Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    

AndorraSoldeu - Grandvalira: Reviews

If you've been to Soldeu - Grandvalira and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Paul Mayer
Posted: 04/03/17
First Trip Using Ski Club
Overall rating: 5 stars
Paul Mayer
Visited: February 2017

As a family we've been coming back to Soldeu fora number of years and always had a great time. This year there was only three of us as my two eldest daughters couldn't make it. I therefore decided to join the ski club as an opportunity to meet some new skiers. This worked out very well. Simon our skiclub leader was both welcoming and accommodating, adapting his guides to the level of those attending. A big thanks from me to Simon.

I downgraded the eating to 3 stars, as the food available on the mountain is a bit samey, especially for those who have bought the lift passes/meal deal. These are really good value and do the job of filling you up, but the choice isn't vast. I think we'll pay a bit extra next year. Choice and quality of Restaurants in Soldeu itself is good. Probably worth 4 Stars.

The Harp is our favourite for Apres. Really friendly staff and great music. Adrian Flatley is a fantastically talented musician. His version of Another Brick in The Wall was equally stunning as it was surprising. His fret work on the electric guitar was outstanding. It was just a pity there was only 30 people in the bar to witness it.

In the words of Arnie "I'll be back"

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Ian Witham
Posted: 28/02/17
Fantasic holiday
Overall rating: 5 stars
Ian Witham
Visited: February 2017

excellent resort , great location . gave the ability of skiing into Pas de la Casa and Tartar. Snow cover was excellent with plenty of variety. The sun was shining and the sky blue. What more could you ask for. Give Simon Hanton, my very best. Excellent leading , and very knowledgeable . A credit to the Ski club. Hopefully we will meet up next year. Cant wait to get there again

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Tom Duxbury
Posted: 15/02/17
Tom duxbury
Overall rating: 5 stars
Tom Duxbury
Visited: February 2017

Another annual trip to Soldeu. every weather condition this week and led around the grandvalira area by Simon who was the perfect host every day. queues around Grau Roig busy at times but remember the "singles" lines! Bruxelles hotel first class with options for dinner, breakfast etc. and the most accommodating staff you could wish for. Cleanliness at a level a 5* hotel would be envious of.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Gill Briggs
Posted: 24/03/16
An excellent short trip
Overall rating: 4 stars
Gill Briggs
Visited: March 2016

Travelled from Font Romeu in the French Pyrenees to spend a couple of days skiing with the SCGB in Soldeu. Had a great time skiing with Rob Palmer and a good gang of other SCGB members. Grandvalira is now a very extensive skiing area with plenty of easily accessible and not too scary off piste. The higher skiing seems quite cold and exposed when it is windy, but there are some nice runs down through the trees in Soldeu.
Will definitely go again next year.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Brian Allcock
Posted: 24/02/16
Soldeu 2016
Overall rating: 3 stars
Brian Allcock
Visited: January 2016

Soldeu-Grandvalira has a good amount of skiing to keep you busy for a week.I skied most of the resort with the club leader there being only three guests all of a similar standard we were able to cover the whole resort. unfortunately the snow conditions were poor but that's skiing sometimes. Given that I still had a good time with good company and given better snow could see the potential for some good off piste.
I stayed in the Soldeu Maestre although the room was pleasant enough after skiing there was never any hot water and I was charged 2 euro's a day to store my ski's in the hotel basement it being forbidden to keep ski's in the room.In 25 years of skiing this has never happened before.
I would like to thank Paul the club leader and my other companions for an excellent week
Many Thanks Brian.

Slopes:
2 stars
Accommodation:
1 star
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Jon Widdows
Posted: 18/03/15
Sunny week
Overall rating: 5 stars
Jon Widdows
Visited: March 2015

Our group of 10 (age 40+) adults have just come back from a stunning week in Soldeu. We had blue skies for the majority of the week and whilst a few slopes did become a bit slushy by the end of the day this was a small price to pay. Stayed in the Hotel Sport, food was excellent as was the service. Just a 1 minute stroll to the lockers and a couple of minutes more to the 6 man chair or gondola up to Espiolets.

We are fairly confident intermediate skiers and there were no runs that we couldn't tackle, the black World Cup Avet run back in to Soldeu being one of our favourites. Signage on the slopes was also excellent.

Most time was probably spent in the Grau Roig area and El Tartar, some really great long red runs and quick lifts.

Apres centred (as I'm sure it would have done with most people) around Fat Alberts, the Harp and the Aspen Bar, although we did have one good evening in the Source Code bar. Prices are reasonable, probably the most we paid for a pint was 4 euros in Fat Alberts - given the current euro/sterling exchange rate this was ok.

Snacked and lunched on the mountain, again this all seemed reasonable. There are quite a few 'fast food' style options if purse strings are tight.

We won't be returning in the near future, too many other ski resorts to explore, but we had a great time and thought the whole resort was excellent.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Eren Mehmed
Posted: 10/03/15
Great week in Soldeu
Overall rating: 5 stars
Eren Mehmed
Visited: March 2015

A fantastic week skiing with Rob Palmer and the rest of 'the gang'! Mostly good conditions throughout, save for some cloud cover and wind. Rob has a great knowledge of the Grandvalira region and took us to a number of hidden gems thriughout the week. Will definitely be back next year (for the 10th time!)

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Zoe Giles
Posted: 09/03/15
Another good year in Soldeu
Overall rating: 5 stars
Zoe Giles
Visited: March 2015

This was our 5th year in resort and is still offers more than enough to challenge most people whilst offering excellent ski tuition for those wishing to learn. Great resort. We will be back...again! Apres ski in Soldeu is generally a pub (irish) feel with live music often by the ski instructors. Always good fun and resonantly priced. Try to travel in from the spain side, the french side is more likely to be shut in snowy conditions.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Gordon Best
Posted: 23/02/15
Mr Gordon Best
Overall rating: 5 stars
Gordon Best
Visited: February 2015

Another great week in Soldeu
Had a great week skiing with Paul who is Skiclub leader

Thanks Paul

Regards
Gordon Best

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Billy Canning
Posted: 09/02/15
Great week
Overall rating: 5 stars
Billy Canning
Visited: February 2015

Back for first time in 3 years, and sorry that in the intervening years I chose Austria, as everything about this resort is excellent. The slopes are excellent and varied, the food and accommodation are all (everywhere I ate and stayed) of a high standard. The après ski scene is well catered for, with drink prices comparable to home. The weather did not behave in early week (white out, and minus double figures) but the glorious conditions of the last 3 days more than made up for that. Met the leader who was extremely helpful and when (not if) I go back there I will definitely take the tour with whoever is leader then.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Tom Duxbury
Posted: 27/01/15
Tom Duxbury
Overall rating: 5 stars
Tom Duxbury
Visited: January 2015

Just to add to Richard's comments. Another terrific week in Soldeu (staying at Hotel Bruxelles) with varied weather and piste conditions we had the grand tour of the whole skiable area with Robert leading. Everyone challenged but kept safe and the occasional run avoided in the higher winds from off the ridges. We shall return next season.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Richard Mcdonald
Posted: 26/01/15
Soldeu Revisited
Overall rating: 5 stars
Richard Mcdonald
Visited: January 2015

Back here again after 8 year break (skiing France/Austria/Italy) and it is much better than we remembered.
Travelled with Crystal Ski, thanks for the discount Ski Club, and stayed in the Soldeu Maistre.
Social skied with Crystal reps for a couple of days and used the Ski Club for 3 days.
Just wanted to say thanks to Robert Moore (ski Club Leader) for his excellent guiding, patience and all round entertainment. We had a great time - Thank You.
Great resort, looking forward to going back soon.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Oliver Smith
Posted: 26/01/15
Another great week in Andorra
Overall rating: 4 stars
Oliver Smith
Visited: January 2015

I've been to Andorra at least 4 or 5 times now and I have loved it every time. This is the 2nd time I've been to the Grandvalira region and I highly recommend it. The ski area is huge and the links between the resorts are brilliant. The pistes are well maintained, even when snow is lacking and there are some good, safe off piste areas. And there is a massive benefit of having a Ski Club leader in the resort (Robert Moore was brilliant!)

We stayed in La Pleta de Soldeu Apartments. Its just outside the village (10 min walk uphill), but they provide a free shuttle to the bottom of the gondola. The apartment was extremely well equipped (proper oven, 4 hobs, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine) and very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. Food shopping in Soldeu is limited so I recommend going to a neighbouring village or, if you have a car, stock up before getting there.

Obviously, the biggest benefit is the prices in Andorra. Food and drink is very well priced. And there is a decent amount to choose from, and all of good quality.

I booked independently this year flying from Gatwick to Barcelona with Norwegian (REALLY GOOD) going out and Easyjet coming back. Apartment on Booking.com. Scheduled transfers with Novatel (managed to get on an earlier one when arriving). We booked all the extras with Andorra Travel Service (transfers, passes and lessons). I recommend using them for ease and knowledge - we found out about them at the Ski and Snowboard Show in London.

Overall, a great week skiing in Andorra on a budget. Yes, it can be awkward getting there, but it is well worth it!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Carl Atkinson
Posted: 16/01/15
Sporting Time in Soldeu
Overall rating: 4 stars
Carl Atkinson
Visited: January 2015

Currently in Soldeu, had a big dump of snow all day today 16th Jan, well over 100mm. Pistes were very varied, most in good shape but every now and then you would come across a bare patch or ice. This new snow will help though, looking forward to another powder day tomorrow. Staying in the Sport Hotel, excellent as usual with great access to the resort. Best skiing is over in Pas de la Casa, get over there early and enjoy.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Ken Ozwell
Posted: 10/04/14
Another Great Week Skiing with the Ski Club Rep
Overall rating: 5 stars
Ken Ozwell
Visited: March 2014

What can I say that hasn’t been said before – it was a brilliant week for the 3 of us skiing with the Ski Club Rep Rob Palmer again. Although most of the normal off-piste was fairly well tracked out or hard crust, Rob still managed to find some fluffy stuff for us in amongst the trees. Last year at Soldeu was an adventurous week, skiing well outside of my normal comfort zone in my first week of off-piste. That was very enjoyable so this time it was more of the same but I felt I could relax and really enjoy the snow. Even the steepest blacks felt like they were just steep reds, Slalom took a bit of a hammering this time with ease.

The village was still the same, friendly and fairly cheap when compared to places like France. The new venue for the Social Hour was now the Harp and is the best place to meet up again with all of the local Brits and other nationalities we knew. Getting away from the Euro fizz was easy as Fat Albert’s was our 2nd favourite pub, selling Belgium Beer on draught.

We stayed in the reasonably priced Himalaia Hotel courtesy of Neilson’s which was a very nice hotel with good food in the centre of Sodeu. Although the buffet food could be a bit cool sometimes, this was the same in any of the hotels; time it right and it was replenished just right. It must have been good as Rob ate there a few times. The rooms were quite large with a fridge and microwave plus ensuite; beer in the hotel was the cheapest in the village as well. Travel was via the small Spanish airport of Lleida which had a shorter transfer time than any other airport (3 hours with a ½ hour stop); you don’t get any problems with snow blocked roads either using this route.

Although I would prefer to go elsewhere next year as we have been coming here 2 years running now, I certainly wouldn’t be against coming back here, just to ski alongside Rob again All in all, a great week – thanks Rob, possibly see you next year.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Having a mid-morning coffe outside Pessons
Having a mid-morning coffe outside Pessons
Top of a lift somewhere...
Top of a lift somewhere...
Paul Bailey
Posted: 19/02/14
Paul Bailey
Overall rating: 5 stars
Paul Bailey
Visited: February 2014

How do I thank Robert Moore enough for a fabulous day today, what a wonderful day full of skiing without the stress of looking at ski maps my wife and I have had today. Robert was a mine of information of all things Soldeu. My only regret is that we have not been with Robert earlier this week but We will be ever present for the rest of our weeks ski break, see you in the morning.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Joe Tauro
Posted: 14/02/14
Awesome day skiing with Robert in Grandvalira
Overall rating: 5 stars
Joe Tauro
Visited: February 2014

First trip to Europe to ski (24 hrs from Sydney!) and picked Andorra because of the size of the ski area, good snowfall while still getting some sunny days. Really had no idea of what it would be like but exceeded our expectations, some powder days, sunshine, great accommodation and good food.

Best part was doing some skiing with Robert the local leader for Ski Club GB. Robert's knowledge of all things good in the Grandvalira area made our holiday twice as good. We got to ski from one side of the resort to the other, with interesting commentary and good humour from Robert, even when the cricket came up. We would never have found some of the runs we were taken on or seen some of the natural beauty of this area, and everyone's skiing ability was taken into account. Skiing was only part of it as Robert pointed out all the best spots for lunch or a quick stop, coffee at the restaurant at Pessons or lunch at the hotel at Grau Roig, both superb.

Andorra was a real surprise packet, a great ski holiday, but the other hidden secret is a day on the slopes with Robert, thanks a lot mate we all had the best time.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Coffee stop
Coffee stop
Jennie Tarsnane
Posted: 01/02/14
Brilliant snow
Overall rating: 4 stars
Jennie Tarsnane
Visited: January 2014

We started our skiing in Soldeu 23 years ago and have been back several times since then experiencing the modernisation of village and slopes over the years. We have stayed in a variety of hotels but favoured the Sport Hotel for the food and ambience. However this year we stayed at the Sport Village and greatly enjoyed our stay there. It was much warmer than we expected in the public areas and we loved the room layout; having the extra door between the bedroom and bathroom cut down on any noise level from the atrium (very accomplished piano player) and the soundproofing is excellent; no noise from other rooms at all .Food and service superb. On the mountain they have revamped the two nursery slopes restaurants for the better; a Pasta Box restaurant is definitely far superior to the original burger and chips outlet and there is still a fast food /coffee bar in both. The flooring paintwork and seating have all been revamped and there is now a champagne bar with white sofas etc outside plus a DJ!! A couple of new lifts and glorious snow, often powder on the pistes made our holiday. if you haven't been back to Soldeu for some years try it again and it's still great in a whiteout as you can ski thro' the trees.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Robert Thomas
Posted: 29/01/14
Staying in Pas de la Casa
Overall rating: 4 stars
Robert Thomas
Visited: January 2014

Review on the Pas de la Casa page with some information on skiing to Soldeu to join the Ski Club Leader.

Slopes:
4 stars
Neil Pettitt
Posted: 10/10/13
Skiing with the Rob Palmer in Soldeu
Overall rating: 5 stars
Neil Pettitt
Visited: March 2013

I took a holiday in March to Soldeu, Andorra, I was a little apprehensive due to the lateness of the season and reviews saying about the the lack of snow and height of the resort. How wrong could I have been, the snow was amazing even in the brilliant sunshine. Some places the fencing along the side of the piste was completely below the snow, off piste was also fully accessible.

Then there is the amount of skiing, i was not expecting the range of pistes and the distances that can easily be covered in a short time. The amount of off piste available within easy access of the slopes is amazing, and if anybody tells you that there are no expert runs in Soldeu don't believe them, some of the black runs are truly challenging.

The whole experience was made even more enjoyable by the fact I skied with Rob Palmer, a ski club rep, for the whole week. His knowledge of the resort and the secret stashes we managed to find really was the icing on the cake. Rob not only knows the resort like a local but he also knows many of the people in resort, this means Rob can take you to the best slopes at the best time of day. This really increases the enjoyment of a skiing holiday, to find little areas nobody has been and ski runs that have fresh snow and no crowds.

I have included a video of my friends and I skiing with Rob. Thanks Rob for a memorable weeks skiing, see you next year.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Steve Johnson
Posted: 08/12/12
A great place to start
Overall rating: 4 stars
Steve Johnson
Visited: March 2009

Unless you were lucky enough to be "born on the slopes" we all have to start to learn how to ski/board somewhere. There are many good ski schools throughout Europe but the advantage of the Soldeu ski school is the number and quality of primary English speaking instructors. This is particularly valuable if you are a late starter or have a nervous skier in your group. We got the basics in Soldeu 10 years ago and have now ski's many times in the alps and Canada but have also returned several times to Soldeu.

Add the top quality tuition to the extensively linked area of good slopes for beginners and intermediates, great grooming of the slopes, massive snowmaking capacity, good sun, good hotels, good food, lively but reasonably civilised apre and site it all in a tax haven so the drinks are very reasonably priced and you have to look a long way to better it.

OK, It's not as "chocolate box" scenic as much of the alps, and the airport transfers are a bit long, but the confidence gained by learning how to ski well, with an instructor who can speak the subtleties of your language, is invaluable.

A great place to learn, and to return to from time to time for a "refresher" as we hope to do this year.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Mark Hallam
Posted: 07/12/12
Almost don't want to give away the secret
Overall rating: 5 stars
Mark Hallam
Visited: January 2012

Having skied throughout the alps for several years we tried a last minute trip to Soldeu in 2008. Wow, sat here in December 2012 with 3 trips in the next 3 months to look forward to. We havent been back to the overpriced, over Russianed, over hoorays Alps (in fairness we used to ski Courchevel and the 3 valleys). Andorra isn't especially mad and daring but with 200 Km of piste you can cruise all day, some excellent little restaurants and some AMAZING ones, the refuge de Pesson is worth the visit to Andorra by itself and the Merlot in Soldeu is the best value restaurant in Europe right now!
Regards the ski clubs claim to boozy resort for youngsters....sorry, don't know who writes this but it is obviously based on some historical event. Soldeu is steady family friendly entertainment, hardly any teens though. Pas is a bit noisier but you would have to lead a sheltered ski life to call it boozy and rowdy.
The best thing is that these myths continue to be spread so the majority of Brits and Irish are beginners, you are basically skiing with locals, no loud mouth hoodlums or hooray Henry's popping champagne corks as they ski backwards.....it does however have quite a mad Spanish snowboard scene.
This will be my 10th visit, always had snow although it can get warm later in the season, excellent grooming and often clear sunny skies.
Heaven.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Sarah Crockford
Posted: 25/03/09
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Sarah Crockford

Excellent ski school and ski area suited to all levels of skier at a value for money price

You can easily avoid the boozy crowd if you want to

We stopped in the hotel village which is truly excellent, though a little pricey

Beginner areas get crowded so head elsewhere asap, the queues can be 15 minutes on the nursery slope drag lifts

The staff in the ski hire shop by the main gondola are surly and miserable with poorly maintained equipment but you don’t have to stay long

I know this sounds like an ad for Soldeu but we had such a fantastic time and can’t wait to go back

Jon Webster
Posted: 12/02/07
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Jon Webster

Just back from a week's skiing in the Grandvalira staying at the Hotel Himalaia. Area was approx 60% open with very few black runs (two I think) open. The sun shone & we had some snow which made for a good week's skiing. We had to use the free bus & taxi on one occasion to ski the whole area. Compliments to Andy, our ski rep, who guided us around to enable us to ski everything that was open.
More snow is needed & I am disappointed that I missed out on many of the more challenging pistes which currently only have a dusting of snow & look unlikely to open this season. On the plus side there is very few people there & the pistes are, in the main, very quiet.
Lunch at the Bruxelles in Soldeu & The Husky Bar in Plas is recommended, avoid the mountain fast food although the mountain coffee stops were good!
The Hotel Himalaia was good & did the job although if I go again it looks like the extra cash for the Hotel Sport will be worth it.

Posted: 27/03/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just returned from another great trip to Soldeu. The mountain and the village facilities are well up to scratch but the outstanding facility is the ski school. Not just for the beginner but a great place to improve and progress whatever your standard. (A lot of training and testing of ski instructors from all over Europe goes on there in March and I believe that it is the only place in Europe where ski instructors can be trained in the Canadian teaching system). Their "workshop" classes are fabulous for the intermediate to advanced skier, with well qualified native English speaking instructors and they are very reasonably priced. We'll be back!

Posted: 16/03/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

This was our 4th ski holiday in a row all being taken during Feb half term. Having been to Italy last year we returned to Soldeu and stayed in the Nordic Hotel. Everything about the holiday was perfect. Plenty of snow and the Nordic Hotel which is situated at the El Tarter chair lift will take some beating. I would without doubt recommend the Nordic, good food, spacious, pleasant staff and skiing to the door means just that except one lunchtime I had to remove my skis and walk approx six feet to a table !

Posted: 15/03/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

We stayed in the Hotel Nordic, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Hotel was clean and very comfortable with good heating that allows wet clothes to dry out overnight!! The location of the Hotel could not have been better with Ski in and ski out a chair lift not even 50yrds away. The facilities of this hotel we could not have asked for more. A good swimming pool and Sports bar that was occupied by mostly children, the only down side that we could see was that the food was not as hot as we would have chosen, but with the altitude we find that it is hard to obtain HOT food anywhere. Not being a brilliant skier myself (hubby being better) we found that the slopes were ideal for beginner and intermediate skiers and allowed us to improve without risking life and limb. The weather could not have been better, sunshine all day long with the snow falling at the end of our stay. Coach drivers were excellent in the snow and realy put you at ease driving on some treacherous roads. The downside of travelling was the long 4 hour coach trip to resort. But Andorra has improved 150% since my husband first went there 20 years ago!!

Posted: 27/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Feb Half term 2006. How do they do it in Andorra? People were worried on the way up as there was an apparent dearth of snow and none had fallen for the prior two weeks. But arriving in resort there were super conditions right down to resort level. The piste maintenance and grooming is quite simply excellent. Had two, hour long, private lessons with really good instructor Liam. He improved us both in very short time and absolutely transformed my wifes turns. Consequently we skied for miles all over the Grand Valira on increasingly challenging runs, which gave us a real sense of achievement from the holiday. Hotel EuroEsqui between Soldeu and El Tarter had great amenties and good food. The mini bus service to the slopes was so convenient, literally door to Gondala, that it was easier than walking the 100/150 yards in ski boots when we stayed previously in the middle of Soldeu. Although prices have risen it is still very good value compared to many other parts of Europe. We flew to Barcelona rather than Toulouse this time and although the transfer is slightly longer the whole experience was much more pleasant and interesting. Soldeu's terrain may not satisfy the extreme needs of the hard core adrenaline junkies but that just makes it less crowded for the rest of us to cruise around in the sun and enjoy, so fine by me. Will be returning later in season with the whole family. Can't wait.

Posted: 17/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Returned to Soldeu (29/01/06) after a 5 year gap. Stayed at Piolets Park (the new one just down the hill) and found it very good with excellent food, worthy of 4* rating. There is a minibus shuttle to the gondola, but the walk is hardly arduous and only takes 5mins. Hotel lacks the charm and character of Sport Village where we stayed before. The new linked Grandvalira ski area is fantastic, good variety of runs of all levels, though the blacks aren't that steep for advanced skiers. Never queued for a lift all week until locals came out on Saturday - then the link chairs between Pas and Soldeu get really busy. If you like to clock up the miles on intermediate terrain there is plenty to occupy you for a week exploring this piste map.

Posted: 16/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just got back, great resort plenty of apres ski (with bands). Village has a band at 5pm, Avalanche, Aspen and Fat Alberts have bands on at six and 10. Apres karaoke in icberg on tuesdays and fridays, FAB!! Nice big ski area, cheap happy hours, sunshine good apres and night life (selected nights sometimes). Dodgy food in hotel (mine anyway) but never mind. Luke warm and I didn't ask what or where most of it came from. Ended up eating out (but cheap food everywhere so no probs.

Posted: 15/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

I am returning to Andorra next week. I went to Soldeu Jan 2002. The skiing was excellent and it should be even better now that the whole area is under one ski pass. I stayed at the Sport hotel and at the end of the week a large percentage of the guests were sick ( I luckily escaped). It made for an horrific journey back to the airport for some people. I am unpleasantly surprised that this seems to be a common occurence from feedback. Is it not about time that tour operators research this and act upon it.

Posted: 09/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

I Have been skiing in Soldeu for about eight or nine consecutive years and despite the superb expansion into Pas de la Casa and the very noticeable improvements in the lifts etc, the volume of Irish and English visitors hitting the resort has taken a gigantic nose-dive.This is reflected across the board in all the bars and especially among the attitude of the locals who seem to be blaming the tourists for their lack of tourism and have adopted a rather horrible attitude. Finding a live band for apres ski is almost impossible (even in Fat Alberts) which has gone from being jammed all week, in years to past to maybe 20 punters on a big night! The huge increase in prices over the euro years is mainly to blame and so is the unfortunate incident where the tour bus got snow bound last year. I went to Soldeu with the intention of maybe buying an apartment there, and sadly came back saying maybe we will return in six or seven years. Maybe.

Posted: 08/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Went to soldeu in Jan this year for the first time with parents. My parents had a great time the blue runs were very long (even though we are intermediates we thought that the blues were good enough for us). I hurt myself on the first day and got extremely bored in the town as the only thing we saw that you could do during the day was a spa. But got to ski on the last day so at least I got to ski one day.

Posted: 01/02/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Soldeu is a fab place this will be my 5th visit in as many years. Last/this year we are staying in the Soldeu Maistre Hotel which is a 3* hotel. It is quite new and very clean, you have an excellent choice of food and the rooms are v comfy. The slopes are great in my opinion and especially the lift system for boarders, the lifts are a little slower here then in france with no suicidal drops at the end of them!! The nightlife in Soldeu is great, there is almost a live band everynight somewhere around. Highly recommend seeing the lads playing in the Avalanche as they are fab.

Posted: 18/01/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just recently returned from skiing in soldeu (08-01-06)have to say the ski instructors here were excellent and my own instructor Dave from Leeds was second to none absolutely brilliant with the patience of an angel as a beginner. Great trip, good night life as well fat alberts and the Aspen 2 great pubs.

Posted: 06/01/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

My family and I have been to Soldeu for the past 2 years and have had a really enjoyable time. The weather on both occasions was incredible and the quality of the intermediate runs were superb. Our party which consisted of beginners was spoiled for choice on the long reds and blues and we got amazing mileage over the weeks that we stayed there. The ski school is excellent with friendly English speaking instructors who go out of their way to help you develop in your own time. I have stayed at the Bruxelles which, I believe has some of the best food in the resort. All in all a good family resort which caters for all levels.

Posted: 06/01/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Jan 2006 Just came back after staying at the hotel Euro ski. Lovely clean hotel, but only ever warm food. Bus to lifts was a pain as it could only take 8 people at a time. The skiing was great though, with fab blues and reds. The hotel has its own ski hire shop on site and was really good, but we had to hire from a shop in El Tarter and it was a pain to get them and they were very poor skis. Mountain resturants were very dear and quite horrible, with no atmoshere at all. Next year it's back to Austria with Crystal holidays.

Posted: 03/01/06
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Stayed at the Everlington Hotel and it was ok. The service was poor but the skiing made up for it. The slopes are far too advanced for youngsters(3-12). It's great for adults though. Hotel Euro Ski is highly reccommended. We gave it a visit and it is something else.

Posted: 11/01/05
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

My family and friends have been to El Tartar in Soldeu , Andorra for the past 2 years and we are going again this year. we stayed at the Hotel Nordic/Aparthotel Del Clos which is a ski in ski out resort.the chair lift is just out of the hotel door and the hotel is new and clean. it offers excellent food and the children have plenty of facilities. the first year we went to ski school but last year we had private tuition and it was excellent and we are going to do the same this year. as a group we had no complaints at all about any aspect of the holiday our only complaints were regarding the time changes of flights. otherwise we cannot wait to go again.

Posted: 10/01/05
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

First time ever on a ski holiday and I thought Soldeu was great. We stayed in the hotel Bruxelles, and unlike most of the reviewers, none of us came down with any sort of tummy bug at all. According to my instructor from the snowboard school, the Bruxelles is renowned as having one of the best restaurants in the resort. Food was piping hot whenever served and staff were happy to offer alternatives should you not like the choice. Onto the important stuff - ski and snowboared school both excellent. Loads of British instructors, and all the others seemed to speak great English. Weather was good, unfortunately there was no fresh snow while we were there so the learner slopes were a little tricky as they were quite icy. It was really sunny so those wanting a tan were sorted! Great choice of runs for beginners and intermediates, not sure about advanced. My advice is go to Soldeu to learn or on a cheap deal before it gets too popular!

Posted: 14/09/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Have visited Soldeu 3 times in the last 2 years, always had great skiing and excellent weather and snow conditions However lift pass and ski hire prices are getting more expensive!

Posted: 10/08/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Went to Soldeu in March this year. Had an excellent week. The ski school was fantastic and no problems with lift queues at all. Weather was pretty good with clear skies on all but the last day when conditions were pretty poor. Stayed at the Hotel Bruxelles - a really friendly small hotel with good food although the breakfast buffet was extremely limited. Went in a group of four and no-one experienced any of the "dodgy tummy" problems mentioned by others. Am seriously considering going back in December but not sure what to expect snow-wise...?

Posted: 15/07/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Went on our first ever ski holiday to Soldue in January this year (25/1/04 for 1 week.) Skiing wasn't too bad, but fresh snow mid week helped a lot. Stayed at the Piolets Hotel whish was good with it’s own pool and gym, but the food wasn’t great, still very plentiful and very staff friendly. Also it is close to the gondola and bars (Don’t drink the water or ice in drinks as one of our group went down with a dodgy tummy bug) The Ski school was very good, though go for the early lessons as the slopes get chocker in the afternoon. Everyone in the group improved by the end of the week. Private lessons aren’t too expensive and speak very good English. We had a mixed group and everyone enjoyed themselves, and already planning next trip.

Posted: 02/02/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just got back from a week (25th to 1st Feb 04) in Soldeu and we were very pleasantly surprised by the resort. Generally the slope conditions were excellent and we had plenty of snow to keep to the runs in good condition. The runs on the lower sections back to the resort get very busy (effectively known by many as death valley!) and if you are an intermediate or advanced skier just take the black run (avec) back to the bottom to avoid all the beginners traversing or falling on the slopes! The best runs and snow are above the mid station - take the gondola from the resort, turn left at the top down the blue run to the six man chair lift to access the better part of the resort. Although we didn't use the ski school people we spoke too were impressed with it and a lot of the instructors are English or Kiwis and many of the local ones speak very good English! It is advisable to only drink bottled water (etc) and no one we knew fell ill. As an intermediate/advanced skier I certainly found enough to keep me amused for the week. Some of the run gradings are a little dubious in places - blue runs with very steep drops (on a par with the reds and blacks) in the middle of them! We would definitely recommend the resort and will certainly go back there again.

Posted: 26/01/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just back from my third visit to Soldeu. As usuall the runs were in pretty good condition just a little icy on the 24th Jan. As noted the food is best described as warm!! unless you go to the Villager Pub (reserve a table at lunch time) where the food is piping hot and good value. Ignore what's been said about ski school, the teachers still speak english as they are mainly from Australia & NZ.

Posted: 23/01/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Soldeu 4-11 January 2004. This was my first time snowboarding abroad and found Soldeu wonderful. Fresh snow the day before we arrived and clear blue skies for 4 days. Slopes were perfect for progression from beginner to low intermediate like me. Stayed in a beautiful apartment and though the drink prices may not be any cheaper than the UK the usual Spanish hospitality prevailed and every pub was very friendly. Recommend Fat Alberts Pub and Resturant for anyone a little more mature and it's quite easy to enojoy both snow and off-piste without being caught up in crowds of package-holiday youths being guided round the town by Tour Reps!

Posted: 22/01/04
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

have just come back from el tarter which for those who don't know is just over a mile up the road form soldeu. with regards to comments regarding off the slopes conditions i think u got it wrong. certainly don't drink the local water - buy bottled, avoid the gippy tum in the first place. no raw sewage was observed all week. As for warm/cold food at restaurants the one we tried served it hot and the standard of food as good as any decent pub in the uk. with regard to the snow/skiing conditions well one is up to the weather gods. It snowed on the very last evening but otherwise was dry and sunny. the piste was hard and icy; for a beginner like me a bit tricky. further up the slopes especially on the south facing slpoes conditions were better. my two kids had never skied before but became quite competent in reaching a one star and a two star standard by the end of the week. my main gripe is that the spanish seem to ski as they drive! on the whole reallly enjoyed myself and would recommend soldeu el tarter

Posted: 22/12/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

As a full-time resident of Soldeu, I have to warn you that the authorities
seem to have lost the plot. Lift prices have been racheted up to 31euros a
day (just 6 less than Val d'Isere and 3 valleys). This entitles you to 200
miles of piste - a third of fore-mentioned Alpine resorts, and a vertical
drop of only 700m, again a third of what can be had in the Alps for little
extra expense. Also, Soldeu did have a reputation for being UK friendly
with English ski-instructors. This is no longer the case as many of my
friends have not had contracts renewed to be instructors this season -
reason being that the ski-school now only takes on Spanish speakers as the
vast majority of skiers are coning from Barcalona. I have to concur about
the comments about food hygiene. I personally worked in an establishment
where spare food arriving back from tables would be re-used. As most
owners only rent their restarant, they seem to have no interest in
building up a reputation. If complaints come in and the Andorran authority
closes the place down, there is nothing to stop the owners renting the
place next door! Anyway, the main gripe with the resort is about the
abandonment of its cheap and UK friendly nature. The 'poor mans Alps' just
got expensive.

Posted: 28/08/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Went to Soldeu February 2003, staying at Sport Village Hotel. Snow conditions great, very few queues away from the central area (though some queuing for the gondola up the mountain in the morning). Wide range of ski slopes, though more geared to beginner/intermediate than advanced. Some of the grading of slopes a little bizarre (scary red runs and fairly easy blacks). Hotel - good room, fine food and service BUT (AND THIS COULD BE IMPORTANT GIVEN OTHER COMMENTS) both of us had quite bad diarrhoea for the last
couple of days - no vomiting thankfully and not quite enough to stop us skiing but the food hygiene does seem to be in serious question across this resort. Also - limited nightlife, cheap alcohol at supermarkets ("tax free"), few restaurants. Would we go back? If it weren't for the food poisoning - definitely, as it is ? - maybe

Posted: 24/03/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Dont trust the Doctors to read an x-ray at Canillo medical center Andorra. The sprained wrist was broken and the torn knee ligaments was a tibia fracture that needed a bone graft! This was diagnosed using the original x-rays back in UK. In hospital for a week. Not back to work 'til June.

Posted: 24/03/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

just returned from soldeu stayed at sport village hotel, found hotel and staff excellent. skiing absolutly excellent apres ski 1st class definatly return next year 17 03 03

Posted: 11/03/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Stayed at the Sport Village Hotel 16-23 Feb. Excellent all round hotel. Ski instruction and conditions best I have seen. Although crowded for 1/2 term, no huge queues. Only snag 3 out of 7 of our party went down with tummy troubles - seems to be a feature of Soldeu?

Posted: 12/02/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

I have been on several holiday's to Soldeu since the mid 90's, and cannot knock it as a resort. There is no better ski school for beginners, intermediates and one to one tuition for those wanting to progress to advanced.

Posted: 12/02/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Recently returned this last weekend from Soldeu, Andorra. Fabulous snow and weather conditions. Stayed in Hotel Piolets. (Never again) Food definetely not up to 4 star standard, staff indifferent, room service chaotic and to cap it all most guests went down with food poisioning. Meals were buffet style. If you did not like the choice on offer, it was tough luck. There was no other alternative for those who are not great meat eaters. I do not know how they can market this hotel as 4 star standard. More like 2 or 3 star in comparision to other 4 stars we have stayed in. We complained to the tour representative and hotel management, but they were not interested. Our holiday was spoilt by the food poisioning outbreak, and we are still suffering now with having to take time off work upon our return. I have been to Andorra on several previous occasions without any problems,but I would definetely not frequent this hotel again.

Posted: 04/02/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just got back from soldeu weathers been terrible huge dump of snow with high winds forcing 2 days of no play on them there hills. Saying that, its a great place and im off to book again for next year. Stopped at the hotel naudi great hotel food can be a bit cold though. Only the weather a let down, I just wish I was going next week to enjoy the tons & tons of the stuff.

Posted: 29/01/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

If you are thinking of being enticed by the extremely good prices in Andorra, don't be. I have visited Soldeu twice and although the food in the hotels is of a high standard, for half the week I was lying in bed being repeatedly sick along with the rest of my party and 80% of the hotel's visitors.

Posted: 06/01/03
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Went to El tartar Feb 2002 stayed at the Hotel Del Clos had a great time food accomodation and skiing/boarding great for all ages and abilities our family party had everything from 3yr old starters to teenagers on short ski's and Boards and middle age parents on anything including trays! Would recommend this resort and hotel to anyone we go back this Sunday 29th Dec 02. See you there!!!

Posted: 12/12/02
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Last season the conditions in Soldeu were generally good. Après ski in Soldeu was very good, loads of bars/nightclubs/restaurants - everything you need. Having skied most of my life I didn't really find Soldeu the most
challenging resort for skiing. However there were areas that I discovered that had superb off-piste/backcountry skiing - don't hesitate to ask.

Posted: 12/12/02
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Went to Soldeau in Feb 2002. The skiing was supurb. This is my favourite skiing resort with it great restraunts and super apres-ski i would recommend it to the young at heart!!!

Posted: 19/11/02
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

This December marks the third year we have been to Soldeu. We are staying at the Hotel Sport Village, which sits right over the gondola station,and is also close to the very good ski depository. The skihire facilities are topnotch, with very helpful staff, and a good system for getting people through quickly and easily. All skis there are also now carvers! The runs are excellently pisted, and the ski school is fabulous, with friendly english speaking instructors who really know their job. The Sport hotel to my mind is the best in town. Its tastful well appointed rooms are a joy to be in, and if you request a mountain view its superb! The runs are good for beginners and intermediates, although I would say to all beginers, don'[t attempt the run down to the village. There are too many people on it, especially at the end of the day, and it becomes quite frightening. All-in-all, a great ski resort. GO!

Posted: 02/07/02
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

My husband and I are used to skiing in Austria and skied in Zermatt two years ago. We went to El Tarter in January 2002 and had a brilliant holiday. We stayed at the Hotel Del Tarter and the food, accommodation, sevice was brilliant. The skiing is very uncomplicated, easy, relaxing and the snow was fabulous. In fact we have booked up again for this year. Our opinion is that it was great value for money and we are glad we went to El Tarter.

Posted: 01/05/02
Soldeu - Grandvalira review
Ski Club member

Just been to Soldeu. Stayed in the Edelweiss apartments attached to the Sport Hotel. 18 of us had a fantastic time. Sport hotel had lots of space in the lounge for us all to sit and tell our ski stories. We are desperate to go back next year. The food was good - just what you needed after a day skiing. It was half term, a little busy, but still not many queues due to the high speed chair lifts. Just a brilliant holiday resort!

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

tour operators in Soldeu - Grandvalira

Neilson Holidays
12% discount for Ski Club members
Up to 12% discount for Ski club members on all Neilson holidays!Ski holiday savings for 2016/17...
Travel Club Elite
6% discount for Ski Club members
Travel Club Elite are an Awarding Wining Travel Agent. We are an ABTA member (82689) of 30 Years and...
Elegant Resorts
5% discount for Ski Club members
Elegant Resorts, the UK's leading luxury tour operator, provides exceptional client service and...
Lagrange Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
Lagrange specialises primarily in self-catering ski holidays to France, featuring accommodation to...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...
Skiline
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Line is an independent ABTA travel agent specialising in ski holidays and in particular catered...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Crystal Ski Holidays
£50 discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now