Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    
If you've been to Saas Fee and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Barbara Carnegie
Posted: 22/04/17
Mountain heaven!
Overall rating: 4 stars
Barbara Carnegie
Visited: April 2017

Spent the first week of April in this delightful resort which nestles beneath a stunning array of peaks. Very peaceful with no cars, a good selection of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars and an interesting museum.
40cm of snow on the first day made for quite a challenging start but Robert, the ski club leader, managed to coax a good day's skiing out of the conditions! Had the pleasure of an 8.30 start the following day to ski the amazing fresh powder with visiting leader, Margaret Scott, for 1 long run from Felskinn, my first experience of on piste snow like that and grateful to Margaret for suggesting it! Very envious that I wasn't competent enough to join Robert and the others for the following off piste days.
The snow held up for the remainder of the week and whilst lower slopes became predictably slushy in the afternoon, soaking up the sun and beautiful views from the Larix with a cold beer and new friends more than compensated! Mid week I snowshoed to the Britannia Hutte for lunch and more staggering views and would thoroughly recommend this for a different experience.
A great week, breathtaking scenery, exciting skiing, no queues, met some lovely people, lots of laughs in the Metro Bar and hope to go back!
My only other comment would be that it is not clear from the programme that the majority of days are skiing off piste. Fortunately the leader contacted me if any of these finished early so we could ski on piste for the remainder of the day. Otherwise you could end up skiing on your own quite a lot if not experienced off piste.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Empty slopes
Empty slopes
Lunch Britannia Hutte
Lunch Britannia Hutte
Lorna Mcmillan
Posted: 17/04/17
April skiing
Overall rating: 5 stars
Lorna Mcmillan
Visited: April 2017

Spent first week in April in Saas Fee. Snowed overnight Sat and most of Sunday so limited lifts available. Headed to the swimming pool. Nice and very clean. Most lifts open by Monday lunchtime after avalanche blasting completed. Resort level runs were mushy but up at either Morenia (2700m) or on the glacier at 3500m snow was great and very well prepared. Morenia area nice blue and gentle reds. On glacier lots of cruisy reds. Minor poi t but t bars here were self service so our snowboarding 7 year old couldn't manage so had to use train to reach top each time. Red linking glacier to Morenia could be challenging. Stayed at hotel allalin which was fantastic. Seas Fee is car free but that doesn't mean pedestrianised. Lots of electric vehicles from businesses going around so you still had to be alert! Is Switzerland expensive? Yes, makes Finland seem reasonable! However for late season snow fantastic. Would I go back? Definitely.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Margaret Scott
Posted: 12/04/17
wonderful April skiing
Overall rating: 5 stars
Margaret Scott
Visited: April 2017

I arrived to a fresh snow fall on the Saturday night, with apparently 40cm new snow at the top - on the first day of April!. Getting up for an early start and looking forward to fresh tracks on the Sunday I realised Saas Fee only opens slowly after heavy snow falls, needing time to protect the pistes from avalanche risk. That day only Spielboden lifts opened, with the Alpin Express finally opening on the Monday, but only one stage at a time and the Metro Alpin funicular to the top, not until early afternoon. The views of ice walls on the glaciers were truly spectacular, with fantastic skiing on great snow and piste 17a a highlight for easy cruising and great views. Highlights of my short trip were a fabulous morning glacier skiing with Saas Fee Guides organised by the SkiClub GB leader for our group to find untracked deep powder, and views from the panoramic revolving restaurant, the highest in the world :)
I stayed at the Alpin Hotel, a fabulous location across from the gondola with a lovely wellness centre.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
John Mcintosh
Posted: 26/02/17
Half term in Saas Fee 11-18 Feb
Overall rating: 4 stars
John Mcintosh
Visited: February 2017

We came back to Saas Fee because we know the snow is relatively protected in seasons where snowfall is low. We also appreciate the ability to find very good accommodation which, due to the length of the village, is never far from the bakery, eateries or cafe bar. The village has car free status which will always appeal. We enjoyed après in the snow bars next to the main slope which were pretty family friendly. There were noisier places to go further along the village.

This time our growing family could be left to their lessons without too much supervision. I decided to register with the Ski Club Leader (Richard) so that I could have others to ski with. It was the best decision of the trip. I am now certain to renew my subscription which I had been reconsidering. Not only was the company great but I didn't have to think about which runs to take, and concentrated on enjoying the skiing.

We enjoyed apres in the Metropole hotel in front of the fire, my children loved it. They didn't want to come home (they didn't have to think about the exchange rate...)

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Vanessa Cornborough
Posted: 30/10/16
Season ski pass for less that a 4 day pass 2016/17
Overall rating: 4 stars
Vanessa Cornborough
Visited: October 2016

Before the 6 November, saas fee are offering season ski passes for sale at chf 212 if 99,999 sign up. Thats less than a 4 day ski pass! See site as follows.

https://www.we-make-it-happen.ch/index.html

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Roger Milsom
Posted: 01/02/14
Battery re-charge
Overall rating: 4 stars
Roger Milsom
Visited: January 2014

We enjoyed a quiet week in Saas Fee in mid January.As usual the Swiss hospitality is second to none particularly at the Hotel Allalin where we stayed. Set in a magnificent valley end with towering mountains all round all very beautiful the town is car free so access to the slopes is by a regular electric shuttle bus service which covers all of the town.
The skiing area is not huge but provides a good variety for all intermediate skiers and we experienced no queues at any time. The off-piste opportunities are limited to some extent by the glaciated nature of the higher slopes but there was plenty of fun to be had. A day trip (by a fifteen minute post bus link) to Saas Grund gave a different perspective of the valley and a days skiing on some pleasant reds and blues with some nice bits of soft snow for those of us who need it.
Mountain food was very good and not as expensive as expected ( don't miss the revolving restaurant on a clear day!) with plenty of options. There are several bars for an apres ski drink (the Metro Bar is quirky but good atmosphere) otherwise quiet at night.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
John Coxon
Posted: 27/01/14
Beautiful and bigger than it looks
Overall rating: 4 stars
John Coxon
Visited: January 2014

The scenery especially at the top is spectacular with a revolving restaurant at 3500 m surrounded by high peaks and those deep blue glaciers.
Pistes aren't particularly steep , but there are long ( 1700 m vertical) runs to the village and some steeper pitches on Itineraries and alongside pistes. We were lucky to have plenty of snow and delighted to find very few others straying from the pistes leaving all that nice fresh snow to ski at leisure .
If you want sunshine as you ski , come later in the year - the surrounding mountains leave most runs shaded for most of the day in January ; on the other hand , great snow and not a lift queue to be seen.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Nice ski bus
Nice ski bus
Saas Fee from Saas Grund
Saas Fee from Saas Grund
Sun breaking through
Sun breaking through
Where are my group?
Where are my group?
Stewart Campbell
Posted: 22/01/14
Fantastic for young families
Overall rating: 4 stars
Stewart Campbell
Visited: January 2014

If you have children and want them to have a good positive intro to skiing Saas Fee delivers a great experience. The Ski School has a number of British instructors which is great for youngsters starting out.

For young improvers, don't be concerned about the limited number of blues up the mountain because the red runs are beautiful, wide, well groomed and not that steep (my 6 year old was skiing them with great delight) and this was her 3rd ski holiday.

If you want more blues, take the 6 min bus ride to Saas Grunde and the same wide, well groomed, motorway experience can be found but with a bit less pitch.

The ski area is somewhat limited if you are a more advanced skier and you would cover it in a couple of days, Off piste is frowned on and can be dangerous (because of crevasses), But this is not what this resort is about, it really is well set up for families wanting good snow, great scenery and a positive first / early mountain experience.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Alan Wildsmith
Posted: 02/01/14
mmm...drawbacks
Overall rating: 2 stars
Alan Wildsmith
Visited: December 2013

The scenery is stunning...but there aren't any reliable blue runs up the mountain* for early intermediates or fast beginners...and the (excellent) nursery slopes are a real slog up the hill. I would not recommend for any nervous intermediates/beginners or anyone wanting gentle cruising.

*Every blue is accessed by soemthing unpalatable for skiers of this standard: eg a long tough red section or (in one case - the only actual blue run on the mountain) a real slog of a walk and a scary catwalk of a ski. The piste maps really hides the truth as far as I can see.

Slopes:
1 star
Accommodation:
3 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
1 star
Matthew Wyse
Posted: 30/12/12
Small and entertaining ski area
Overall rating: 3 stars
Matthew Wyse
Visited: December 2012

Visited Saas Fee with Ski Esprit for my 5 yo daughters first ski holiday. The resort is 2hr 45 mins from Geneva and largely vehicle free so buses and cars stop on outskirts of village and you walk or take electric taxi in to town, would not want to travel here with toddlers or pushchair aged kids. The Esprit hotel is right by the nursery slopes and most of the cable cars up the mountain so excellent position however the village is rather spread out so for those not in such a position there would be considerable walks to lifts.
We had excellent snow in our week (powder on 4 out of 6 days) and enjoyed the reds blacks and itineraries with an excellent Ski Club leader (Joe). The slopes were virtually deserted but we did everything that was open very quickly fortunately the quality of snow and amount of powder stopped us getting bored. Our daughter loved her lessons, but the nursery slopes although good are only served by buttons and T bars and required a lot of walking, once you have exhausted these we could not find a run off the mountain to do with her, the few blues are fairly challenging and often interspersed with red sections.
Village very quiet and no apres to talk of pre Christmas, beautiful and historic buildings.
Sledging off the Hanning gondola great fun and at SFr8 per sledge for as many runs as you like good value and a worthwhile diversion for an afternoon. Lower resorts closed the week we were there, would have visited had they been open just to explore more terrain however they are a ride on the post bus away.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Deserted slope with club leader
Deserted slope with club leader
Nice blue on the glacier
Nice blue on the glacier
the nursery slopes
the nursery slopes
Simon White
Posted: 31/10/12
Something for everyone
Overall rating: 4 stars
Simon White
Visited: December 2008

Don't let the fans of Zermatt talk you down - it's little brother Saas Fee, on the other side of the Allalinhorn, is a great little resort - it shares the quiet, traffic-free streets but loses the McDonalds and the crowds for a slightly quieter life.

I learnt to ski as an adult here - with the patient ski school and the great nursery slopes that make it perfect for beginners. Intermediates have the choice of some challenging itinerary runs, and it is only the powder hound who is a little left out unless you go with a guide. The last point is the important one - there's some great off piste to be had - off the back of the ski area towards Saas Almagell for example, which is nearly impossible to access without a professional. It's well worth the effort if you can share the cost with some friends.

However, for the majority of skiers this is a great place to find an introduction to the Alps and find new or dust off old ski legs. You won't regret it!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Adrian accelerates
Adrian accelerates
Adrian angles around
Adrian angles around
Ben brakes!
Ben brakes!
Richard rounds the curve
Richard rounds the curve
Steve shoots past
Steve shoots past
Fresh Tracks
Fresh Tracks
Jane catches up
Jane catches up
Jane gets ready...
Jane gets ready...
Last but not least
Last but not least
New Year Off Piste GPS
New Year Off Piste GPS
Parking up
Parking up
Relaxing at work
Relaxing at work
Sarah & Pete
Sarah & Pete
Sarah enjoys
Sarah enjoys
Sarah rips it up
Sarah rips it up
John and Sue in sync!
John and Sue in sync!
John and Sue raring to go
John and Sue raring to go
John carving a steep red
John carving a steep red
Sue mastering the slopes
Sue mastering the slopes
Chair to the Sun, Saas-Fee
Chair to the Sun, Saas-Fee
Lovely Weather to say Goodbye to! Saas-Fee
Lovely Weather to say Goodbye to! Saas-Fee
Wind's Up! Saas-Fee
Wind's Up! Saas-Fee
Coffee stop view
Coffee stop view
Jon puts in a turn
Jon puts in a turn
Lift the ski?
Lift the ski?
Patrick skis past
Patrick skis past
Ready for take-off?
Ready for take-off?
Richard makes the turn
Richard makes the turn
Christopher Brown
Posted: 15/10/12
Ski Club Member
Overall rating: 4 stars
Christopher Brown
Visited: March 2012

Have been several times to Saas, even mid end April, and the snow has always been great. Lifts have been upgraded and a few new ones, more replacements planned. There are new mountain restaurants, they are really making an effort to improve the whole resort . New investment in the ski lift company as well which promises increased investment to open up more skiing, even to zermatt one day! It's a great all round resort, very picturesque, snow very reliable, excellent for families as well. There is also an English run ski school Optimum Sports. There are a few top quality catered chalets, plenty of hotels from 5* down to modest Swiss family run hotels. Not for mileage hungry, but will suit most other skiers. A traditional Swiss ski resort.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Tony Gray
Posted: 28/03/11
Saas Fee review
Tony Gray

A belated response to request for info on Saas Grund.

There is a local bus every half hour and a ski bus in between at 15 minute intervals; you can get from the bus terminal to Bergbahn in Saas Grund is less than 10 mins. There's a series of three gondola's with most of the skiing on the top section of the mountain where it's not at all crowded. Wide open red carving pistes with the option of a blackish mogul route. Last week, after 6 days of glorious weather the final run down was closed due to lack of snow; hopefully that will change after this weeks snowfall.

Paul Hewitt
Posted: 09/04/09
Saas Fee review
Paul Hewitt

Having spent a week in Saas-Fee in early March, I can only re-iterate some of the views already mentioned by previous reader reviews.

Pros: It is high altitude and therefore snowsure. It is a beautiful village with plenty of (expensive) shops, cafes, restaurants and bars/nightclubs. There is some great skiing to be done, although I would suggest this is not the best resort for beginners or up and coming intermediates - more so for experienced/advanced skiers and boarders (but hey, boarders are crazy anyway!). Amazing scenery and some good off-piste and powder to ski.

Cons: Extreme weather conditions and high winds will close the lifts and they seem reluctant to reopen once closed. There is always the beginners/nursery slopes but this becomes boring and tedious.
The lifts seem antiquated and slow and you will queue to get on them. The lift pass also seems expensive for the area it covers.
I stayed at Hotel Dom and the ski room is tiny, unheated and a steep climb up some steps to the outside whereupon there is a 10 - 15 minute walk to the ski lifts.
I found the mountain restaurants to be rather crowded and as a regular to Austria, they are nowhere near as picturesque.

Other points to mention: for an additional fee you can get a whole area lift pass which incorporates Saas-Grund and Saas-Almagell, however, I believe the lifts in these neighbouring villages are prone to closure in bad weather also so take your chances.
I did a day excursion to Zermatt which is well worth a visit but unfortunately a day here is nowhere near long enough, still, worth it however.

Summary: Beautiful village with some great skiing but the weather can result in 'no ski days'.

I wouldn’t say I will never visit here again, but it’s not on my priority list.
TIP: If you do experience lift closure(s) ask your rep to obtain a certificate of closure from the lift company and you will be able to claim back from your insurer!

Ian Christie
Posted: 31/12/07
Saas Fee review
Ian Christie

Visited Saas Fee in Christmas 2007, with my wife and grown up kids. It is a resort best suited to intermediates as there are not many blue runs. We stayed at the Crystal Hotel La Collina, which had great facilites, and single rooms for the kids at no extra cost. Plus a swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Although the food was a bit limited.

The walk to the lifts was a ten minute slow walk or a 7 minute march, we left our gear at the new Ceasar sports shop at the bottom of the alpin express, about £20 for the week for three sets of skis/boots.

The apres skis spots are best at the bottom of village near the nursery slops, note that the resort is north facing, so no need for sun cream unless on the glacier, which does get some sun. The best food on mountain is at 2500 feet at the main restaurant, the revolving one at the top is ok as well, and worth a visit. Other places were poor value for money.

Skied the saas fee resort in 1 day, Grunb and the other place were limited skiing, so we did not bother, would suggest getting local lift pass only. We would definitely go to Switzerland again due to cleanliness, service and excellent hire equipment.

Andrew Hooker
Posted: 04/03/07
Saas Fee review
Andrew Hooker

Having spent several summers in Saas - climbing and walking - it was a revelation to return in winter for the first time last week. A lot of positives and a few negatives. On the positive side we stayed at the Beau Site - an excellent hotel in all respects with first class facilities,high quality food and attentive welcoming staff. It is a stunning resort in a unique setting of 4000m peaks, and if you want spectacular backdrops to your skiing this is up there with the best including Zermatt and Chamonix. I would not recommend this resort for beginners. Although there is one long blue run from Morenia I thought this was quite a challenging blue in sections. I agree with the comments others have made - beginners are likely to find themselves stuck on the resort's nursery slopes although these do allow quite long runs. The red and black runs were excellent but the grading at times between red and black seemed hard to justify. The ski areas are not well linked and you will find yourself lugging skies around or paying for every trip in the little bus service around the resort. We had impressive dumps of snow during our week especially late in the week. This gave some excellent skiing but there were some delays getting runs re-opened. Also disappointingly the high Allalin glacier area was open on only 1 day out of the 6 days covered by our ski passes. Early in the week closed due to high winds, and later in the week due to too much snow! Finally, we had always regarded Saas as a quiet resort overnight and it is advertised as such. Unfortunately, we discovered that the main road can become rather noisy during the small hours due to late opening hours at several of the resorts bars. Would we go again? Yes, probably, but not with a room overlooking the main street and hopefully next time with more days up on the glacier.

Posted: 24/03/06
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Stayed in Crystal Chalet Viktoria from 18th to 25th Feb. on a self-drive basis. The parking/transport to accommodation arrangements are expensive and time-consuming; better to stay in Saas-Grund and catch the bus to Saas-Fee, although the bus service left a lot to be desired. Chalet Viktoria is a long way from the slopes and the little electric skibus (included in lift pass) was very infrequent, often full and only went to 1 destination which still left a long walk to the nearest lift. Although I didn't use it, the nursery area looked extensive. Otherwise, I agree with previous remarks about blue runs, lots of walking and a lack of chairlifts (although a new one is planned). Also discovered that Saas-Grund was open when Saas-Fee was closed. Saas-Grund also has a much more modern lift system than Saas-Fee. Saas-Almagell is also worth a day out. All in all, not a very satisfactory experience, despite an excellent day spent with your rep. Avril.

Posted: 21/03/06
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Went to Saas - Fee Feb half term, snow was ammazing, huge dump during the week, weather was great both sunny and snow. Ferienart Hotel is great, great food, great aptmosphere, great facilities. Night life was great with Popcorn, Nestis, and obviously the Happy Bar - great aptmospere, great music, great people working there and great drinks. Whole holiday was great.

Posted: 13/03/06
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Visited Saas Fee, and Switzerland, for the first time at Feb half term with my husband and son 10yrs. Best suited to intermediates as not many blue runs. Stayed at the Crystal Hotel La Collina, which was excellent and although the walk to the lifts was around 20 minutes, there were plenty of places to store skis and boots close to the slopes overnight at a small cost. This then allowed the opportunity to sample the apres skis spots on the way back at the end of the day! La Ferme restaurant in the main street, although expensive was excellent, offering half portions from the main menu for children. Height of the resort does mean that it is more prone to closure in bad weather, with the nursery slopes being the only option on one day whilst we were there. However the short bus ride to Saas Grund as an alternative, lower down the valley, was well worth it with picture postcard ski-ing through the trees. Skied most of the resort in 3 days so not sure we'd go back to this resort, but would definitely go to Switzerland again due to cleanliness, service and excellent hire equipment.

Posted: 31/01/06
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Just come back from Saas Fee, very icy, a local recommended (ex Olympic gold medalist) that you don’t go there until Feb or early March when it is more snow sure. I would only recommend it only for more advanced intermediate skiers as we only found 3 blue runs open, the nursery slopes and instruction did look quite good. We skied virtually every run in 2 days and there was no lift working in the winter park. Be prepared for a lot of walking, there are several long tunnels at the top of the lifts at top and middle sections. Haven't the Swiss heard of escalators? The night life really starts in Feb, although we had a few very good nights out. Try Nesti's Ski-Bar and the Metro-Bar. The views are stunning from the mountain restaurants however the food and drinks are expensive in Saas, £4 for a beer in the resort and £6 for a plate of chips on the slopes. Well worth the short bus journey to Saas Grund and Saas Amergell.

Posted: 10/01/05
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Saas Fee has it all; snow sure high altitude skiing, an authentic village atmosphere and good apres ski. It's a mini Zermatt but not at Zermatt prices!

Posted: 14/12/04
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Visited for a long weekend in Feb. '04. In a nutshell not the best resort for the serious / high mileage skier, BUT a charming alpine village and a spectacularly beautiful ski area amongst the glaciers. Plenty of good eating and drinking opportunities but quiet later on. Different and definitely worth a visit.

Posted: 19/07/04
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Took our kids for their 1st taste of skiing, couldn't have been happier with the ski school, hotel (Schweizerhoff) and the resort in general..

Posted: 14/04/04
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Visited Saas Fee for the first time at Easter (2004). Very impressed with the beautiful village and the Hotel Dom in which we stayed. Prices are extremely high for what you actually get... well over £100 for a ski pass which offers just 100km of fairly easy skiing. Beginners in our group found the transition from nursery slopes to the main mountain blues a little daunting probably due to the oppressive nature of the high peaks surrounding the ski area, and in part due to quite bad weather conditions for the timeof year. There are a couple of fairly tough unpisted ski routes for more advanced skiers, again particularly due to the conditions. Only real gripe was the ski school of which our groups experiences were poor. One instructor actually left a novce skier on the mountain because she was scared to come down a steepish part of a run (she had to phone for help from another group member who took 20 minutes to get to her. Another instructor took a group of early intermediates down a black mogul field on the first morning - quite ridiculous and totally unprofessional. Other gripe is the number of long drag lifts present due to the fact that manyof the runs are situated on glaciers so the lift supportsmove over the course of the season. I'd only really recommend the resort for intermediate skiers who aren't looking to go in ski school and don't feel the need for high mileage skiing. Resort is lively as soon as the lifts close but quiet at night.

Posted: 26/03/04
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Just back from a long weekend in Saas. Great conditions, smashing resort and long runs that were not busy at all. Agree with other contributors that length and gradient of lower slopes makes this a challenging, place for intermediates (or perhaps I am getting old).

Posted: 16/03/04
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

I have just returned from here and whilst I spent enjoyable time with Graham of Ski Club would seriously argue that it has a state of the art lift system - its not easy to access pistes and has too many t bars and not enough chairs. I know there are plans for improvement over the next few years, it lags well behind and needs it soon.

Posted: 05/01/04
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

A really good resort for mixed ability groups plenty to do in the evenings
some great mountain restaraunts.Do hire ski lockers as most accomodation
is a good walk from the slopes.We were worried about expense but actually
found it cheaper than most French resorts and much friendlier

Posted: 28/08/03
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Saas Fee is a great resort with guarateed skiing on the higher slopes which have very good snow. The views of the glacier are amazing. It lacks alot of ski-in/ ski-out hotels but overall is a superb skiers resort.

Posted: 01/11/02
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

Saas Fee is a lovely village resort with a fair amount of skiing variety, but I would not recommend it for beginners.
The massive crater where the road to the village had collapsed down the cliff was a little off putting (my mother-in-law was worrying about the return journey all week). There is no traffic in the resort (except the milk floats) & a couple of genuinely 'buzzing' bars for later.

Posted: 10/06/02
Saas Fee review
Ski Club member

The scenery is spectacular, the village is lovely and the glacier very dramatic. There are very few blue runs - all runs from the Mittelallin are reds (or the blues don't seem to be marked). From Maste downwards the reds are quite steep and get crowded. You need to be an intermediate or experienced skier to cope with the steep slopes. The lift system is quite old fashioned although it is being upgraded gradually. There are a couple of very good nursery slopes at the bottom via the button lifts. On the whole, a good resort for experienced skiers!

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

Ski Club Freshtracks holidays to Saas Fee

Saas Fee Singles
Action zone: 7 nights, 14 Jan 2017
Spend a week in the delightfully unspoilt and car-free Saas Fee, set against one of the most...
Saas Fee Singles
Action zone: 7 nights, 20 Jan 2018
Spend a week in the delightfully unspoilt and car-free Saas Fee, set against one of the most...

tour operators in Saas Fee

snow-wise
10% discount for Ski Club members
Snow-Wise is an independent ski tour operator, specialising in tailor-made ski holidays, luxury ski...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
The Oxford Ski Company
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over eighteen years of experience, some 450+ personally inspected luxury ski chalets and 90...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...
Crystal Ski Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...
Ski Independence
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Independence is one of the UK's leading tailor-made ski specialists offering the best hotels...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...

ski accommodation in Saas Fee

Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site Saas-Fee
15% discount for Ski Club members
The Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site**** is located in the centre of Saas-Fee, surrounded by stunning alpine...
Ferienart Resort & Spa
10% discount for Ski Club members
The 5-star rated Ferienart is situated in the heart of Saas-Fee, surrounded by a breathtaking...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
Hotel Bristol
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski in & Ski out Hotel Saas-Fee the Hotel is situated opposite the Ski and Snowboard meeting...
PowderBeds.com
5% discount for Ski Club members
PowderBeds is an online Ski Accommodation Retailer, offering a huge range of hotels, apartments and...

member discounts in Saas Fee

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now