Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    
If you've been to Claviere and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
John Holland
Posted: 19/04/17
Good skiing but link back from Montgenevre is painful
Overall rating: 4 stars
John Holland
Visited: March 2017

I took a solo trip to Claviere with Rocket Ski dep. 18th March. While it was a budget trip the hotel was, frankly, awful. It was plainly geared up for school parties and the rooms were like badly maintained dorms. Rocket Ski charged me a single supplement despite the hotel being half full and my room having four beds in it but the large Ski Club discount brought it back down to sensible levels, The hotel was usually chilly, with the heating barely on, ever. There were marks and stains all over the walls, flaking paint and mould in the bathroom, bulbs missing, a smelly wardrobe from which I removed all my clothes on the 2nd day and a piece of cloth that served as a curtain just about across the window.
On the upside, Claviere's slopes, while not expansive, were virtually empty all the time, There are some lovely runs through the trees and an easy link TO Montgenevre. The restaurants in Claviere were a different class to the French side and less expensive too. I particularly enjoyed the Rifugio col Saurel where you can sit outside on beanbags and enjoy a lovely, serene view. You can get a pass for the whole Milk Way but Claviere/Montgenevre was fine for a week, the link to the other resorts required quite a lot of chairlift sitting. You get a day free for the whole area anyway. Montgenevre has some lovely intermediate skiing and a couple of good, steep blacks in the area across the road. I believe that, given better conditions, the off-piste in both resorts would be great fun.
Unfortunately, the best link back to Claviere was closed and is likely to remain so allegedly because of an incident there recently. That means poling along a flat track known as the golf course run. Again, with decent snow it wouldn't be so bad. In slush it was hard work.
I really enjoyed the trip and I'd base in Clav. again even though it's so quiet, especially if the high link from MG was restored. That would make it easy to return to Italy for lunch. However, I'd find a different hotel!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
1 star
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
1 star
Value for money:
5 stars
Greg Thornton
Posted: 03/01/17
Perfect skiing
Overall rating: 4 stars
Greg Thornton
Visited: December 2016

Great skiing virtually had the runs to ourselves no quing exalent runs (for me) , town very quite good for families ,easy access to montgenev which is abit livelyer , easy access to rest of Milky Way, had lesions very pleased wth standard off tuition

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Eleanor Curran
Posted: 23/03/14
Claviere
Overall rating: 4 stars
Eleanor Curran
Visited: March 2014

We visited Claviere again this March -6 adults.
The snow was great though it was beginning to soften in the afternoons as we had blue skies and sunshine for the whole week.
This didn't affect our enjoyment though as we had no lift queues all week.
We love Montegenevre and skied to sauz d'oulx one day but one day there was enough as it was a tedious journey up and down lifts to get there.
We stayed in the Grande Claviere on an all inclusive deal.
The food was plentiful but the bar and restaurant area were a little uncomfortable and crowded.
It's a great hotel if you have small children but there should be a curfew at night as it wasn't pleasant seeing them running around at night while the parents drank.
We definitely will go back to Claviere but possibly not to the Grande.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Michael Wright
Posted: 06/02/14
Grande clviiere hotel
Overall rating: 5 stars
Michael Wright
Visited: January 2014

Great Hotel all inclusive you can't go wrong. value for money good food, good drinks. Rooms were fine clan and tidy and the showers were very good. Only a few minutes to the slopes and you can almost ski back to the door. The resort was good quiet slopes no queuing we also skied to montgeneve which has more varied skiing good skiing for all abilities As a group of eight we all said we would stay here again.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Roy Hammond
Posted: 04/02/14
nice resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Roy Hammond
Visited: January 2014

i stayed at the grande claviere all inclusive was a bargain i thought, drink as much as u want from 4.30 till 10.30 and they was not mean with the measures, food was basic but ok with pack lunch as well and tea an coffee all day,
bedrooms were basic but as i say your only there a week so who cares, and all the staff are friendly as were the crystal reps james and mandi, not forgetting luca behind the bar,
the skiing you only had to go out the back door and nearly on slope, there was so much snow we could ski down the side road,
the ski hire shop is right on the slope so straight on with the skiing, i would recommend paying extra and getting the claviere and montgenevre lift pass as theres loads more wider runs in montgenevre and you will soon do all runs in claviere,
theres not much night life most people tend to stay in hotel ,but when all inclusive who would go out, i would go back again but i like to ski new areas,

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Carl Evans
Posted: 29/01/14
Claviere an Italian Gem
Overall rating: 4 stars
Carl Evans
Visited: January 2014

Our 2nd ski trip in two years to Claviere linked on a local ski pass with Montgenevre. Claviere overs better value as a ski base. It has some gr8 tree lined runs that offer easy and relatively safe off piste skiing and a faster link to the wider Vialetta (Milky Way) Area. During our mid Jan visit weekdays the slopes were very quiet.

The accommodation we chose was the Hotel Miramonti. The hotel is basic with a 2 star rating, but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The Italian owner Fulvia; a former ski instructor, and her team were superb, very friendly and helpful. You get an authentic Italian experience and atmosphere.

Après ski in the area is quieter than most resorts, but it's there if you want it. The food - breakfast is continental, no hot options but there is plenty of it. The daily 4 course evening meal is naturally Italian orientated, again plentiful and very tasty and was included on all evenings. There are some nice Regional wines available priced at 9-12 Euros a bottle and Fulvia is always on hand to give recommendations if required.

The hotel is about a 5 min walk from the main slopes. The Miramonti has a good boot & ski room, but I recommend using the ski school facility where you can store you boots and/or skis slope side for 15 Euros for the week. Incidentally if you hire skis the main hire shop are all co-located. We travelled with Crystal and their current resort reps James & Mandi are excellent and passionate not just about winter sports, but the area and culture. Italy also still retains the ability for group skiing with reps, another plus if there is no resort Ski Club leader service.

No doubt by now you will have twigged that I recommend both the resort and hotel and this year, despite base snow pack stability warnings, it's the best overall snow conditions I've experienced in over 10 yrs of skiing in the Alps - mid thigh powder on several days it does not get better !

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Claviere Centre
Claviere Centre
Empty Slopes
Empty Slopes
Mountain Food
Mountain Food
Powder
Powder
Al Wilson
Posted: 25/03/13
Ideal March Ski venue
Overall rating: 4 stars
Al Wilson
Visited: March 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Grand Claviere hosted by Crystal 10th - 17th March 2013. We are both advanced skiers with many years experience of different resorts.The resort of Claviere is on the border with the french resort of Montgenevre and together they represent a very reasonable and varied ski area. The two lifts in the resort are fairly old and slow but once up you can ski a very easy black (French blue) into Montgenevre, with a wide variety of routes and choices, or you can ski very easily to the faster lift up to the top of Claviere and a choice of 3 or 4 really nice red runs. There is plenty to do between the two resorts for a week and the joint ski pass (Claviere/Montgenevre) includes one day skiing to the other "Milky Way"resorts, including Sestriere. Top tip for trip to Sestriere etc. take the two bottom lifts down into Sansicario, first one carrying ski's. This avoids an endlessly boring little flat road. Second tip is to take the drag lift at the top, then ski down to the mid station of the Sestriere Gondola and take the Gondola down to the main piste area of Sestriere. That way you avoid another horrible road piste and an annoying walk in ski boots through the town. We shared a taxi back to Claviere so we could ski there for longer, about 12 Euros each for four of us. I'm glad we did the trip to Sestriere but not sure I would bother again. A word about the Grand Claviere and Crystal, great value, food and service, couldn't really fault them.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Eleanor Curran
Posted: 11/10/12
claviere Italy
Overall rating: 4 stars
Eleanor Curran
Visited: January 2012

Claviere is a hidden gem in Italy. The resort is on the border with Montgenevre in France and the skiing is very good there. I would recommend getting the lift pass for Claviere and Montgenevre with one day in the Milky way as it is much harder to get to the other Italian resorts of Saux D'oulx and Sestriere than to get to Montgenevre.
Most companies offer Claviere and the other Italian resorts and only one day in Montegenevre.
We waited until we got to Claviere and booked our lift passes ourselves in the ski lift centre.
The village of Claviere is fairly small and there was no night life outside of the hotel. It wouldn't have suited us if our adult children had been with us but it was fine for us as we were happy to stay in the hotel. We stayed in the hotel Miramonti and it was ideally located but there was a bit of a hill to climb after a days skiing. It was worth it though as the food was very good and the hotel was very quiet.
Claviere has plenty of skiing but we found Montgenevre to be better.
We skied to Saux D'oulx one day and it was a bit of a trek but well worth the effort. We wouldn't have done it more than once though as it took 1 hour 30 mins to get there.
It was extremely cold while we were there but that week even Rome had snow.
We would definitely go back again

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
1 star
Value for money:
4 stars
Amanda Gregory
Posted: 07/04/09
Claviere review
Amanda Gregory

I have just returned from Claviere staying at the crystal club hotel, with four teenagers.
the hotel was good, good food ,the staff were all young and friendly and included the children in their fun. Brenda the crystal rep was very good and immediately inspired confidence.

The skiing was great, we arrived on the 29th march to quite heavy snow which freshened the slopes up and we had more snow the following week. The slopes were uncrowded, some were deserted which was great. I was the only skier in our party and did the ski school which was good. The children who were boarding also had good instruction.

I would think the resort is best suited to intermediates which is what I had read. My 17yr old son found there was not quite enough for him as only a few black runs and no snowpark.

Posted: 25/01/05
Claviere review
Ski Club member

Claviere is built around one main street which gets busy at times with traffic going to and from France. Skiing is not good for beginners but mainly suits intermediate skiers with enough wide red runs to cruise. The Milky Way, depending on snow conditions, is not easy to get to so a visit to Montgenevre is a much better option and costs an extra €15.50 a day for a lift pass which provides linked skiing with Claviere without bus transfers. Sufficient bars and shops in Claviere will keep you entertained for a one week visit. Be warned - the bank only opens on Monday mornings, however, there is also an ATM. Claviere is an easy going, friendly resort without lift queues - the Montgenevre lift pass is a must for intermediate skiers looking for mileage without the hassle of getting to and from the Milky Way.

Posted: 10/01/05
Claviere review
Ski Club member

We have just been to the Sporthotel Sagnalonga with our friends and their 2 children aged 9 and 5. We are experienced skiiers, but our friends were beginners. The skiidoo ride up to the hotel was a great bonus, we and the kids loved it (although it was a little scary). The hotel pool and sauna was a gread hit with all of us. The rooms were perfect, overlooking the mountains (great sunsets), and really cosy. The hotel is situated in a perfect position surrounded by ski school, lifts, ski/sledge hire - the kids were able to play with sledges on the piste when the lifts had closed. The nursery slope is quite steep, but this brought everyone on quickly enabling my friend and his 9 year old son to ski into Claviere on the third day! The food was buffet style with a good selection which we all enjoyed. Our friends are now hooked!

Posted: 15/03/04
Claviere review
Ski Club member

The Sporthotel Sagnalonga hotel sounds great as it's slopeside. The best part was that you really can ski in/out - which was great. The downside is that the majority of the staff are about as warm as the snow, the food is ok but tedious, the drinks expensive, the facilities limited. Claviere has very few slopes suitable for beginners and the instructors have limited English. Don't think about it if you're a learner. Snowboarders - DON'T BOTHER! The bruise on my thigh from the endless super long / super steep button lifts is still healing. A nightmare! To be fair there are some great reds in the local Claviere region, but the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. Proximity to the Milky Way is overrated, yes you can get to other places, but it's a real pain and a lot of time on lifts to get anywhere (or back) If, heaven forbid, you miss the 4:30 last lift back to the hotel you'll have to call the hotel to arrange for a skidoo to pick you up (Euro 13 each!). Our skidoo came with a trailer and a matress to which the skis / board were tied before we were told to "lie there" for one of the most dangerous journeys I've ever had the misfortune to undertake. On departure our bags travelled by skidoo, then transferred to a van, ebfore being unceremoniously dumped in a carpark (which did have a pub) 3 hours before our transfer by coach. Our choice was to stay in the carpark with the bags or leave them on their own. Stupid! Can you imagine on check-in "could anyone have tampered with your bag?" I had a good time due to the company, however we all agreed we're not going back.

Posted: 14/01/04
Claviere review
Ski Club member

Have just been on a school skiing trip with my son to Claviere. The hotel was very basic but clean, which is to be expected on a school trip. However, the resort was perfect for this sort of group - lots of snow on easy runs which were well bashed and the resort seemed EMPTY compared to France - the longest queue must have been 5 minutes. The Italian instructors were kind and generous to the children and they all seemed to enjoy themselves. We skiied to Montgenevre one day, and got the bus to Sestriere another. Would recommend for families, and you should be able to improve on the Hotel Roma!

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

tour operators in Claviere

RocketSki
15% discount for Ski Club members
For more than ten years RocketSki has been offering the best ski deals for those looking for an easy...
Crystal Ski Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now