Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    
If you've been to Cervinia and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Brian Crow
Posted: 30/03/17
Bella Cervinia
Overall rating: 4 stars
Brian Crow
Visited: March 2017

"Breuil-Cervinia" is the little used official name but Cervinia sounds far more pleasant.
At 2050m it's pretty high & at the Klein Matterhorn 3883m you may experience a bit of headache & breathlessness? (1883m ascent!!)
March 19-26 & we got a mixed bag weather wise.
Days 1 & 2 were those "Bluebird" days that we rave about. The next 4 were far more challenging with white light, snow, winds, lift/piste closures.
We skied with Ski Leader Hilary Napier & it was a great social experience that I'd recommend. Thanks Hilary!
We actually "downgraded" our lift passes from "Area" to local because that saves €70 p/p (Note based upon Cervinia side costs NOT buying from Zermatt) & you can upgrade daily for €34 p/p. Do the math; the links across can get closed quite regularly. The group only went over twice. The "advantage" of the local Cervinia pass is that it includes 2 away day lift passes locally which actually cost IF you have the area pass!!!! Pila is a €20 bus fare with Crystal. Sadly not enough people pre booked & our away day was cancelled :(
Apparently the Hotel Edelweiss also do shuttles to other resorts Gressoney/Pila/Courmayeur? but please check with the Ski Leader
NOT that there's not loads of skiing in Cervinia never mind Zermatt & Valtournenche.
The scenery is absolutely stunning......
Italy is way cheaper than Switzerland so watch where you choose to stop & eat if you go across to Zermatt. It can be a bit of an epic & unpleasant experience getting back over to Cervinia from Zermatt.... A balance between skiing longer & queuing for a cable car &/or enduring 30 minutes on 2 T bars? Not at all pleasant on a breezy day when the cable car may close & it's blizzard like..... The conditions can change very quickly!
Good googles really are a "must". Cheapos won't cut it in variable weather. Low & Bright light required!
Spring conditions meant heavy churned up porridge nearer the resort; not ideal for end of day tired minds & limbs.
LOVED IT I'd return.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Klein Matterhorn view
Klein Matterhorn view
Matterhorn Cervino & SCGB group
Matterhorn Cervino & SCGB group
Matterhorn Zermatt side
Matterhorn Zermatt side
Plateau Rosa area
Plateau Rosa area
Jane Bremner
Posted: 26/02/17
Great place to ski
Overall rating: 5 stars
Jane Bremner
Visited: February 2017

I must have been very lucky, having arrived on 12th February after a week of snowfall! My husband and I enjoyed a week of sunshine and almost no wind and also few lift queues. The variety of slopes in Cervinia and Zermatt suited our needs and there were very few lift closures. The slopes were well groomed and generally well marked which was useful as this area was new to us. I can recommend the White Angel Hotel (situated just outside of the village) which was splendid in all respects. The resort itself was pleasant and the local people very friendly. I spent a day with the ski club representative (Howard) who guided a group of 9 of us around Zermatt, he was clear with his directions and gave many helpful hints, he gave us a fantastic and challenging day of skiing, it was lovely to be guided around a new resort. I would have not hesitation on returning to Cervinia but I do appreciate that on this occasion luck was on our side with respect to the conditions.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Gerry Mccready
Posted: 13/02/17
Gerry McCreay
Overall rating: 1 star
Gerry Mccready
Visited: February 2017

Forgot to say, I Learned an invaluable safety lesson: poles on sides of pistes have a longer reflective length on the right side, short on the left.

Slopes:
1 star
Accommodation:
1 star
Eating:
1 star
Apres:
1 star
Value for money:
1 star
Gerry Mccready
Posted: 13/02/17
Gerry McCready
Overall rating: 3 stars
Gerry Mccready
Visited: February 2017

First day total closure due to high winds - should have bought appropriate insurance! Lifties had disappeared before 11am, however weather improved by lunchtime, but still nothing on. Two other days Zematt linked closed, and when eventually opened, still very windy and bitterly cold. Headed over to Valtourneche, but chose wrong day with poor vis, 12-16" of wind blown snow on unpisted runs. Not for the feint of heart! The boarders in our group enjoyed the powder though. Return journey on the drag lift was very hairy, with sympathy going out to a few fallers. Choose your day very carefully if planning heading over. Lots of unpisted runs through the week, so if you love the corduroy, better to give this a miss. Loads of powder for boarders and experts. The international pass does not cover other Aosta resorts, so only buy local pass and upgrade daily if planning Zermatt. We did have one epic day of skiing, though this entailed numerous stairs and long walks, form lifts. Almost more than we would have done in a full week in the 3 Valleys! Links in the resort are poor, and from our group of 9, none of us are likely to return and would not recommend this resort to anyone below advanced skiers/ boarders. Extremely limited for beginners, and less experienced. Had booked carving lesson with Ride Em ski school and got cancelled last minute as they did not have their full 8 quota. At € 45 Euro a pop, bit cheeky. Make sure your accommodation is handy for the lifts, including coming back at night. Huskey sleigh ride was reported to be excellent. Scenery was outstanding, with he Matterhorn in full glory. Would maybe try other Aosta resorts less exposed to wind, and piste bashers who like to get some overtime in!

Slopes:
2 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Terrance Brant
Posted: 30/01/17
terry 591005
Overall rating: 5 stars
Terrance Brant
Visited: January 2017

Ed as ski club leader superb
Group mix for me marvellous as intermediate skier support was spot on to tackle runs especially on zermatt day that I would have found easier piste and not progressed
Anyone who has been good on the reds and u want to push on. Go to cervina meet up with the ski club and have a blast.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Paul Chidley
Posted: 06/07/16
Paul Chidley
Overall rating: 3 stars
Paul Chidley
Visited: December 2015

1 day visit from La Thuille,with my partner &11yr old granddaughter our freinds Anne & Jason and their 2 daughters 11&16.Did the same 1 day visit last x-mas.
As always a stunning view of the Matterhorn(its just a big rock)according to one of our ski party.
Cervinia was as most of the Italian resorts struggling for snow,this said what they had natural and artificial was well groomed and obviously being well looked after.As we had teamed up with another couple who visit most years,we dropped over onto the Swiss side and it proved to then be an easy transition back over to the Cervinia side.
The youngsters decided to try out the snowpark and had a wonderful time being videoed over the jumps despite not always being successful with their landings.
Food is reasonable on the mountain or down in the town.
Runs on the lower elevations can become very crowded particularly mid-afternoon.
We are considering a x-mas week here,as the area combined with Zermatt would provide for a full weeks skiing,which i am sure would be excellent in improved snow conditions.This said i am bearing in mind that historically Cervinias lifts are prone to closure in high winds.If we dont make a full week we would certainly return for the day.
Everyone had a great days skiing.

Slopes:
4 stars
Martin O Sullivan
Posted: 01/05/16
Spring break
Overall rating: 5 stars
Martin O Sullivan
Visited: April 2016

Stayed at hotel Mignon in centre of village superb food and wine half board package 17/4 - 23/4, plenty of snow above 2500 metres, bit slushy on thelower runs to village as week went on,great skiing high up ,had 4 days of clear skies myself and my ski buddy Mark as mid 50s novices had great confidence building time on long blue runs before easy reds as Week progressed,by the end of the week had done the Reds from Klein Matterhorn to cime bianche.Springwildlife; spotted massive Golden eagle and at about 9000ft an Ibex feeding on Spring shoots coming through a few bare patches.skied into Swiss side 3times lovely runs to trockener steg, will be even better when new cable car to plateau rosa completed, mountain restaurants on Italian side great value and even had a bombardino with brandy and espresso superb apres ski pickme up at plan maison .All in all Cervinia is great for improvers with many runs for all levels and the scenery with the Cervino(Matterhorn) above you is breathtaking,highly recommend .

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Lincoln Swann
Posted: 07/04/16
Links back from neighbouring resorts are tricky
Overall rating: 3 stars
Lincoln Swann
Visited: April 2016

Link back from Valtorneche side is a long steep button lift over the Cime Bianche, or local bus service from the village - 20 mins but check timetables as they are infrequent.
Return from Zermatt is 2 T bars up to Plateau Rosa, or a Gondola to the top of the Matterhorn. Others at our hotel had queued for over an hour to catch it though.

Snow conditions were good for late season, slushy low down (below about 2500m) but that is to be expected. Low cloud / fog brought visibility down to a few meters on several occasions, retired to the nearest restaurant for a coffee until it cleared.

We stayed at the Sertorelli, which runs minibus services to & from the lifts, many hotels do, otherwise expect a fair walk.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Matthew Ponting
Posted: 31/03/16
re: Garry Hebblethwaite's daily report (31st March )
Overall rating: 5 stars
Matthew Ponting
Visited: March 2016

We've had a great time at Cervinia in mixed weather largely due to our excellent Italian ski school instructors.
Unfortunately we were on the T-bar back up from direction Zermatt to Plateau Rosa when the Swiss lift operators closed it because of the wind, or rather ran it in bursts of 100m rather than telling us all to get off! After an hour of stop-start in a howling gale we finally made the top of the T-bar a little chilled! Only at this point did they start the "mini-bus" piste - basher service! Another useful life experience to remember when complaining about the cold on the bus queue back home.
Note to self: always carry a balaclava as well as snood and scarf!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Posted: 05/03/16
Let's end the week with a Saturday blizzard
Overall rating: 4 stars
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Visited: March 2016

Friday was good. Fresh snow good conditions everywhere and only flat light after 2pm high up.
Found a great circuit for a day based at Cervinia 2. Up gondola to Plan Maison before 10am, avoid queue for Cime Blanche (not yet open) take chair to Matterhorn , lovely long run red/black to Cervinia base up chair to plan torrete ski 3 + 3bis to gondola take it and 3 chairs to Swiss side do some cold T bars to Pateau Rosa. Ski on red 7 35 and 1 all the way to valtournenche!
Up to Salette and ski above it. Great lunch at Foyer des Guides home via red 37 7.00 and 3 bid after another gondola ride.
Mountain weather not done with us yet so big snowfall this Saturday morning. Conclusion you take your chances daily at Cervinia. When it's good it's very very good.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Posted: 03/03/16
Resort closed March 3
Overall rating: 1 star
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Visited: March 2016

Morning wind on Cervinia.it forecast at 51kmh NW meant full resort full day closure. In 50 years of skiing I have only seen this on Cairngorm where it was entirely justified. Here it looks like a day off for resort operators. Ski club weather puts wind today at 15 / 25 kph which is what it looks and feels like at village level at midday. The closure even included valtournenche a valley completely protected from NW winds. It is unbelievable that the lower chairs and gondallas could not be operated from 1130 onwards.
I understand this winter has been particularly bad for full resort closure winds here in Cervinia. Has the resort operator got the close easily bug? Is there any ski club GB information on which resorts close more often and why?

In contrast yesterday we got almost to Zermatt and back in weather that deteriorated all afternoon. Must have been a tough day to require a "close everything " day today!
Grossly unfair on the week long stay resident skier who only finds out about whole resort closure on www.cervinia.it which was posted after 10am!

You can buy insurance to cover resort closure with your lift ticket for €3 each day and even if you have your own and have never had a fall you need to buy this because the resort appears to be implementing full mountain closure all day quite often!
Suggest be aware and ski elsewhere in bad weather if you can especially if wind is forcast from N W and above 30 kmh.
Wish us and all the Cervinia trapped skiers "Good luck " for the rest of the week!

Slopes:
1 star
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
1 star
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Posted: 01/03/16
Where have all the lifts gone?
Overall rating: 3 stars
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Visited: March 2016

1st March! Lovely clear sky today not forecast but welcome. Big crowds trapped in Cervinia gondola lifts early morning! Lots of locals out only for the sunny day! No access to tops till way after 11 am! Managed to escape over the windy hill top to col superior del Cime bianche around 11.30 and go valtournenche , spectacular empty Valley out of wind and very few skiers. Great lunch at Baracon above Salette. Another Euro 13 spectacular local meal day special!
Comparison with 2004/5 map on our last visit shows 5 lifts have gone,( one above Baracon) (one at cieloalto) (3 above plan torrete) skier numbers have gone up , snow trap days with wind or heavy snow have increased and Cervinia can quickly become "a trap" . Suggest beware bad weather days ❄️

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Posted: 29/02/16
Leap year day blizzard
Overall rating: 4 stars
Richard Carmichael Of Carmichael
Visited: March 2016

Reports that Cervinia is closed because of heavy snow are wrong. Great ski day in new snow with variable visibility plenty choices. Up Plan Maison Cime Bianche piste 13 to cieloalto piste 22 also pistes 29 47 7 all great! Lunch stop Baita Cretaz great special 13 euro!
OK no Swiss links and no views but ski day was not an intermediate cruise.
More snow tonight and forecast all week so let's get powder practise and new goggles?

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Martin Emerson
Posted: 19/02/16
staff are very good though!
Overall rating: 4 stars
Martin Emerson
Visited: February 2016

forgot to say the staff in the europa are excellant though and very helpful

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Martin Emerson
Posted: 18/02/16
recent hols
Overall rating: 4 stars
Martin Emerson
Visited: February 2016

got some much needed snow unfortunately it didn't know when to stop so many white outs but overall good skiing. Stayed at Hotel Europa as it was very good last year. Sadly it's had a refurb and all the sound absorbing soft furnishing curtains/carpets/ alpine wood and character has been ripped out replaced by ..well by nothing at all just a pre stressed concrete shell hence any ambient noise ie: conversation is echoed & amplified so becomes a wall of annoying noise particularly in the restaurant and bar, not very cosy, not very alpine, and no open fire!! Very minimalistic Leggo/Ikea basic type furniture. Also bedroom cleaning kept being missed completely so at the end of the day on returning after skiing tired out to our room, it was exactly how we left it at 9.15am!! had to time your showers to get hot water nevr any when most required. We stayed there last year and the food generally was better.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
2 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Ian Bibby
Posted: 20/01/16
Cervinia 27th Dec - 3rd Jan 16
Overall rating: 4 stars
Ian Bibby
Visited: December 2015

Travelled out to Cervinia on the 27th Dec, with family and friends and some reservations over the lack of snow (not snowed since 21st Nov).
Although we did not see any fresh snow until our last day of skiing, the Piste maintenance team in the resort were doing everything in their power to ensure that the pistes were in a reasonable condition....they must be commended on their efforts.
Although, not all the pistes were open, we still had enough skiing available to occupy us over the week. Main issue was the queues for the cable car in the morning. This was compounded by people being bused in from other resorts and it being New Year week.
We stayed in the Europa Hotel, booked via Crystal. The hotel has had a major revamp in all the public areas and restaurant, and the food and service did not reflect some of the reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor. The bedrooms, although clean tidy and nothing to complain about, just need the same revamp given to the public areas. Overall I thought the hotel was good and the staff friendly.
Apres Ski, the CopaPan is worth a visit, especially when happy hour is on !!!
We also ate out one night and Restaurant Sotto Zero is worth a visit.
Will definitely return to Cervinia.....hopefully when there is more snow.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Darryl Wilkinson
Posted: 22/12/15
Cervinia 22 Dec 2015
Overall rating: 4 stars
Darryl Wilkinson
Visited: December 2015

Current snow conditions, can get down to village via runs 5 & 7 only, better conditions on the top and if you go down Swiss side to Swarzee.
Snow making facilities on lower slopes had little effect, run to Valtourenche was open on Monday, not sure today, but only snow on the lower part of slopes to Valtourenche is the artificial snow from cannons on run.
GB Ski club recommended ski school very helpful for wife & kids and even extended wife's 3 day instruction to 5 day and allowed full 10% ski club discount to be applied.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Keith Rollins
Posted: 08/04/15
Excellent for Intermediates - when it's open!!
Overall rating: 4 stars
Keith Rollins
Visited: April 2015

This is an excellent resort for beginners and intermediates with plenty of easy blue runs. A lot of the reds are also easier than in other resorts. This is only the second year that our two sons (6 and 8 yrs) have been skiing and they managed every blue run that we tried and one or two reds.
The only downside is that the resort appears to be prone to closure due to the wind. We were there over Easter and the Cervinia area of the resort was virtually closed for the first three days.
However, when the sun shines and the wind drops, this is a very good resort with a modern lift system.
The resort itself is compact with many good and friendly restaurants. Try Bar Falcone for simple pasta and pizza, Grivola for more refined dining. Ice Bar at the bottom of the slopes opposite the Cretaz lift is excellent for a first apres ski beer if it's a sunny day, if it's snowing then head to The Dragon.
We stayed in Hotel da Compagnoni, an excellent B&B hotel in the centre of the resort, just five minutes from the Cretaz lift.
We hired equipment from Nol Ski (club discount) and enjoyed excellent service.
We would return again if we can get over our worries about losing days due to the wind.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Stephen Morris
Posted: 24/02/15
Sunshine, Snow and our own Guide
Overall rating: 5 stars
Stephen Morris
Visited: February 2015

Booked a late one for Cervinia. Booked here as the snow was forecast and it had a Ski Club Guide. We were not disappointed. Around a meter of fresh snow on the weekend followed by clear blue skies. Its been around 15yrs since I was last in Cervinia. Lots of improvements with the lifts. Max wait time for us during half term week was around 3 mins!!!
I would also like to thank Gary our own Ski Guide for the week. Gary was the perfect guide. He took us to all the best runs and also the best restaurants..He also now has a rating on all the ladies toilets thanks to my wife... I can not thank Gary enough for one of the best ski weeks we have had in our 20 plus years skiing......

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Kfir Cohen
Posted: 27/01/15
Club-Med Cervinia is amazing!
Overall rating: 5 stars
Kfir Cohen
Visited: January 2015

Best food, great hospitality, good rooms and a beautiful ski site!
---------------
Warning:
Note that me and my friends have hired our skies at "La Genzianella Sport" (not related to the club).
Except for the fact that the equipment was not in a good shape, we had a very BAD experience.
When we came back to return our skies, the guys in the store were very aggressive and I would say even violent.
One of my friends had a bit of dirt on the skies. The guy was furious and took some of the dirt and put it in my friends' hand!
Another friend had his skies with few scratches on them. The guy at the store was almost out of control. He has reacted aggressively. We have never faced such behavior in any store. I'd recommend not to get there even for the price they offer.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Mervyn Counter
Posted: 26/01/15
Weather reports
Overall rating: 5 stars
Mervyn Counter
Visited: January 2015

Ignore the ski club weather reports, they are fiction. Today the club was reporting 15 cm snow at Cervinia today, well not the Cervinia I was skiing in all day, not a flake of snow.

Not withstanding the Hans Christain Anderson fairytale weather reports, the resort is great. Lots of variety and you don't need a mega mortgage just to get a glass of beer on the slopes.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
John Duvall
Posted: 14/04/14
Poor Conditions for Beginners
Overall rating: 1 star
John Duvall
Visited: April 2014

The conditions last week (6th to 13th April 2014) were ice early on then quickly becoming slushy. Both were very dangerous for my wife and I as beginners. And judging by the nos of accidents for better skiiers too!
Is there any way that someone can recommend how we obtain more honest ski conditions before booking a late trip?
How can websites still be saying 'great piste conditions'?

Slopes:
1 star
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
David Bainbridge
Posted: 31/12/13
David Bainbridge
Overall rating: 5 stars
David Bainbridge
Visited: February 2013

Also visited Feb 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997 and 1996 - so you get the picture? I quite like it! Linked to Zermatt it is an Intermediate Skiers paradise! The altitude makes it snow-sure but it's exposure makes it vulnerable if the wind gets up. Out of all my many visits I've only been kept off the slopes by bad weather on 3 occaisions! The scenery, in the shadow of the Matterhorn is spectacular. The food in the resort and on the mountain is excellent. A good range of hotels but my favourite is the family run Excelsior Planet. A bit pricey but the food alone is worth every penny and the rooms are bigger than the average ski hotel with plenty of space to spread out all your kit!
The town is compact with a range of good bars, my favourite being The Coppa Pan on the main street. A great atmosphere, warm welcome and excellent service!

Cervinia is one of my favourite places in the world! That's why I keep going back! :-)

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Eleanor Curran
Posted: 11/10/12
Cervinia
Overall rating: 4 stars
Eleanor Curran
Visited: February 2011

We've been to Cervinia twice and really enjoyed it. We stayed in the Petit Palais and it was ideally located just across from the lifts with a ski back option on a red slope.
The first time I went with my husband and the second time I went with my three adult children and two of their friends[one a beginner] The slopes are wide and not too difficult and the resort itself is lovely.
The first time we bought the lift pass which included Zermatt but it wasn't worth it as the top of the mountain was closed all week except for one day. It would have been cheaper to just get the local lift pass and buy one day in Zermatt which we did the second time.
Cervinia can be very windy and both trips we had a day with no skiing because of the high winds. The wind tends to whip the snow off the slopes which makes it crusty. Having said that though my daughter's friend [29 years] had no difficulty skiing back down the red slope by the end of the week. She had a very small class and made huge progress and loved her instructor.
We will definitely go back again as the Italians are very friendly and there are no huge queues like you get in France.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Posted: 28/08/09
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I spent a week in Cervinia (8-15 August 09) skiing and walking. I travelled there independently: flight from LGW to Turin Caselle and from there a coach to the city centre. I then took a train from the Porta Nuova station to Chatillon (the nearest railway station) and from there a coach to the resort itself, Breuil-Cervinia. Same (but in reverse) for the return journey! I later found out that there is a direct coach service from the airport or from the Porta Susa station to the resort... oh well!


I did an internet search for accommodation and contacted my hotel, the Breithorn, by telephone to make a reservation. I paid 35 Euros a night for B&B. The room was comfortable and breakfast was simple. Best of all was the view from my balcony - Monte Cervino (the Matterhorn) in all its glory! The hotel was a very short walk from the main drag, with its narrow, cobbled street rising to the start of the mountain.


Restaurants and bars are plentiful, but not at all cheap - a two-course meal with a beer or small carafe of wine and coffee would cost around 40 Euros. My two favourite places were the Trattoria del Breuil (regional specialities) and Jour et Nuit (pasta and meat).


As for the skiing, that all takes place up on the Plateau Rosa at 3480 m. I hired my skis from the Genzianella shop, next to the ski pass office and main lift. I got a fair deal on the boot and ski hire (90 Euros for 6 days) and he even knocked off 10 Euros because the lifts were closed one day due to very heavy rain the night before. The ski pass was 178 Euros for 6 days, which I think is steep considering the range of skiing on offer at that time.


To get to the ski area you take 3 lifts and disembark on the Swiss side of the mountain. The lifts on the piste run from early morning until 1pm and the other lifts run until mid-afternoon-ish, so there is plenty of time for a leisurely lunch before going down if you want. There are 2 or 3 blues and 4 or 5 tasty reds (all served by T-bars) - good enough for 3 hours or so of skiing. While I was there, the Croatians, Austrians, Russians, Slovenians and Swiss all had their ski academies there. They were virtually given a free hand to push in the queues as they fancied, which I didn't approve of and would let them know if one of them tried to hijack my T-bar!


As for my afternoons, I would change into my walking gear and just walk off in whichever direction took my fancy. It is easy to get off the beaten track and find yourself crossing raging torrents and slipping down scree. One day I walked around and then down under the huge dam at Lago Goillet (I later found out that it would be a red run in winter - and a steep one at that).


All in all, a marvellous week with skiing, walking, ideal temperatures (c. 27 degrees C), good food and friendly Italians. Oh, yes - I nearly forgot the cattle drive through the town!

Posted: 18/08/09
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I've been to Cervinia several times both as a solo traveller and with parties of three up to seven people. I discovered the Edelweiss hotel in 1999 and have stayed there on every occasion due to the nice rooms , great staff and good food and wine. (Travelling with Thomson, Crystal or 'self book')


I'm an old(ish) geezer of 51 now so I go more for the 'motorway' skiing between bars rather than the extreme stuff which some of my younger mates prefer. The pass covering Cervinia, Valtournenche and (of course) Zermatt covers all tastes and abilities.


Apres ski is well documented as being somewhat laid back rather than manic but you can still drink and dance well into the wee hours if you want - plenty of late bars and restaurants. The Dragon, Cop-Pan and Yeti seem to be pretty good - all have a good apres-ski mood.


New lifts mean you don't need to tramp up the Plan Maison stairs but can simply step onto the high speed 6 man lift at Cretaz to get you up the mountain.

There's a recession on and we're all skint so 7 of us booked the Edelweiss with Thomson this time - see you there January 10th , 2010!?

Andrew Collen
Posted: 07/05/09
Cervinia review
Andrew Collen

We spent a week over Easter 2009 in Cervinia and had possibly the best ski holiday I’ve ever been on (I am a veteran of 12+ trips including Whistler, Val Thorens, La Plagne). We were a group of six intermediate and advanced skiers/snowboarders and were pleased to find great snow and spring sunshine all week long. The slopes aren't challenging for any level above beginners but we enjoyed cruising down without having to worry about anyone being out of their depth.


We stayed in the Apartment Centro, 50m from town and 100m from the lifts which was pretty good for the price (€1100 for the week in total) and in a great location for access to slopes and nightlife. We were pleasantly surprised to find the slopes almost empty at times and never had to queue for a lift for more than 5 minutes (and that time the lift needed running repairs) with an average of 3-4 chairs going before it was our turn.


We flew to Turin airport and then, instead of getting a €250 taxi, we used public transport to get close to the resort. We took the bus from the airport to Porta Susa train station in Turin and then a train from there to Chatillon which is about 30 mins from Cervinia. There is a bus service from Chatillon to Cervinia but by that stage the wine had started to kick in (we're Irish) so we got a taxi from there to resort. The bus from the airport and train to Chatillon were €5.50 each and the taxi from Chatillon to Cervinia €euros for 6 of us, so we pretty much saved 50% on getting a taxi the whole way and had great banter in the process!


We found all the Italians we met very helpful and willing to try speaking English as we had no Italian. The nightlife was quiet enough but it is what you make of it and we dominated our adopted bar (the Yeti) for several nights including two nights of champions league football on the big screen and then drinking afterwards. The staff in the Yeti were brilliant and we got on very well with the locals/Italians (it helps when you're happy to sing "Italia, Italia" with them at the top of your voice and big up their national rugby team).


The town isn't the most picturesque but I wasn't there for the sightseeing, although the views from the slopes are breathtaking. All told we had a brilliant time and will probably return on another occasion, my only complaint being that the skiing is too easy and not varied enough. Ciao!

Posted: 12/05/08
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

After a trip 10 years ago, I could not wait to get back to Cervinia, but was a little disappointed when I returned in early February 2008. The skiing was again unbelievable, with stunning snow conditions and fantastic views, but the accommodation and food were disappointing. We spent a week in a timeshare unit above town (Residence Cervinia Due), which was pleasant, but a hard 20 minute walk from town, and there was no shuttle service available. We also spent a couple of nights in Hotel Edelweiss, which was overpriced and very ordinary. We spent one night in Hotel Miravidi, which although only 2*, was superior to Edelweiss. The food available on the slopes was not only pricey but also not good – in fact, I had several meals I would classify as inedible. Would I go back there? Maybe for the skiing, but not the hotels or food.

Posted: 31/03/08
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

We were in Cervinia for the last week of March and have to say for pure skiing it was fantastic and made better for the wonderful attention we had from the Ski Club rep Sarah who we skied with for three days out of six. It made a wonderful difference, especially her knowledge of the mountain restaurants in Zermatt! The Ski Club group was great making my 14 year old hugely welcome and happy to include him on off piste trips his old man bowed out of.


The resort was ideal for intermediates like myself and aspiring upper intermediates like my son. I would suggest that the section over in Valtournenche should not be ignored – there are great wide and easy reds to get the ski legs back into gear on the first day. Runs 7 and 37 on this side are great reds and even though it was the Easter holidays, my son and I has the experience of being the only people on 37 mid-morning one day. The rest of Cervinia above Plan Maison is also very good, if a bit more crowded with the ski school hordes. There are hardly any queues if you avoid the morning rush when the ski schools are getting under way.


If you're a half competent intermediate, then it's worth getting the area ski pass that includes Zermatt. Because we were with Sarah we spent a lot of time in Switzerland including two absolutely fantastic trips up to the Klein Matterhorn at almost 3,900 metres. One minor grouch - the Swiss side includes some unexpected narrow mogul stretches while the narrow black run down to Furi is also a bit of a challenge - more because it's so narrow than the gradient. Overall for skiing, an absolutely brilliant week - despite being forced off the mountain one day when the winds blew a gale and closed the lifts.


For food, its best to stay B&B as there's plenty of great eating in Cervinia for all wallet sizes. The Matterhorn (complete with eccentric owner) is great value and great fun. Also great value is the pizzeria across the road from the Skinol hire shop. Further up the price chain, Bistro de l'Abbe beside the church has fantastic food. On the slopes, the food is pretty standard but good fare - no real complaints. On the Zermatt side, one gem (thanks to Sarah's contact book) is a great restaurant low down on the red 41 between Riffelberg and the Furi lift - fantastic rosti and even more fantastic views of the Matterhorn.


The only downside was the Petit Palais hotel that Crystal rates as four stars but is more like two. The rooms are ok, if there was a rather small shower, but the food was not up to scratch – my son and ended up eating out at every meal, including breakfast. The towels should be also be changed more than once in the week in a four star hotel. The only thing in the hotels favour is its location above the Plan Maison gondola.


Would I go back to Cervinia? Definitely but staying on a B&B basis and eating out in the local restaurants where you can get excellent Italian food.

Posted: 17/03/08
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I visited Cervinia for 2 days when staying in Zermatt although I could probably have covered the area in a day, if not less. It is true what they say; the pistes are beautiful with long runs, especially the one from the Zermatt into the village. The area is not great for the advanced skier however as the blues should really be classed as greens and the reds as blue runs, although it does give you a chance to marvel at the stunning views while skiing along.

The restaurants are some of the best I have ever eaten in, and reasonably priced too, although we had been visiting the Zermatt ones for the whole week where prices are a lot steeper. Overall, a fantastic resort for beginners or intermediates and a definite must for those who are visiting Zermatt.

Eddie Thompson
Posted: 06/01/08
Cervinia review
Eddie Thompson

Just back today 6th January from Cervinia. It has snowed for the last 4 days, conditions were excellent apart from the varied visibillity. Great cruising runs, perfect for our 3 young children with a bit (tame) off piste thrown in.

We tried 3 mountain restaurants, all of which were ok for snacking, but could prove a little pricey for a full meal. For food off the hill the Copapan restaurant in town very good.

Stayed in the Sporting Hotel in the centre of town, basic accomodation but great central location. Only 3 minutes trudge from Cretaz lifts.

Travelled with Thomsons, pretty well organised, decent new hire equipment.

Laurie Russell
Posted: 03/02/07
Cervinia review
Laurie Russell

Just back from a week in Cervinia starting 21 - 07. The resort has done an excellent job in managing to maintain the piste conditions despite high winds blowing fresh snowfalls. Most of the slopes are intermediate cruising. If you are looking for more challenging runs you will have to buy the pass to take in Zermatt. I can't advise on these runs as on each day we tried to get there the winds closed the connecting lifts so maybe caution needs to be taken as to when/if to buy the upgrade or just buy a day pass. We stayed at the Petit Palais run by Crystal. Despite the "4 star" rating in the brochure this is definitely a 2 star hotel. The manager Carol is trying her best to improve or maintain standards but without investment from Crystal she is on an uphill run with no lift!! The staff are all young and most are inexperienced i.e. they are there for the skiing and serving the customers is incidental. The food is OK but never hot. If you are looking forward to Italian fare go somewhere else. The saving grace is the bar. The accommodation is basic but I wouldn't call it clean or comfortable. Showers are small albeit new. Cervinia night life according to my 2 teenage children is non existant. We hired from Nolski using the 25% discount through the Ski Club scheme. The equipment was first rate but don't expect a lot of personal service these guys are always busy. The best run is Red7 from the top. This is one long blast with plenty of space to avoid slower skiiers. Blue3 and Red5 are a bit more crowded with learners so take care. The slopes at Valtournenche are motorway wide and have less traffic. Just be warned that to get back you have to deal with a long but "easy" drag.

Ian Harvey
Posted: 27/12/06
Cervinia review
Ian Harvey

My and my wife sent a lovely week 17th Dec to the 24th Dec in the Petit Palais in Cervinia. Last year the hotel got a lot of bad reports especially about the food. This year things have changed there is a new manager , chef and new staff. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was excellent. The hotel has been refurbished to a good standard. We would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody stopping in the resort.

Miles Drew
Posted: 13/11/06
Cervinia review
Miles Drew

Stayed at the Hotel Astoria 26th February - 5th March 06. The hotel is in a superb location being next door to the Plan Maison lift, some other hotels involve quite a walk to the main lift station. The hotel has recently been refurbished so the rooms were excellent as were the friendly staff. The only down side to the Astoria is the food which was very disappointing.

In town the Copa Pan serves excellent meals and the Dragon Bar is good for a lively night out, with live music and Sky Sports etc. The Cervinia Tea Rooms are well worth a visit for afternoon tea.....very civilised!

The skiing was good, plenty of snow, although the resort was closed for two days due to avalanche risk and the higher runs were constantly battered by high winds (although you should expect this at 3800m!!).

The runs down to Valtournenche are very pleasant. We got stuck down there after the last lift but a mini bus back was 35 euros between seven of us so no problem.

On the whole our group of 15 thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cervinia and there was something for everyone both on and off the slopes.

Posted: 18/04/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just back from Cervinia 8 - 15 April 2006. The skiing is as good as everyone says but Ski convenience does not exist here. From leaving the village to stepping onto the snow at Plan Maison there are 162 steps to negotiate plus a lot of uphill climbing in ski boots carrying skis and poles. If you want to go higher there are even more steps to climb. On the slopes you will find every lift will drop you off well below the next one. Looking on the bright side you will come back a lot fitter than you went. With typical Swiss efficency the sign in the cable car station queue on the Zermatt side said "Waiting time from this point 50 mins. and it was indeed exactly 50 mins. The Matterhorn seems to generate its own weather and for 4 days we could see blue sky all around but we were in cloud and falling snow.

Posted: 04/04/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Holidayed with clubmed from 2nd to 8th Jan. Loved clubmed and Cervinia. It was icy at times and we also had to queue for long periods of time. Would like to know from other skiers whether Feb half term and last week of March are bad for queueing.

Posted: 03/04/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

(21 March 2006) Just back from Cervinia after a great week with great snow. The area is superb; I would recommend it to any-one, especially those wanting to improve. The resort/village is great. Zermatt is interesting, if not a bit difficult to get across to and return from. Village is great Italian food, Bars and restaurants. A word of warning however, about the "Petit Palais". The Hotel itself was Ok. The breakfast buffet was good; Evening meals weren't so good.

Posted: 31/03/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

We are a family of four, two adults and two teenagers. We spent half term week in Cervinia and met Peter Schafer, who introduced us to the club. We had decided against ski lessons this year as we are all reasonably competant skiers. We found the benefits of meeting Peter and other ski club members greatly added to the holiday. we skied with Peter on 4 days and he took us skiing to places we would not of otherwise have been and attempted more difficult runs and faster skiing. I really felt my skiing improved whilst thoroughly enjoying the companionship.

Posted: 30/03/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just back from another great week in cervinia. Great sking for me in zermatt and great sun bathing for my wife at plan maison. Got 30% off ski hire at white rent , but endured the most unpleasant behaviour when i returned a pair of atomic sx ten`s i didnt like. Almost refused to change them and said the blame lay on my skiing or my boots! Fantastic pr! Hotel sertorelli even better with new fire in lounge greatly improving atmosphere-food fantastic.

Posted: 22/03/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I am just after getting back from Cervinia where I had a wonderful week of snowboarding - there is great variety available for all levels with access to Zermatt relatively easy. One point to note that it was a pain getting up to the very top of the mountain at Cervinia - u have to take 3 chair lifts - other than that it is a great resort - for the weeks stay, if u are an advanced boarder the international pass is a must - it gives u a much greater variety of runs. On the accomodation front I stayed at the "petit palais" and for what its worth I think crystal ski are doing a great job there - the rooms are very functional with good bathrooms facilities - the food and the wine were very good and the service excellent. I am not sure what people are expecting when they go on a package tour deal, paying £500-£600 for accomd, 3 course meals and breakfast, afternoon tae - I think the "petit palais" puts on a great show - with apres ski functions organised aswell - Some of the people who are complaining - need to stump up with the cash if they expect silver spoon service - and stop moaning about a team of people who are doing a great job.

Posted: 21/03/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just back from Cervinia after a great week with exceptional snow. Managed to ski everything and did all 3 areas in Zermatt. Village is great with wonderful Italian food, style and hospitality. The only problem was that we stayed in Crystals "Petit Palais" Club Hotel which was not anywhere near 4 star!! The breakfast was a good buffet except for DIY powdered coffee! The evening meals were amongst some of the worst plates of food that I have seen let alone eat. Stay clear of this accomodation but not the resort.

Posted: 21/03/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Three of us just spent a week there courtesy of First Choice and the Hotel Astoria. The snow conditions on piste were excellent. Cervinia has enjoyed good snowfall this year as it usually does apparently. Off piste, it was crust and crud where there was snow at all. Heavy wind had left many bare patches. The resort has many long intermediate and learner slopes but relatively little that would considered challenging by an experience skiers. There is some interesting off piste near the top of the Bontadini lifts but it is steep enough to present some avalanche risk so take advice and be careful. We found access to Zermatt to be better than had been suggested and we skied there a great deal. The Matterhorn Express telecabine is fast, efficient and has NO stairs. It reaches lots of great terrain. Hotel Astoria is right next to the main lifts ie. gondola and tele-cabine, most of the other hotels are near either drag lifts or a walk from either. It is family run and fairly friendly. The boss ladies speak some English. The package we went on was half-board, the breakfast was poor, stale bread and a modest selection of ham and cheese etc. The dinners were mixed so we ate out a bit. The apres ski was negligble - apparently it livens up after midnight but I was too tired to investigate that claim. The whole resort was quiet while we were there in mid-March and most bars were nearly empty by 9pm. I highly recommend La Nicchia as a restaurant. Excellent food and a very good wine list, and pretty cheap considering the quality. Copa Pan has excellent pasta and huge steaks. On the slopes food is mostly good, one of the restaurants at the bottom of the "Gran Pista de Valtourneche" was comedically badly organized - we waited 90 minutes for small bowls of pasta - it took 30 to get a menu, 30 to order and so on. Plan Tourette is better organized and had good food, and does not seem to be particularly busy. The Igloo Bar and Restaurant, 2/3 of the way down Piste 7, is great fun. The owner speaks good English and has liberal ideas of a measure of Grappa etc.

Posted: 27/02/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just returned from an excellent week ending 26th February. Massive amounts of new snow mean that the pistes are now in excellent condition. We were lucky enough to have four days under clear skies, with fairly low temperatures and no wind. A day's excursion over into Switzerland was most enjoyable. Special mentions for some excellent restaurants: Al Solito Posto, the Copa Pan, the Matterhorn and Le Blason, all of which were excellent.

Posted: 27/02/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

We stayed in Cervinia from 5th February for a week, at the Petit Palais hotel. This hotel is a Crystal club hotel to be avoided! The food was poor,with all the clients served at the same time. The pasta -in Italy!- was appalling and the wine could strip the enamel off your teeth.The reference to this hotel's cuisine in the Ski Guide is sadly out of date and misleading. The hotel administration did not have the telephone number of the local ski school and had no idea about useful local facilities like laundries, useful if you can't ski because the lifts are closed because of ferocious winds and there is nothing else to do! Closure of lifts meant that the option of an escape to Zermatt was impossible. When the lifts did re open, the soft snow had been blown off,leaving pistes like concrete. One redeeming feature in an otherwise disappointing holiday was the private instructor from the main ski school, located next to the Yeti bar, called Carlo [without a beard, there are two].He spoke excellent English and gave us the best teaching I have ever received.

Posted: 06/02/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Having returned from Cervinia the last week in january, I have to agree with earlier feedback, I also stayed in des guides. The breakfast was self-service off a 3ft square table which was very dry. I must say a very poor breakfast to start you off for a day on the slopes, I would suggest to the owners the use of the lounge. But otherwise a very cosy hotel. The quickest way up to the main ski area and avoiding a 10 min walk and those stairs already mentioned is a shortish drag lift(if your in the immediate area)and a early bit of skiing down a red which is well maintianed to the base of the gondola. Due to lack of snow in certain areas the lift pass including zematt is amust, sligthly disappointed as not beiing able to ski the full area due to conditions but would certainly return to try the remaining slopes. At the beginning of the week the Cervinia slopes were a little icy and crisp and hence the zermatt side become a welcome bonus with much better runs.Snow cannons were certainly in use to keep the italian side half decent, fortunatly a few inches of snow came our way and improved the piste and the conditions were great.

Posted: 31/01/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

We returned yesterday (29th January 2006) from a very enjoyable week in Sauze d'Oulx, staying in the hotel Sauze, the food was delicious, the staff very friendly, someone said to us that the rooms were a bit small, but that doesn't matter, the most important thing is that they were clean, we would recommend it to anyone. We paid for instruction in the ski school and had an extremely good instructor. There wasn't alot of snow at the beginning of the week and it was a bit icy, but the snow cannons were working most of the time until Thursday when it started to snow, and by Saturday we were skiing off piste in snow over a foot deep. We were also taken to Sestriere, and the conditions there were very good, some people were complaining that only a few runs were open, but to us they were very good, the worst part of that is the single chairlift we had to go on because it was so cold, but what an experience. We also saw a few people with injuries but it is only to be expected when doing such a sport as skiing, I myself twisted my knee, but it hasn't put me off skiing. We would certainly consider going to Sauze d'Oulx again.

Posted: 31/01/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Having just returned from Cervinia I have some mixed feelings about the week. First of all the reps we had were next to useless and only really served to provide details of when the coach home was. The hotel (Breuil), whilst comfortable provided only barely adequate meals. However, although the resort lacked fresh snow for the first few days, there was plenty of fantastic exploring to be had across to Zermatt. Later on in the week the snow was fantastic and the title of 'easy cruising runs' was well deserved and good fun with fresh snow.

Posted: 23/01/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just back from a great week in Cervinia. The snow coverage in the resort wasn't brilliant, less than half the runs were open but the link to Zermatt was open every day, so we spent most of our days in Switzerland, with lovely late afternoon runs back to Italy. Cervinia is a very scenic resort (the mountains not the village, which is not very pretty) with flatteringly easy red runs, though not very challenging for more advanced skiers. The blue run back to the village was very bumpy and icy, take the lift back if you're a beginner. We stayed in Crystal's Petit Palace which was well placed for the early morning lifts up to Plan Maison and you can ski almost back to the door. The food at the hotel was dreadful, either cold or in-edible. The 4-star rating of this hotel is misleading, it served some of the worst food we have experienced anywhere in the Alps and the general housekeeping was not up to scratch. If you are staying here, come for the skiing but be prepared to eat out most nights.

Posted: 17/01/06
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

We holidayed in Cervinia on the 8th to the 15th January 2006 and stopped in the hotel Des Guides which is right at the bottom of ski run blue 5. The hotel was Ok with small rooms but were clean and warm. The breakfasts were basic to say the least(bread rolls, ham, jams, coffee, tea, fruit juice) and served in the smallest breakfast room I have ever seen. The downstairs space was great with a warm atmosphere and a couple of friendly bar staff. The Crystal/Thomson office is attatched to the hotel so that was handy. The hotel is advertised in the crystal brochure as being 9 minutes walk to the gondola station but fails to tell you that you also have to climb a lot of steps to access the gondola. We found the best way was to phone a taxi for only 2 Euros each(a bargain believe me)the skiing was good but there was a lack of snow so some runs were shut. The afore- mentioned blue run 5 down to the resort was in a bad way at the end of the week which exacerbated an already hard run(it should be graded a red run)and was quite dangerous. Finally I should mention the food. We found a restaurant just down from the skating rink called SKI D'ORO which was cheaper than most places but served some fantastic food from a really wide selection of pizza's and pasta's to fillet and t-bone steaks. We even tried a meat fondue which was great.p.s. try the litre glasses of lager,they go down a treat.

Posted: 25/01/05
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

ski cervinia jan 8th 05 with brilliant sunshine the whole week, the lower slopes were a little patchy due to a lack of snow but up high were fine towards the end of the week it got a little icy but with the option to ski this swiss side from plateau rosa (where the snow was a million times better) this wasn't a problem.some nice red blue runs for begginers but hardly any blacks to challenge the more advanced skier although ther was one nice challenging back down on the swiss side at frugg. we stayed in the hotel sporting which altough was basic it was more than adequate a 3 minute walk from the main gondola and at he bottom of the main street. for apres ski let me recommend either the yeti or the dragon hotel both with seating at the bottom of the slopes for when the sun is shining with a good array of beers and wines (you cant beat a nice glass of chianti after a day on the slopes!) all in all i'd rate this resort as 8/10 and i would come back

Posted: 21/12/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just got back from this great resort (14th Dec) for my first time boarding. Stayed at the Meynet which was cheap and cheerful. The hotel is a family run place and the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Not much snow at the lower end but Plain Maison up was great for a beginner like me. Both red and blue runs have bits of flat so if learning you will probably be doing a bit of scooting in the first few days but apart from that no problems. A friend of mine had a bit of an accident on the first day and to be brought down by medics. It was an excellent and professional service which you would be glad to know something like this was in place if the unfortunate did happen. The main lifts were a little busy on the weekends sometimes requiring an 45 minute wait but weekdays you are straight up. The nightlife is a little quiet in December but then the season hasn't really got going so can't comment there. Will definately go back in the future.

Posted: 09/12/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Great resort for early season - just got back. However avoid Crystals Petit Palas - whilst the location is good and the staff nice the food has to be amongst the worse hotel food that I have come across- we gave up on the evening meals and almost on the breakfasts why go to wonderful Italy and have poor food - there is so much good food in the resort - suggest you stick to an Italian run hotel. Oh and the bathrooms were dire on the plus side get a good hotel and you will have a ball - v freindly place and some good runs. Chalet Etoile on the slopes is a great great lunch spot

Posted: 22/04/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Had a week in Cervinia end March/start April 2004. For me quite disappointing - everything seemed flat - I'm used to Canada. Got stuck on the top in a white-out and accidently skiied down into Zermatt, there are NO signposts back to Cervinia and in a white-out you can't see the track which cuts under the Zermatt t-bar and back to Italy. I'd missed the cable car back up to the top and my only option was a 4.5km T-bar. Luckily I don't doubt my skiing ability and although I managed it OK it was quite frightening because I couldn't find a sign-post anywhere and really didn't know where I was heading. A beginner could NOT have coped with that drag lift. How much would it cost to put up a couple of sign-posts or have a guide to help out in the case of white-out weather?

Posted: 14/04/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Had a great time last weekend, fresh snow, empty slopes (bit cloudy so people stayed away). Agree with food comments, very nice restaurants. Going for a longer period next time to explore across the border.

Posted: 23/03/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just back from Cervinia, 14th - 22nd March. Stayed in the Jumeaux, nothing special but more than adequate, beds small and hard, showers should be entered for the Guiness Book of records for smallest in the world, sound proofing poor! Skiing was as stated unchallenging but given the stunning weather and huge snow base thoroughly enjoyable. Ate in some great places but didn't note their names! Restaurant under the Grivola hotel very good, (watch out for the HUGE portions) very friendly, they provided a table at very short notice after we walked out of the Ymeltrob Restaurant after encountering the rudest maitre d' ever and a thirty minute wait to even be offered a drink. The Ymeltrob bar on the other hand is great and having been there early evening you wouldn't need to trouble the resturant staff since the bar snacks are so substantial. Best bar in town probably the one at the Copa Pan but watch out for their version of Happy Hour - order and pay for one but receive two! Copa Pan restaurant very over-rated and rather over-priced, food very bland. On the slopes the Etoile was very good as was the Baita Tournette. Shopping is rather disappointing but look out for the Alladins Cave type antiques / interiors shop in a huge basement off the main street. New club the White Rabbit being heavily promoted, some rather odd cocktails on offer and only Becks beer, but an interesting place...

Posted: 19/03/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just back from Cervinia (7-14 March) when the weather was very varied but we still skied all day every day, even in a white out you have a great feeling of security - you aren't going to fall off the edge of the mountain here. The resort proved to be everything we expected after researching this website, and a fantastic confidence booster for my wife. After prior correspondence with the Ski School of Cervinia we arranged some private lessons with a very patient instructor "Dino" who had Gillian skiing runs she would previously have never attempted, after 3 days. We stayed at the Petit Palais where the staff and food were great. The hotel is being closed for a major refurbishment this summer which should sort out the idiosyncratic plumbing. The only sour note was the local hire shop "La Genzianella Sport". Their priority seemed to be getting you kitted up and out of the shop as fast as possible, finding comfortable boots required return trips when they were quiet and some effort to persuade them that they did have other boots if they looked for them. Others had the same experience. The skis were in poor condition but worst of all on both pairs of skis the bindings were set correctly at the front but up to 3 settings too high at the back, fortunately noticed before any accidents were caused. The Sport Centre shop at the top of town was particularly helpful.

Posted: 15/03/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Cervinia 22nd to 29th Feb We managed to pick, reportedly the Coldest Week of the Season The Skiing is loads of fun with the slopes being so easy, a real point and go resort which has nothing tricky. However Woe betide beginners who think they have cracked skiing if they should go to trickier resorts where reds are actually red!!!! I agree with the comments the scenery is spectacular which makes up for a fairly unattractive resort ( Not the worst when you compare it with some of the French Resorts ) As always we Brits always have something to moan about, my biggest by far was the lift system which needs some serious investment. Slow chairs and drags, We have been spoilt having skiied the three vallees for the last 4 seasons where the lifts are quick and people are dispersed across the mountains very quickly Unfortunately everybody is funneled to one main lift area unless your prepared to queue for a drag lift out of the town area. This made for some long waits no matter what time we seemed to get there. The ski areas aren't linked very well on the mountain so you either got stuck in one area or had to return to the main lift Valtourneche was a lovely side of the mountain with loads of speed runs Finally We stayed at the Petit Palais with Crystal Ski, Food was fine, rooms comfortable enough but I would say the 4* was pushing it a bit, also a bit of a rip off if you wanted to use the whirlpool and sauna, 8 Euros each. Hope this doesn't put anybody off going to Cervinia, because if you've got the ski bug, its the snow that counts which this resort has loads of.

Posted: 13/02/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

We stayed in Cervina from 1st to the 8th of February. My first time in Italy and my first time skiing, WOW! What an introduction to the place and the sport. The views were Amazing! Stunning! Wonderful! The altitude means that the skies were crystal clear and you could see for miles. The weather as you may have guessed was brilliant - loads of snow, clear skies, sun and much warmer than I had been lead to believe, although I think there was a record for the warmest day all season during the week. The ski hire guys were really nice and when I got to ski school on Monday everyone was really friendly and the instructors were calm, friendly and very patient. I couldn't believe that my first day ever on a pair of skis would have me going up a button lift to ski down a slope - even if it was just a baby run! We were on the chair lift by day 2 and the end of the week saw me doing blue runs on my own!!!!! Thank you very much to my instructor Jennifer, an American Italian lady with the most amazing patience and the ability to explain where my feet/skis/body should be and what I had to do to get it all to work! Although next time I ski I will make sure I am fitter before I go - its hell on the knees, calves and thighs, more especially so for someone as unfit as I was ;-) The ski boots also weigh a ton. My (future) husband can already ski very well so he went over to Zermatt and did the long run down to Valtournenche as well as skiing a whole host of runs I can only dream about for the moment. The views from Plateau Rosa were amazing, and I was thrilled to discover you didn't need to ski to get there. You can get a gondola from Plan Maison and then the cable car the rest of the way. I wouldn't recommend the cable car for anyone who is claustrophobic though as it can take up to 140 people and they cram in like sardines with skis etc. I was relived to see that the whole thing is controlled by barriers that also have a weight thing on so, as well as counting bodies, so that the car cannot be overloaded. The barrier stops letting people through when it is at maximum capacity :-D. We stayed at Cielo Alto Hotel and whilst it was perfect for what we wanted, we got a very good last minute deal and I would not have wanted to pay anymore than we did. The hotel is a little dated and could do with a lick of paint and some cosmetic work in the form of carpentry and plaster work. The staff however were great, the views of the sunrise and sunsets from the dining room were great and the food was wonderful. On Chefs day off we went to the pizzeria over the road (the one in the far right hand corner) and it was brilliant - the best tiramisu I have ever eaten :-D We will definitely go back. Rumours about the concrete jungle are only partly true and the beauty of the area meant we weren't looking at the buildings for long :-D PS - have a hot wine in the Yeti at the bottom of Blue run 5 in the village 8-D and yes the altitude does affect drinking! PPS - the toilets! On the slopes and in the gondola stations you get toilets that are the hole in the ground type. They can be a bit tricky if you haven't used one before especially trying to get out of the ski gear as well. Ask around to find out where the others are!

Posted: 10/02/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just returned from a 5 day stay in Cervinia. The ski-area has one of the most outstanding natural settings I have ever seen!!! And the slopes are the widest I have come across and easy cruising throughout, relaxing indeed! Even in the weekend the lift lines were very acceptable! Unfortunately, I have experienced some major down-sides too. Out of 4 ski-days 2 were seriously disrupted by storm-force winds and 1 by fog, the storm resulted in the closure of all but the main Cervinia-Plan Maison lifts. Needless to say the links with Zermatt were closed too! We stayed at the 4* rated "Chalet Valdotain" Hotel, which was very expensive. We payed €210,- euro rm/nght for halfboard for a dark/depressing room in the basement of the hotel which was more like a room in a youth hostel than 4* accommodation! Very poor quality interior, TV didn't function properly, neither did the telephone, nor the heating!!! During our stay we only got half-warm water for our bath/shower! Confronted with our complaint about the room, the manager did absolutely nothing about these shortcomings, he didn't even apologize and these complaints were met with complete ignorence for the rest of our stay! Except for the first day, dinner was excellent. Breakfast quite limited.

Posted: 19/01/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

Just returned from a great holiday in Cervinia. Cannot praise the Petit Palais enough-great staff, great food (even for veggies!), great location, bedrooms all newly decorated (new bathrooms going in summer 2004) very helpful ski hire shop, excellent instruction. Only downside is the long walk back through the village to the main gondola if, like me, you cannot manage a red run!

Posted: 08/01/04
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I visited Cervinia in March with my partner (timid 2nd week skier) and
daughter (ist timer) and can't recommend the resort highy enough. The
Hotel Grivola was a joke with tired accommodation and atrocious food and
service although the apres ski bar downstairs was one of the best in the
resort. The skiing is excellent for beginners and early intermediates but
for more advanced skiers theres not much to keep you occupied unless you
head over to Zermatt, but even then you end up at the dull end of this
swiss ski mecca. My partner improved 100% and my daughter was skiing reds
parallel by the end of week and repeatedly asking to go to Switzerland for
lunch... problem solved as this year we're off to Saas Fee! All in all an
excellent resort with good facilities, snow and skiing. My advice would be
to get somecheap flights to Milan or Turin and book your hotel off the
tourist office website as it'll save you about half the price of a
package.

Posted: 02/04/03
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I've just returned from a great week in Cervinia (23/03/03 to 29/03/03). This is only my second time skiing and the resort was perfect to learn in. I don't know what tuition is like since we've taught ourselves. Skiing above Plan Mason was excellent, but everything lower was very heavy (like a big slush puppy). We stayed in the Petit Palais which is classified by Crystal as a 4* but is much nearer a 2*. The accomadation is very tired and in need of a refit. The breakfast was very limited with orange squash instead of juice and no real choice, evening meals were only a little better. Location is good though since it is by the main lift. Overall, I recommend the resort Cervinia for begginers/intermediates; but don't stay at the Petit Palais unless you get a good late deal price.

Posted: 24/03/03
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I have recently arrived back from a fantastic weeks skiing in Cervinia. After hearing many different reports about the resort, I wanted to say how much I throughly enjoyed this excellent resort, we had endless days of sunshine, and it was dumped in snow. As for the lifts, they certainly were not as bad as most people make them out to be, we found the resort to be very reasonable priced, and just to top it off, we stayed in a fantastic hotel called the Sertorelli which was nothing but 5 star service. All in all it was a fantastic week, and would certainly recommend the resort and definatly the accomodation to anyone!!

Posted: 24/02/03
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

After reading your site, i felt compeld to make comment on Cervinia, my partner & i returned from the resort on the 16th Feb 03. It was my first time sking (We can not recomend the Copapan restaurant highly enough) the whole range suited all types of skier & the views/runs from Plan Rosa are a must, although i surgest getting on the lifts b4 9.30am as they get quite busy. We WILL b returning to Cervinia.

Posted: 01/05/02
Cervinia review
Ski Club member

I find the guide an absolute must for determining resorts, we have found it both useful for choosing somewhere new, aswell as seeing the accuracy of resorts already skied in. We have skied in Cervinia for four years, only once have we had problems with the resorts notorous wind. We like the resort very much, it has never had lift queues, which I have read about, the lifts and pistes have always been quiet, but we do always go outside school times. The best pizza in town is in the Ceilo Alto region at the pizzeria, which has a lovely English lady owning it.

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

Ski Club Freshtracks holidays to Cervinia

Aosta Instruction
Development zone: 7 nights, 17 Dec 2016
HOLIDAY NOW ON A REQUEST ONLY BASIS - PLEASE CONTACT FRESHTRACKS ON 020 8410 2022 IF YOU ARE...

tour operators in Cervinia

Club Med
10% discount for Ski Club members
At Club Med you can expect style and chic on and off the slopes for big and little kids alike....
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...
Elegant Resorts
5% discount for Ski Club members
Elegant Resorts, the UK's leading luxury tour operator, provides exceptional client service and...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...
Crystal Ski Holidays
£50 discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...

member discounts in Cervinia

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Scuola di Sci del Cervino
12% discount for Ski Club members
If pre-booking lessons, email info@scuolacervinio.com and state your Ski Club GB membership at time...
Echo Travel
10% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Club members will receive 10% off the price of a day of guided skiing in December, January,...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now