into its own here and we covered an area much larger than we would have thought to visit without him.

The SCGB social rendevous, Mo's, was well positioned and just the right level of lively to make conversation possible. Nice friendly staff, not bad food (of the ribs and wings variety) if you got stuck in for a session (as we did one night) and pretty reasonable prices (certainly compared to France). Food on the mountain was less impressive and we saw the inside of too many big self-service cafes for my own taste.

Stayed in the Gasthof Neuhaus and this was fine without being stunning. Room was a good size, had chairs and a sofa as well as your standard Austrian twin bed arrangements. Good walk in shower, no bath. No tea making in the room (there usually isn't but I still miss it) Breakfast service was good for mainland Europe and dinner was the standard 5 course job

Overall a good base to ski the larger area of the Zillertal

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Penelope Venn
Posted: 04/02/17
Penelope
Overall rating: 4 stars
Penelope Venn
Visited: January 2017

Mayrhofen is an interesting place with loads to do and many ski areas to explore. The main Mayhofen ski area can get very busy so a trip to the Glacier or to Zell am Zitter is very worthwhile. Lots of wide open slopes and quiet.
I had a great day out with the Leader David Coombes and enjoyed meeting a few new people with a common interest. David has a great knowldege of the ski area so I throroughly enjoyed skiing like a sheep !
P

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
2 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Anthony Craven
Posted: 28/01/17
Great snow, no queues
Overall rating: 5 stars
Anthony Craven
Visited: January 2017

Went to Mayrhofen on the 14th January and found really nice fast snow after the recent falls and the low temperature. Towards the end of the week it became sunnier and there were some stretches of ice, but still fine. The slopes were not at all crowded, and I enjoyed going across to Eggalm and later to Kaltenbach on the train. Stayed at the Obermair, with ski bus stop right outside. ..lovely owner and staff, and a great breakfast.
Definitely to be recommended!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Peter Collard
Posted: 26/01/17
Peter Collard
Overall rating: 5 stars
Peter Collard
Visited: January 2017

Agreed with last review, Terry is a fantastic credit to the club, and it is my 39th year coming to this resort. Firstly, my sleeve pocket unzipped somehow one morning, probably because it had a cord attached to the zipper, and to my horror my lift card was gone whilst skiing. Amazingly, I was up and running with a replacement within ten minutes of checking at the info hut at the Horberg lift station .They did this without fuss just asking for my payment card and time of payment etc. Superlative service from the lift company, who are highly trained and qualified beyond needs, and very polite and cheerful. My recommendation for a hotel is the Krammerwirt, a very traditional place steeped in history with all staff of lifetime service there.Neue Post is an outstanding gourmet's delight. Their kitchen is a training ground for many of the best chefs in the valley, and prices are as keen as any good UK foodie pub at this moment in time. Both near the station. In addition, the French national ski team are 'holed up' in the Edenlehen at this moment in time. It is slightly out on a limb, but maybe worth a look for something different but 'high end' !

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Edge of town walking route
Edge of town walking route
Evening sleigh ride
Evening sleigh ride
Krammerwirt hotel view
Krammerwirt hotel view
Part of very sizeable beginners area
Part of very sizeable beginners area
Anne Cooper
Posted: 24/01/17
Mayrhofen Jan 17
Overall rating: 4 stars
Anne Cooper
Visited: January 2017

First time we have been here and were very impressed.The snow conditions were great, helped by a good dump in the week before we arrived. As with most Austrian resorts it is a very pretty place with great views.
Slopes are good but fragmented so you have to be prepared to use the bus and train system to get the most out of the area. Fortunately Terry Rimmer the leader for the week made it very easy, all we had to do was turn up at his office at the railway station in the morning and then follow. Despite having a big group of 18 he managed organise us all. Thanks also to "Rocket" Ron who "volunteered" to lead a second group on several days. Also thanks to Dave Coombs who started his spell as leader a day early and led the second group on the Friday.
The lift system has obviously seen significant recent investment, a lot of fast chairs and bubbles.There were a few busy spots but never any major queues.
I would suggest staying as close to the railway station as possible as this is the hub of the bus system and the train is required to access the areas further down the valley. You still need to be prepared to walk a bit though.
Would suggest it's not a resort for complete beginners you need to be confident on steepish red runs to really enjoy the area. Virtually all blacks can be avoided. Loads of off piste available if you so wish and Terry is a master at finding it.
We stayed in Sporthotel Manni on a Crystal package 4 star, nice rooms, centrally situated with a fabulous outdoor rooftop pool and Jacuzzi. The food however was a different story it was at best 2-3 star so won't be going back as there seem to be far better options near the station.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
George Read
Posted: 04/04/16
John Cook
Overall rating: 5 stars
George Read
Visited: March 2016

Thanks for a well organised and structured week enabling us to get the most from the area as we utilised the whole of the Ziller valley . The social hour was welcome and the camaraderie continued through the evenings.

Thanks to J Cook again.

Suggestion:- Please increase the number of resorts in Austria as the French ones lose their appeal due to there intransigence and charging.

Note:- Try and get accommodation away from the main street as it is very noisy at night.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Gavin Young
Posted: 03/03/16
????????
Overall rating: 4 stars
Gavin Young
Visited: February 2016

Fair range of slopes. Off-piste very poor this year. Kaltenbach worth promoting as a semi-linked (via train) resort.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Jon Widdows
Posted: 05/02/16
Sunny January!
Overall rating: 4 stars
Jon Widdows
Visited: January 2016

Our party of 11 intermediate skiers stayed in the Hotel Strolz (Crystal Ski) in the last week of January. The Hotel was a bit of a hike from the lift in your ski gear but there was a convenient ski bus stop 100 metres away. Can’t really fault the hotel, food was good as were the facilities. Hans the Manger was very helpful. The Penken gondola was never that busy for us so we got up the mountain pretty quickly. We generally skied on red slopes that were in the sun (Horberg, Rastkogel, Eggalm) when it was out which was most of the time actually! A few of us tackled Harakiri - advice would be do it mid-morning before subsequent skier’s skid all off the snow off. We all got down it in one piece and thereafter none of the other black runs seemed too challenging. Had two away days, one to the glacier at Hintertux and the other to Zell am Ziller, both on the Superski pass. Hintertux took about 35 minutes to get to on the free Greenline bus but then at least another 30 minutes to get to the top in 3 gondolas. It was worth it though, great fast skiing on wide pistes and the views were spectacular. I would recommend skiing all the way down if you can, a great way to end the day. Zell am Ziller cost 4.5 euros in a taxi to get to and was only 10 minutes away. We got there early and it was quiet. We skied to Gerlos to meet another member of our group for lunch. The skiing from the top of Ubergangsjoch to Gerlos wasn't the greatest and in hindsight we should have stayed on the Zell side of the mountain for a lot longer. Apres generally kicked off on the Penken mountain but you needed to grab a spot by 3pm. We mostly skied a bit longer and started apres down the mountain spending most time in the Harakiri bar or Bruck n Stadl. Visited plenty of other bars over the week the only downside being a lot were very smoke. Overall we were all impressed with Mayrhofen, it wasn't as rowdy as we expected and given the unseasonably warm weather the pistes were all in good condition.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Oliver Whitelegge
Posted: 20/01/16
Mayrhofen January 2016
Overall rating: 5 stars
Oliver Whitelegge
Visited: January 2016

i can only echo the comments of Jason (previous review). Mayrhofen really is a gem with it's well serviced and extensive network of ski areas.

This was not only my first visit to Mayrhofen but also my first visit to Austria. There has been massive investment in Austrian skiing and consequently the infrastructure is modern and runs like clockwork. Combine this with the fact that your Euro goes a long way (even dining out on the mountain) and I would struggle to find a reason to ski anywhere else in Europe.

I stayed in a guesthouse two miles outside Mayrhofen to avoid the so called noisy nightlife but, in fact, Mayrhofen's reputation as an après ski madhouse seems unjustified. Either way, wherever you choose to stay in the valley, the excellent train and bus services make getting around a doddle. Incidentally, so long as you are obviously a skier (laden down with skis etc.) then the pass gives you free bus and train travel throughout the valley.

I joined the Ski Club initially for the insurance and it was only after I had arranged a trip to Mayrhofen that I found out that there would be a Club Leader there. What a huge bonus that was! Terry Rimmer is not only dedicated and hugely knowledgeable but he's a thoroughly nice person as well.

I would highly recommend Mayrhofen for many reasons and look forward to getting back there in the not too distant future.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Jason Mckewon
Posted: 18/01/16
Mayrhofen January 2016
Overall rating: 4 stars
Jason Mckewon
Visited: January 2016

I skied Mayrhofen for the third time in January 2016 and stayed in the Hotel Neuhaus - Landhaus Annex which I would recommend. Once again the resort did not disappoint. Mayrhofen is an excellent resort. It is one of the many resorts in what is called the Zillertal Arena. It is ideal for beginners through to intermediate and also advanced skiers.

Despite being relatively low at 730 metres, from the town you can access the Ahorn beginner’s area and the Penken, Horberg, Rastkogel and Eggalm areas all of which are much higher than the village and as snow sure as you can get. Throughout the slopes I visited there was also plentiful snow making equipment which provided additional assurance. During the week I visited there was also half a metre of new snow which provided off piste opportunities!

Using the areas excellent bus and train system you can also easily get to a number of other areas including Gerlos, Zell am Zillar, Fugen, Kaltenbach, Ramsau and the snow sure Hintertux Glacier. In total you can access 506 kilometres of pistes and 181 lifts which makes it one of the biggest ski areas anywhere.

During the week I was there I skied with Terry Rimmer who did an excellent job showing our small group around including day trips to Zell, Gerlos and Kaltenbach. Terry also knew quite a few good mountain restaurants, all of which did not disappoint and were not expensive. Terry also did a sterling job helping as much as he could with the one accident which one of our ski group sustained.

Despite its reputation for noisy après ski, it was very easy to avoid the noisiest après ski bars. The town centre also includes many cafes/restaurants and shops so it is a nice place to look around. During my stay the town hosted the Altitude Comedy festival which provided two excellent nights out.

I cannot recommend Mayrhofen highly enough it is a great resort. Mayrhofen and the Zillertal valley will certainly keep you interested for more than one holiday so give it a go!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Steve Fleming
Posted: 20/02/15
Steve Fleming
Overall rating: 4 stars
Steve Fleming
Visited: February 2015

Had an excellent week with guide Terry Rimmer and other ski club members. Terry had certainly done his local homework and we skied a different location in the Zillertal Valley each day. Two days of fresh snow at the beginning of the week and blue skies for the rest meant for excellent skiing. Plenty of off piste skiing which the majority of skiers seemed to avoid which meant more for us. Stayed in one of the Snow homes (Inghams) which was cheap but the accommodation and the food in the close by hotel Strolz was good. The Greenroom in the centre of Mayrhofen was good value and appeared to be the only hire shop that did wider skis for off piste days (every day). This part of Austria is not ski in ski out and we had a bit of queuing (seems like it was Scandinavian half terms) but the euro goes a lot further than in France and Switzerland so all in all gets a recommendation from me.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Beverley Mottram
Posted: 07/02/15
Ms
Overall rating: 5 stars
Beverley Mottram
Visited: January 2015

Terry was an excellent ski club leader and made me feel very much at ease - despite difficult weather conditions I enjoyed an excellent week in Mayhofen with varied skiing - we skiied somewhere difference each day and would very much recommend both this resort and skiing with Terry

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Gerry Kelly
Posted: 05/02/15
First time with a ski leader
Overall rating: 4 stars
Gerry Kelly
Visited: January 2015

I have skied in Mayrhofen almost every year since 2002. It's a very extensive resort including the Penken, Horberg, Rastkogel and Eggalm areas. The runs are mostly red with a few challenging blacks and would suit all levels of intermediate skier. I skied from 23-1-15 to 29-1-15, the snow was great but in general it was cloudy with some 'pea soup' days. However Mon 26th and Weds 28th were gloriously sunny and cloud free and I had some fun just off pisting a little between groomed slopes. It was glorious being in fresh snow and it's so silent there with no horrible scraping of either my own skis or someone else's.
I joined for the first time the ski leader programme for 1 glorious sunny day at strong intermediate level with Terence Rimmer and it was v good. We skied 1 blue to start with but then it was reds and little 'dashes' into the untracked stuff for those who wanted. Terence was an excellent ski leader, not taking chances and adjusting his program as the day went on to accommodate those getting a little tired. We had great discussions about weight distribution on your skis and I learned that I don't need to be on my edges all day which was so much easier especially when coming down those long flat tracks over on Horberg between the trees. For me though the highlight was following Terence in the fresh stuff as its so much fun when you can just follow someone with confidence and really appreciate what skiing silently thro the powder! Based on my experience that day with Terence I will join the ski club and definitely choose a resort next year with a ski leader in residence. It was also a really nice relaxed bunch of ski club members I skied with that day; cheers to Beverley, Steve, Peter, Malcolm and I can only recommend the laid back, chatty, northern approach of Terence (I know I owe you a drink for my unplanned walking pace 'taking out' of the ski leader but that's for another day). Cheers Gerry

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Simon Gwynn
Posted: 18/01/15
No snow
Overall rating: 3 stars
Simon Gwynn
Visited: December 2014

had to go up to Hintertux for any skiing and very busy as you can imagine.

Mayhrhofen too low with no snow and can imagine it must get very busy with only a gondola to get you up there in the mornings and back down.

Would not recommend as a place to go early or late season and very noisey full of party animals especially noisey Brits so not for families.

Slopes:
1 star
Accommodation:
2 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Paul Margetts
Posted: 15/01/15
Good resort even in less than perfect conditions
Overall rating: 4 stars
Paul Margetts
Visited: January 2015

Visited Mayrhofen early Jan 2015, a season with an infamously poor start due to sparse snowfall. Usually ride in the 3 Valleys, Espace Killy, Vail, Whistler etc but felt like giving Austria a go – (56 year old snowboarder happy on runs of all colours and not too extreme off piste).
Traveled in by train from Innsbruck – very easy, the small Ziller Valley train is also very useful to link all the Ziller Valley resorts and can be ridden free if you have a lift pass and are in ski clobber. I believe that the Mayrhofen lift pass is good for all the resorts in the valley.
Mayrhofen town is low and the skiing is accessed by a gondola from the centre of the town, expect queues up in the morning and down in the evening. Lift equipment is modern and efficient, piste map is a bit confusing as runs are numbered and not named. Mayrhofen is best suited to intermediates and better skiers, while the off piste possibilities looked good – if only there was more snow! Pistes are generally short and straight and after 3 days with no powder we decided to visit other resorts in the valley.
Using the train it’s easy to get to Zell am Ziller. We started to do the large circuit of the Ziller Arena, but strong winds unfortunately closed the higher lifts and kept us low, and closer to the village. Next day, on the train again this time to Kaltenbach, a resort much better suited to novice skiers, 11 degrees C at 1800m at lunchtime – T shirt skiing in January! But this is where learners should head to rather than Mayr.
Restaurants in Mayrhofen are excellent and not expensive. Pleased to have visited the Ziller Valley, but if the choice was between Courchevel or Mayrhofen – the French would get my Euro.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Kenneth Kane
Posted: 11/01/15
MAYRHOFEN REVIEW
Overall rating: 5 stars
Kenneth Kane
Visited: January 2015

1. Only 1.5 hours from Innsbruck, quick transfer.
2. Good prices, value for money.
3. Friendly locals.
4. Attentive service.
5. I had no problems with queues. Never experienced any issues.
6. Resort functions very well indeed.
7. Good snow cover and blue bird days 6 out of 7 days.
8. Apres ski is fantastic.
9. Huge variety of runs
10. Great ski schools.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
David Wragg
Posted: 18/04/14
Varied skiing excellent value
Overall rating: 5 stars
David Wragg
Visited: December 2014

I have been to Mayrhofen twice now. Once by myself and the second time with my family. We range in skiing ability with my sons being confident , excellent skiers, myself intermediate and my wife nervous but developing.
The best thing about Mayr is the huge range and variety of runs. I find Austria such good value and it is always fun and friendly.
If you are beginners it is best to stay near the Hippach lifts as the runs are more accessible. For new skiers the runs from the centre of Mayr. Can be a little daunting. The slopes are varied and glorious.
Don't ignore the separate Ahorn slope. It is large and wide and excellent for families and beginners.Consider booking ski lessons here as it is never crowded, my sons didn't mind it either as there is a red run right back into town. The ice lounge is great too.
Thing about staying in Innsbruck for a night especially before Christmas. The atmosphere and vibe is superb and you can buy all your presents there. They will be original and unique. Innsbruck is also amazing value with a pizza costing about 8 euros.

I have also been to Zell Am See which is great to but less runs and France which was a disaster for beginners.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Douglas Murray
Posted: 24/02/14
Ski Holiday
Overall rating: 5 stars
Douglas Murray
Visited: February 2014

2nd visit to this resort in 3 years. Fun lively resort with something for everyone on and off the piste. Eating and Drinking was very good value and generally of a high quality. Every where very clean. Skiing yet again is great for Intermediates and below, only downside is the one cable car up into the mountain from the centre of town , however if you avoided the rush we often had a cable car to ourselves and once up and into the main ski area very few queues. We took a a day trip on the train to the Zillertall resort which was an easy transfer to some different varied skiing which was very enjoyable. Short transfer from Innsbruck , overall a great holiday.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Errol Walker
Posted: 03/02/14
Mayrhofen & Hintertux
Overall rating: 4 stars
Errol Walker
Visited: January 2014

This was the second visit to Mayrhofen and the Hintertux with a large group from my workplace. While Mayrhofen may not offer the the greater challenges and long sweeping runs of some of the French resorts, it was certainly good enough to make a return visit. The areas of Mayrhofen itself offers enough distance from the Horberg at one extreme to Eggalm at the other for those who want to feel that they are travelling. Certainly there are some good runs from the Red 27 (Horberg) to the picturesque ski route 1 to Eggalm. The little ski route 2, of Black 17 (Horberg) is a fun run - better when left unpisted, that did a number of times. Mayrhofen doesn't offer many greens and some of the blues are more challenging.

A visit to the glacier area of Hintertux should be made. A short and easy free bus ride from Mayrhofen. Some fantastic wide sweeping runs, and great scenery. So good we went there in two of our 6 days.

Food in Austria is great value - goulash soup cannot be beaten and some great mixed salads. Restaurants to recommend include: Vogelnest and Waldhutte (Eggalm). The latter is limited but cheap and nice and Vogelnest larger and more extensive. Limmerbichhl also very good. The restaurant at the top of the glacier is very, very good.

The Ahorn across the valley is good for those wanting to practice - very gentle blues which area wide. With the Red 4 and 5 back to the main gondola, providing a challenge, particuarly if a bit icy. But it is a great long run.

Some of our group also visited Kaltenbach & the Ziller Areana and raved about those.

Mayrhofen itself offers lots of nice bars, and the Bruck n Stadl is a place to be experienced - the most lively and different (bier keller like) experience.

Smoking inside is still allowed in Austria so beware.

A good resort, great value for money and eating is very good. If you want totally challenging runs then maybe not but for a mixed group, It is excellent.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Ken Minshull
Posted: 24/01/14
Great - Part 2...
Overall rating: 3 stars
Ken Minshull
Visited: January 2014

Watch out for:
-Green Line bus back from the Rastkogelbahn will not stop if its full!
-When lacking snow, the Eggalm Number 5 to the bus can be very icy and not fun for even intermediate skiers!
-If skiing back to Mayrhofen, the run to the right of the 150Tux can get very crowded, moguled at times, steep and icy at others. Not fun. Alternative is to take the Tux150 down, but you then have to use an antiquated rope pull to connect (disgraceful lack of investment there by the company).
-People who love to stop across pinch point on the slopes or ski within millimeters of you thinking they are in control of themselves (while screaming YeeHaaaaa....HeeeeelpMeeeee..., then doing a massive hockey stop only to turn around, return the complexion from horror white to flesh again and return to breathing mode). The lift company seem oblivious to safety as long as it brings in the money!

We stayed B&B which allowed us to do our own thing, so it's difficult to recommend hotels; however, have stayed in a Manni's B&B before with HB option. Food there was amazing, stunning, to say the least. They also had a rooftop pool which sets it apart from the others. Would love to stay there if I could afford it. Have also had the misfortune to have a meal with my children in the Strass when they stayed on a similar HB option; the Strass put their inmates into a separate buffet restaurant which is uncontrolled the point of being abusive, with some customers already in an alcohol induced state of idocy. What a difference between the two and both are considered four star hotels.

On the eating side, the Hotel Rose gets five stars from me. Very very good value and have a theme every night. Example is ribs at 10.50 Euros where they are 21 Euros at Manni's. My wife and I ate there every night... again. Lovely friendly staff and a nice glass of wine to boot. If you finish early try Gassers opposite the Penken lift.

Hope this helps your holiday.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Alex Gooderham
Posted: 06/01/14
Chaltet Tirol (Crystal)
Overall rating: 4 stars
Alex Gooderham
Visited: December 2013

Having been to Mayrhofen before we knew our way around and the skiing did not disappoint, though the weather was not as good as it might have been, and we ended up loosing the equivalent of two days skiing due to high winds.

The chalet was ideally located on the high street about 300m from the main Penkenbahn gondola and the chalet staff were very good. Peter and Josh prepared very good quality meals and the quantity of food was not something to complain about, while Emma and Sarah done a great job looking after the "front of house". It definitely helped that that the staff were a bit more mature than in some other chalets we have used in the past with other holiday companies and this gave us more confidence in their ability to get the job done properly.

The only drawback was the noise that came from late night revellers as they got turfed out of nearby bars and clubs at various times throughout the night. Sometimes it got rather loud and lively, but it depends where your room was as too how much of a problem this was.

While Mayrhofen is not ideal for beginners, for intermediate or advanced skiiers it is ideal.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Kym Wilson
Posted: 20/11/07
Mayrhofen review
Kym Wilson

We are returning to Mayrhofen for the third time this Christmas. This is the only resort i have returned to more than twice, and I have skied all over the Alps. The reason is; the hotels are a good standard, the food is filling and hearty and the skiing never disappoints. You sometimes have to queue for a bit at the Penken gondalo station, but keep in mind that this is NOT the only way up the mountain, the buses to other main gondolas are free and frequent.

We like Mayrhofen so much that went back in summertime!

John Bradley
Posted: 16/05/07
Mayrhofen review
John Bradley

I was the SC Rep in Mayrhofen from 17th February to 14th March - the busiest part of the season. After a day or two members would often say to me that the Ski Club should alter its description of the resort because it was so misleading, giving an impression of long queues up and down the mountain, crowded, short runs and and rowdy nightlife.

In the four weeks I was there, we never queued to go up or down the Penken - because there are lots of alternative routes but also because we generally skied in the other, less crowded areas covered by the lift pass. These were easily accessed by the efficient bus and train services. The key is to think of the entire Ziller valley as the ski are and Mayrhofen as the hub.

The apres-ski was much better than expected too - the best atmosphere I've ever experienced in the popular bars immediatley after the skiing and I neither saw nor heard of any rowdiness later on.

All in all I think the area needs a re-assessment, reflecting the massive investment in recent years which has linked so many of the smaller areas together and produced a world-class skiing area.

Gwyn Williams
Posted: 20/03/07
Mayrhofen review
Gwyn Williams

Recently returned from a weeks boarding in Mayrhofen (3-10th March) with my wife and kids (aged 3 and 1). Stayed in the Hotel Neuhaus and would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel to anyone (friendly staff, great facilities, fantastic food and a creche that the kids loved). It was about a 10 minute stroll through the village to ge to the lift (or the bus stopped outside if you were feeling lazy), but since this meant that the noisier pubs were not on the doorstep the kids got a good night sleep and happy kids means happy parents!! One piece of advice...leave your skis and boots in one of the shops at the base of the gondola - for 17 euro it takes a lot of hassle of walking about in the village.

Overall we were impressed with the skiing, an excellent area for intermediates (although I can understand some of the comments about the suitability for beginners - not much choice and a bit disjointed if you couldn't get down a red or two to link up the area). We were lucky with the conditions so it helped with our impression of the area (although not much of the vast off-piste area was skiiable when we were there).

I can't say that we found the lift as unbearable as we had expected. Before 9 am it was clear and by 9:45 the worst of the queue had gone. Get clear of the three seater at the Penken gondola station by 10 am if you can as ski school starts there and everyone goes for the same lift at the same time. One thing I did notice was that the queues that we did get stuck in were far friendlier than other resorts we have been to, with a lot less pushing and jostling.

The resort itself has retained it's character with no high-rise structures and the main street has a good variety of shops, bars, cafe's etc. There's also an excellent pool in the town which the kids loved. In addition, the entire resort (including mountain restraunts, lifts, streets etc.) was incredibly clean.

We'll definitely be considering this one for a return visit in the future.

Jane Overland
Posted: 15/03/07
Mayrhofen review
Jane Overland

Just returned from Mayrhofen. Went with a group of 10 including 3 beginners. I have skied mainly in France and was a bit wary of not being able to sk to the door (or maybe just lazy!) especially after the dire warnings of queues for the lift in the morning.

None of it was jusified - yes the lift queue got busy first thing if you were there after 9am but if you get up early and get up to the slopes there is no queue and the runs are very quiet.

The skiing was great and the apres ski was even better - I have never known anything like it. Staying in the bar at the top of the gondala was an enjoyable way to mis the queue back down !

All of our group thoroughly enjoyed their holiday and the resort suited all abilities.

We are definitely all going back next year !

Jan Milsom
Posted: 05/03/07
Mayrhofen review
Jan Milsom

Having returned from a week, having read the reviews of others moaning about queues and not being able to ski into resort etc etc, I say book elsewhere, please.

I have skied in many places and none have had this total experience. The sking was excellent (taking into account the conditions), the ski-school for my daughter was brilliant, with 2 hours skiing, lunch together and then another 2 hours sking. There were some queues for lifts, but nothing severe.

To overcome the queues in the morning, get their early, get your kit and get on the slopes. It's not busy, perfectly groomed and justifies why you go sking. Alternatively, for staying in bed I hear Tenerife is good this time of year.

The town itself was disciplined in its control of apres ski, thus allowing satisfaction for families and couples. It was also exceptionally clean with good shops and restauraunts.

This resort and what its surrounding areas offer will make an exceptional holiday for skiers and non-skiers. You only get out what you put in, and if you can remember this during your time in Mayrhofen, enjoyment is guaranteed.

Caroline Morris-Hills
Posted: 21/01/07
Mayrhofen review
Caroline Morris-Hills

Just returned from a weeks skiing in Mayrhofen(13th - 20th January). Even though there hasn't been a great deal of snow, like most other resorts, Mayrhofen has worked hard to keep a good covering of snow and predominantly good skiing conditions. The lift system across the ski area is excellent. The new Ahorn Bahn opened in December '06 whisks skiers to the Ahorn mountain in just over 5 minutes. Queues do form on the Penken Gondola, but if you make an early start you can avoid excessive queing. Mayrhofen is a very pretty village, with lots of nice hotels and a good variety of shops. We stayed at the Mannis Hotel, which was excellent. Great food, first class service and a good central location. The heated outdoor swimming pool was a godsend after a good days skiing. This is the second time we have been to Mayrhofen and Mannis and intend to go back despite the "Apres Pee"

Posted: 22/05/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

We as a family, two children aged 5 and 13, have been going back to Mayrhofen for about 7 years. We love this area as it is very good for the children. Our 5 year old was put in a different ski school this year in January, which was much smaller than the year before, but much more caring. I must admitt I hate the lifts to the top of the slopes, they do not cater for young children. I have seen many a time mothers with their young children being pushed dangerously forward they should really change this. We have a lovely time each time we go and book our appartment by email ourselves, which saves a lot of money. Will be going back next year to the same appartments and for the first time will not be taking ski school.

Posted: 07/04/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Stayed in the Mannis Sporthotel for a week from the 4th of March-excellent hotel with good food and nice atmosphere. The queue for the Penken was a really bug bear and if you weren't in the queue by 08.30 then somedays you'll be in it for 45 mins before getting to the slope!!! It's all survival of the fittest as well, which is atrocious compared to Canada. Some excellent runs with a great run on the Ahorn down to the bottom. A great apres ski atmosphere as is what you would expect with Austria, but the bumping and pushing for lifts has really put me off Europe for the last time-time to head back to Canada where they are a damn sight more civil!!!

Posted: 08/03/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

(18th Feb-25th Feb) Had a great time in Mayrhofen, first time there for us all. Snow was good and decent weather. Yes the queues for the Penken lift were a pain but like someone has said get on the outside and you get there quicker. It is a bit like a cattle crush as they shove as many people in as possible! Really enjoyed the mountain restaurants good mix, especially liked the one near the snowboard jumps. favourite run of our group No. 7 from off the sneeker lift. Really enjoyed skiing on the Ahorn, shorter queues and nice gentle runs and great red run down from the top back to lift. Stayed at Strass Sport central hotel, great food but bit noisy as in centre. Transfer from Innsbruck only 1hr 15mins really appreciated this as originally were flying to Salzburg. Overall had a great time

Posted: 24/02/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

11th – 18th February 2006 Fantastic location, hospitality superb, snow conditions great, Mayrhofen have a lift system second to none once you are on the mountain. The queue for the Penken gondola out of the hearth of the town is cruel, if you arrive after 8.30am expect to queue for at least 1 hour. By 10.45-11.00am you can walk right through. The worst part of the problem is that if you wish to get down off the mountain by Gondola (understand that there is no other way) without queuing for a considerable time you must be prepared to leave before 3.30pm! There are almost no Drag Lifts, and practically all but one chair lift are derail able with conveyer belt systems to get you on with incredible ease. If you are advanced or a good intermediate Mayrhofen is heaven. The Hari-kari (78% of vertical) is the best test you will get to stay on your skis. If you fall it’s one unstoppable long slide to the bottom. When you have slid to the bottom wait a while to watch others slide down to meet you. Black 17 must be one of the longest straightest black runs you will ever make your way down. I would offer a word of caution, while the instructors are very dedicated and extremely pleasant, when it comes to working with beginners they do not have a lot of slopes at there disposal. Our group had 9 beginners in it and it was four days before the got on a chair lift. When taking into consideration that there are only two drag lifts at the beginners area and slopes of about 100m a person can get bored very quickly. I should also point out that we were there during the high season, perhaps if you can get there at another time it might be better. Another point worth mentioning is the traffic situation if you are driving from Salzburg or Munich on a Saturday expect long delays it took us six hours to get to Mayrhofen, leaving Munich at 12.30pm and the same if not worse returning. When in Mayrhofen be sure to try out Mo’s on the Main Street, great food and beer To sum up I would say, fantasist place, great for intermediates, not for beginners, avoid mid-term and the traffic on Saturdays is a killer. Brian O'Farrell, Dublin, Ireland

Posted: 21/02/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Just back from Mayrhofen. Great skiing but the twice daily queues to get up and down the Penken were a pain which took the edge of an otherwise great holiday. I had seen other comments on this site regarding the queues but had not paid as much attention to them as I should have. Beware!

Posted: 21/02/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Was worried that Mayrhofen at half term might be a nightmare but could not have been more wrong. The anticipated mass of school age skiers and boarders did not materialise and for the most part the slopes were uncrowded. Much is made in the Resort Guide about the queue for the Penken gondola, which can seem daunting, but if you keep to the outside "lane" you can normally get to the front within 10-15 minutes. Once past that though there are no real bottlenecks. The only real problem for us was the quality of the snow, which cut up quite badly in the afternoons, particularly on the runs back down to the Penken gondola. This is nothing that a fresh dump won't sort out, though, as we had brilliant conditions in the same resort last year. Mayrhofen has much to recommend it (other than noisy dutch guests stumbling out of the Speak Easy Bar at 4.00 in the morning) and I know a number of people who return year after year. As reasonable intermediates there is plenty of skiing there for me and my family and in all likelihood we will go back again next year.

Posted: 17/01/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Just back from Mayrhofen and agree with previous two comments, pistes on both mountains in excellent condition and largely quiet. A fantastic cloudless week help as well. The whole resort is well maintained and organised. This was my first visit back since learning to ski here 25 years ago and the development is tremendous. Can't understand why the Ahorn is so deserted as it has friendly blues and a couple of reds to be enjoyed by all. Stayed at the well located Gasthof Brucke which has fairly ordinairy food ( some downright wacky like the shredded pancake soup, some ok). Brilliant atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Only blackspot is room 101. Avoid this first floor, above main entrance room at all costs, expecially if you have booked with Neilson's who are aware the room is not suitable but still book it for their clients even though other operators refuse it.

Posted: 11/01/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

I agree with Wolfgang. Fantastic conditions available first week after new year. A lot of the runs were challenging, but were a bit shorter than I expected them to be, when compared to other resorts. A good mix of runs available including the Harakiri! (78% incline) Queues at Penken gondola were long if arrived late, and were worse when the sun was shining! We arrived about 8:45ish and queued for 10 minutes on a cloudy day and 20ish minutes on a sunny day.On the mountain the queing for chair lifts were never as bad as they first looked. Good sized chair lifts allowed people to move quickly. Food and drink on the mountain was good and varied, although the seating areas were not large enough, and between 12 and 1pm is best avoided due to ski scholl lunch break. Stayed at Mannis Hotel. 3 mins walk from Penken. Nice hotel, large clean room. Food was excellent quality although quite fancy for some people's taste. Good fun looking at menu for the German to English translation to describe the food! Down side of the hotel that we had was the noise. Main road in town can be noisy with late into the night, and the corridors of the hotel were not carpeted so echoed noise quite a lot. Seemed to be a lot of noisy Russians around! Staff were helpful and polite. Another good idea is the live TV channel with cameras at Penken, Ahorn and Hintertux so you could see the conditions, temperatures and winds before you set off. Good when choosing where to go that day. Mayrhofen is an excellent resort, and the Zillertal area pass means that you can travel to other resorts for free. Zell Am Ziller, Kaltenbach etc. Kaltenbach was a good day trip with wide and long runs. Although, it is a lot easier resort than Mayrhofen, the runs are generous. I recommend Mayrhofen as a good resort to visit.

Posted: 09/01/06
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Just returned from Mayrhofen - excellent snow, excellent slopes well linked although a bit of speed is required to get through some of the dips. Lift Infrastructure excellent - most of the resort can be accessed using fast and comfortable chair lifts, gondolas or cable cars. Most importantly I cannot comprehend the official comments on this site about lack of challenging slopes!!! The black runs are tougher than anything St Anton and Val d'Isere (both famed for challenging runs) have to offer and some of the reds would probably be classified as 'black' in any other resort. Rest of valley: Kaltenbach, Zell and Ramsau are all well worth a visit too. Huge powder fields in all resorts with untracked snow to be found days after last snowfall. Lift queues are a nuisance in the morning but easy to avoid: the main gondola runs much longer (8:20 to 17:45) than the advertised hours (8:30 to 17:00) - well after dark in Dec/Jan) depending on demand. Best way to avoid queues on way down is to wait for the DJ in the Apres Ski bars to announce that lift queue is diminishing.

Posted: 14/04/04
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Had a second wonderful week in Mayrhofen 3-10 April. The biggest bonus of the resort is the short transfer from Innsbruck. We stayed at the Hotel-Pension Siegerlerhof for the 2nd time, which served us very well again. It's cheap, clean, extremely friendly, and gives you the real Tirol traditional experience! The Ice Bar was still buzzing, although the snow was so great that we were too tired to enjoy much hard core apres-ski. Took the Green-Line bus to the glacier, which took a good 40 mins. The glacier queues, which we had been warned about, did not materialise, but the pistes were pretty busy. Despite sunshine, it was -17C and felt all of that and more. I would be pretty hesitant about going up there again unless conditions were seriously bad in the rest of the valley. Our mixed ability group all found something in the valley to entertain them, and I would thoroughly recommend the resort. PS. Last year we stayed there for New Year. The fireworks are something to behold, but beware that you might not escape with your life-it's pretty wild!

Posted: 17/03/04
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Went to Mayrhofen during the February half term on a companies inspection visit. Stayed at the Hotel Perauer which is in an ideal position, just about 100 metres from the main Penken lift, and about 200 metres from the Eggalm lift. If you reach the Penken lift just before 8:30, then you will have no problems with queues at all. On the mountain there was no more than a 5 minute wait for any lift, though there was a fair bit of cross country skiing to get from one lift to another. Although the snow did become a little bumpy towards the afternoon, it was not too much of a problem, and in the mornings, the pistes were impeccable. The Zillertal area is huge and offers great variety to skiers, especially intermediates like me, with plenty of challenging red runs throughout, in particular, the Zell am Ziller tour was excellent, albeit exhausting. The apres-ski ws very lively until about 9, then the whole village went quiet except for one or two bars which were ridiculously busy, however this wasn't too off-putting because of the necessary early rise for the Penkenbahn each day. I would thoroughly recommend Mayrhofen for both a social or a school skiing holiday.

Posted: 16/03/04
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Well I said below that I would be back & I just have. Snow this year has been fantastic - same as most places which makes for a great ride down the slopes. Some specific feedback on Mayrhofen - you need to be at the Penken before 9am in March otherwise its at least a 30 min queue. Going down it seemed to get really busy after about 3:45. Was it just me or was the piste preparation a bit poor this year - with all the snow, the slopes tended to get very bumpy & didn't look that great in the morning either, I was slightly disappointed. Strong points are the number & variety of runs, great for a red run skier like myself. Restaurants are variable from burger & chips crud to pizza's, soups & traditional Austrian - usually about 5-6 Euro. There are three new chairs this year that speed progress around the mountain so once your up the gondola its no probs. There aren't even that many boarders either wich is a nice bonus. Accomodation is great with several 4 star hotels - usually half board & all with sauna complexes (usually naked!) & plenty of stuff in the town for Apres Ski. Definitely good for kids with some great ski schools & a nice pool as well. Oh & one other bad point to finish - we were forced to check in three hours early for our flight home, meaning we left our hotel at 4 in the morning for an 8:30 flight just because Innsbruck airport check-in is inefficient & what a crap place to spend three hours - could do better

Posted: 15/03/04
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Skiing in school holidays, queues at Penkenbahn gondola to get to slopes are 30m to 1hr if you start after 8:30am, similar length to get down if you get caught by ski schools finishing. However, apres-ski is fab and snow this year was superb. Bus link to Glacier free, easy and worthwhile. Good time anytime but better out of school holidays and without kids!

Posted: 24/03/03
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Just back on 22nd March. Ski-ing was fantastic for intermediates, the sun was strong & the spring conditions were just like fresh powder without any ice. Truly georgous tree lined runs & very friendly people. I must say the Penken Gondola scared me stiff for the first few days but you soon get used to the height & the steep climb. I would say that only 70cm of snow is still more than enough due to excellent piste preparation. In the words of Arnie....I'll be back!

Posted: 13/01/03
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Friday 10/01/03 will be the 4th time to Mayrhofen (thank goodness there is snow at last!) It is in a beautiful valley, supported by many nearby pretty smaller resorts. As a town and agricultural area in it's own right, means there is always something to do should you be unlucky enough to
sprain a muscle or just fancy a day off the slopes. I'm hooked, and even if you come home unscathed - your ribs can still ache with all the laughing and fun you've had.

Posted: 01/05/02
Mayrhofen review
Ski Club member

Having last skied here in 1984 my recent visit confirmed that this resort has not lost it's magic. The Zillertal 3000 pass is fantastic - it offers excellent value and a wide range of ski slopes admittedly better accessed by car. Hochfugen was particularly enjoyable and the planned opening of a new lift linking it to Kaltenbach will make it even more attractive.

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

tour operators in Mayrhofen

Neilson Holidays
12% discount for Ski Club members
Up to 12% discount for Ski club members on all Neilson holidays!Ski holiday savings for 2016/17...
Sunweb Holidays
10% discount for Ski Club members
The Worlds biggest ski tour operator! Packages to France and Austria with lift passes included for...
Skiworld
10% discount for Ski Club members
The largest independent ski operator in the UK. Featuring over 140 catered chalets in superb...
Travel Club Elite
6% discount for Ski Club members
Travel Club Elite are an Awarding Wining Travel Agent. We are an ABTA member (82689) of 30 Years and...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...
Skiline
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Line is an independent ABTA travel agent specialising in ski holidays and in particular catered...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...
Crystal Ski Holidays
£50 discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...

ski accommodation in Mayrhofen

Fun & Spa Hotel Strass
5% discount for Ski Club members
Fun & Spa Hotel Strass Mayrhofen **** Located in the heart of the resort next to the Penken...

member discounts in Mayrhofen

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now