Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    
If you've been to Zermatt and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Barry Sowerbutts
Posted: 18/04/17
Great way to end the season!
Overall rating: 5 stars
Barry Sowerbutts
Visited: April 2017

I arrived on a Wed having preregistered with the Club. Met with leaders John Naismith and Ed Taylor on Wed eve but as they were having their serious off piste day on Thurs I buddied up with another recent arrival for my Thurs ski then skied with John and Ed on Fri. Zermatt was green but there was one skiable track all the way down. Zermatt Unplugged was happening when I arrived so there were events in the village in the evening and at a couple of the restaurants in the mountains at lunchtime. John left on Saturday and I skied with Ed on Sun and Mon before coming home Tue. Wall to wall sunshine throughout, great snow up high and John and Ed were excellent company throughout and it was great to meet and ski with other Club members - and then there was the jazz!!
PS I stayed at the Adonis hotel - 5 mins from the Matterhorn lift and 10 mins into the centre

Group Lunch With Ed
Group Lunch With Ed
Jazz at the Kandeg Hutte
Jazz at the Kandeg Hutte
Steve Merritt
Posted: 30/01/17
Good skiing but needed more snow
Overall rating: 4 stars
Steve Merritt
Visited: January 2017

We visited Zermatt week commencing 14th Jan 2017. Just before we left the UK there had been a lot of snow forecast but unfortunately only a small percentage of it actually arrived. The pistes were in good condition and some of the off piste areas were just about accessible however you had to be extremely careful due to the rocks being very close to the surface (visible in a lot of cases).

During the first two days, the lifts to Cervinia were closed due to the cold temperatures and the winds. They reopened on the Tuesday despite -32c at the top of Klein Matterhorn so cervinia was accessible. For the whole week we had bluebird days and very little wind.

As a group, we skied with club leaders David and Andrew on 3 days. Two extremely competent and friendly guys who knew their way round -thank you again to both.

Zermatt is never cheap but the poor exchange rate made it very expensive despite being half board at our hotel.

All in all, a great week skiing. We will come back but much more snow required next time!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Donald Edwards
Posted: 30/01/17
Zermatt: Easy on the grading but a blast
Overall rating: 4 stars
Donald Edwards
Visited: January 2017

Zermatt has been on my bucket list for a long time, whether winter or summer. Glad to say it didn't disappoint. A great little town with some great skiing. If going in January, be prepared for it being very cold; first time Ive ever had to ski with thermals and a face mask.

The runs are quite easily graded though; thought reds should be blues and blacks should be reds. Think we only found one or two blacks that really should have been and those were what I'd regard as easy blacks. Beside that small complaint though, the skiing there was a blast. Really enjoyed the skiing, even just some of the more cruising type runs. Was a shame the conditions were not good enough to do a little off-piste as think that would have made things even better.

Enjoyed the Gornergrat and Sunnegga - Rothorn side the most. The Matterhorn paradise glacier was just too cold to enjoy properly and also feel it is an area that really relies on it's off-piste, which wasn't great the week we were there.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Elizabeth Cardwell
Posted: 29/01/17
Anne Cardwell
Overall rating: 5 stars
Elizabeth Cardwell
Visited: January 2017

Thank you Fran and Barry fro a grat weeks skiing. Lovely weather, leaders, skiers and lunches!!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Juli Lindskog
Posted: 23/12/16
Ms
Overall rating: 5 stars
Juli Lindskog
Visited: December 2016

Had a fantastic time skiing with the leader, John Haddon. He planned a tour to cover the whole of the resort, including Cervinia, keeping a relaxed and happy vibe with the whole group.
Top marks!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Catherine Royce
Posted: 14/04/16
Catherine and Laura
Overall rating: 4 stars
Catherine Royce
Visited: April 2016

We'd like to award a gold star each to Russ Farn and Ed Taylor, our ski leaders on 3rd/4th April.
Having skied with the club for many years, in different places and with a number of leaders we are used to excellence, and SCGB doing what it says on the tin, but these two took it to a new level!
Passionate and knowledgeable about the sport but more importantly about the mountains, snow and weather we were in safe hands. Meticulous in planning the day to suit the group and the snow conditions, they managed to give everyone a bit of what they wanted, including a live jazz band to exactly my taste for lunch -how did they do that? -OK that was pure chance, but the rest was good planning and local knowledge, these guys had done the homework.
Fun to be with, and very caring too, we strongly recommend skiing/boarding with them if you get the chance, we certainly hope to again.
Oh yes and Zermatt's not bad either, Lovely, but long (4hours) train journey from Geneva and no buffet car on the train any more (Swiss standards slipping) so go prepared or eat at the airport before getting the train, -Visp is a very quiet place at night!
Fab scenery and all that, Matterhorn still breath-taking, although paying £30 for a pizza was a new experience, even by Swiss standards, not a place to go to if you are on a shoe-string.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Caroline Smith
Posted: 24/03/16
Caroline Smith
Overall rating: 5 stars
Caroline Smith
Visited: March 2016

Expensive but worth every penny.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Michael Novosad
Posted: 17/03/16
Best way up the mountain.
Overall rating: 4 stars
Michael Novosad
Visited: April 2015

In my humble opinion the best way up is by the Gornergrat train!
In 30 minutes one is at 3100 meters, warm and comfortable. And then you are at the top and get all those meters back. No queue, you start in the middle of the village, so no bus!
Of course, with the Swiss frank being what it is, Cervinia is an option, especially in the spring.
I have moved some of my skiing to Arlberg, but Zermatt in spring is spectacular.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Sarah Gowing
Posted: 07/03/16
Fun in the cloud/snow/ice/sun
Overall rating: 5 stars
Sarah Gowing
Visited: February 2016

Fabulous leaders, who really knew their way around the mountain and were able to take advantage of the wide range of weather and conditions we had in what was a fabulous week. Thank you Fran and Barry for great company and fantastic skiing..

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Johanna Kitson
Posted: 28/02/16
Half term Zermatt
Overall rating: 5 stars
Johanna Kitson
Visited: February 2016

Excellent service from your leaders - kept all ages and abilities entertained.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Christine Swale
Posted: 21/02/16
My favourite resort - and favourite Ski Club Leaders!
Overall rating: 5 stars
Christine Swale
Visited: February 2016

Another fantastic week in Zermatt and great skiing with Paul and Clive, as usual. I can echo Keith's sentiments in that the Club enabled members to make their own ski groups in addition to the leaders groups. (Thanks Keith for a lovely morning before we joined the others in Cervinia). It is an expensive resort .... but you get what you pay for.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Keith Irvine
Posted: 20/02/16
Fantastic resort with an invaluable Leader service
Overall rating: 5 stars
Keith Irvine
Visited: February 2016

Zermatt still offers great skiing that everyone must try once!
Leaders Clive and Paul ensured everyone made the most of the conditions, especially the limited snow off piste. Social hour ensured many additional groups of similar ability were formed. My thanks to all I skied with.
Loss of live acts at the Hennu-Stal means Cervo and Blatten now far ahead for apres venues [but reverse this list if you like euro-pop!].
My biggest tip is to look at accommodation costs. I stayed db&b in the ideally located 3* Parnass and had a set 4/5 course evening meal each night for the cost of a single course on the mountain. Add in the local ownership, friendly staff, comfortable rooms with Matterhorn views, heated boot rack and an ideal location within 100m of bus stop and I could not really ask for more for my money in this resort. It certainly allows a few £10 soup in place of £20 rosti lunches! It definately allows me to improve my value for money rating.
Whole resort was quieter this year so maybe the costs are having an impact. I did not queue more than 2/3 minutes at any lift even at peak time so perhaps this is adding value to the resort.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
John C Parkin
Posted: 19/02/16
Disappointed
Overall rating: 2 stars
John C Parkin
Visited: February 2016

I was greatly disappointed with Zermatt. Pros and cons :
Pros : on a good day it is sublime, long cruising reds ( which I love) fantastic scenery . Good snow and a pleasure to be there.
Cons: Pisting was poor for much of my time, piste markers were too far apart to ski safely in poor visibility , very few Map Boards and very few piste numbers . Most of the chairlifts do not have covers : so you freeze . The village is very spread out . With the lifts at either end. Food and drink is far more expensive than it needs to be ( true the food is of good quality) . Wine was 50 Swiss francs + in the hotel . Apres Ski seemed to consist of sitting on a terrace looking at the Matterhorn . Some annoying uphill sections. (Zmutt to Furi) . Questionable Avalanche protection ( run11) .
Considering the cost of the Lift Pass , the resort should be much better . For me the Austrian resorts of Badhofgastein, Kitzbuhel , Zurs and even Mayrhofen show it a clean pair af heels .

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
1 star
Value for money:
1 star
Keith Lambert
Posted: 18/02/16
Keith Lambert
Overall rating: 5 stars
Keith Lambert
Visited: February 2016

Some feel Zermatt is expensive, I think it offers value for money in over all excellence.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Peter Dannenberg
Posted: 09/02/16
A wonderful week
Overall rating: 5 stars
Peter Dannenberg
Visited: January 2016

Zermatt is my favourite skiing resort, It combines typical Swiss chalet character with a huge variety of skiing possiblities and the best mountain restaraunts in the whole of the alps. And let's not forget the majesty of the Matterhorn! I skied on my own for the first two days and then joined the Ski Clug of GB group led by Barry. This was my first experience skiing with the club. It was amazing. It was great to ski with company and have the opportunity to ski with other people of a similar standard (mostly better than me). It was fun to stop for a hot drink mid morning and then exchange experiences over a delicious lunch. The team leaders (Barry and Fran) were very professional and friendly and always waited for me to catch up! I am very impressed with the whole organisation and the way it is run and will definitely join a group on my next skiing holiday, A truly memorable experience. Peter.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Sally Dunkley
Posted: 30/01/16
Mrs
Overall rating: 5 stars
Sally Dunkley
Visited: January 2016

David and Anna were fantastic leaders. Each day as described and the groups gelled really well.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Glacier
Glacier
Group
Group
Matterhorn
Matterhorn
Sunset
Sunset
Elizabeth Cardwell
Posted: 30/01/16
Anne Cardwell
Overall rating: 5 stars
Elizabeth Cardwell
Visited: January 2016

Brilliant skiing with David and Anna. I was on my own as my husband likes to ski quite slowly theses days but I met some lovely new friends and was made to feel very welcome. Ski Club to be highly recommended

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Nick Gebbie
Posted: 23/01/16
Jan 2016
Overall rating: 5 stars
Nick Gebbie
Visited: January 2016

Slopes were in good condition thanks to two weeks on-off snow fall before we arrived. The resort has been unable to open any of its itinerary runs to date, but the pistes were in excellent condition and grooming remains top notch. Skiing in mid January brings the benefits of quiet pistes and cool temperatures to maintain good snow.
Our daughter was taught by Summit Ski who I would recommend. The resort's efforts over the past five years to offer better beginner facilities are self evident and a real success.
Zermatt's strengths are significant; huge vertical drops for mile hungry skiers and stand out scenery and mountain restaurants. The off piste is tremendous too but Zermatt will need one or two significant snow falls in February to give this season the itinerary runs it's so famous for.
The new lift on Schwartze makes that smaller mountain much more accessible which is great news.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
David Tickle
Posted: 05/01/16
Great skiing week despite poor snow
Overall rating: 4 stars
David Tickle
Visited: December 2015

In a really bad winter for early snow, we were lucky we went to Zermatt. They had spent a lot of effort and money to prepare pistes to enable skiing all over the mountains and back down to the villages in both Switzerland and Cervinia. Not all pistes open and of course, no off piste, but you could ski every area. We skied with the club reps Roo and Alan on our first day and my partner had his first ski with the club. This was our first visit to Zermatt and we had a very enjoyable time all over the mountain. My slope rating is for the slopes as they were. I'm sure it would rise to five had there been enough snow.

Slopes:
3 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Jack Hugh
Posted: 22/03/15
7th to 14th March 2015
Overall rating: 5 stars
Jack Hugh
Visited: March 2015

The weather during our ski holiday was brilliant with blue skies and plenty snow. It was a pleasure to meet up with a number of friends from previous years and particularly our Team Leaders Ian Cottam and Phil Jackson. It was my third Zermatt holiday skiing with Ian and Phil and they were both great company and were a major contribution to the enjoyment of the week. There were two groups, a fast group and a slow group, and I elected to join the latter. Both Leaders put together very interesting itineraries each day and set the pace to suit the abilities of their group members. It is very relaxing to have someone else dictate the routes for the day. Lunch stops for me are important and again both Leaders excelled at providing well judged stopping points.
The on-piste conditions could not have been better but off-piste the snow tended to be crusty, broken and rutted so I elected to stay on-piste this year, a decision which I did not regret.
Both Leaders will need to re-qualify before next year and I wish them both every success in that endeavor and see you both next year?

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Alan Cunnington
Posted: 21/03/15
Alan Cunnington
Overall rating: 4 stars
Alan Cunnington
Visited: March 2015

Ski club leaders excellent, mainly a resort for intermediate and above, you can always get good skiing, pistes upto 3800 metres not the cheapest resort but has plenty of class but you can get good value if you are careful

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Celia Bielawski
Posted: 17/03/15
Celia bielawski
Overall rating: 5 stars
Celia Bielawski
Visited: March 2015

Ian was the best rep we have skiied with in years.
Really friendly and helpful and worked hard to make the day successful.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
1 star
Paul Herbert
Posted: 01/03/15
A serious Swiss Mountain Resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Paul Herbert
Visited: February 2015

I first visited Zermatt in April 1968, joined the Ski Club. and climbed some of the serious mountains.
Whilst I have made several visits since, this time we stayed at the excellent Hotel Silvana in Furi. Sadly we had some high winds and some days of very poor visibility. The skiing is challenging, but the pistes are well prepared and the lift system has been hugely extended.
A great advantage is being able to return down on the lifts from all the ski areas, so the upper slopes can be enjoyed without tackling the difficulty of the runs to the valley.
I met up with the Ski Club Leader, Anna Henly, who proved to be an excellent, competent and caring Leader. She had a good group of members skiing with her who proved very helpful to an ageing, somewhat challenged and rather slow old fellow.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Toshiko Higashi
Posted: 20/02/15
Ms.
Overall rating: 4 stars
Toshiko Higashi
Visited: January 2015

I came here for skiing for the first time from Japan and enjoyed very much due to the following reason.
1. Ski leaders are very responsible for all the skiers joined. Members are very helpful when somebody fell down.
2. Scenery is super beautiful. We can enjoy a long run.
3. Weather is rather warm, not too much cold.

Only disadvantage of this resort is ski pass expensive and eating too.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Dave Falcus
Posted: 03/02/15
Skiing in Zermatt with Ski Club leader Franicis Breslin
Overall rating: 5 stars
Dave Falcus
Visited: January 2015

I've been to Zermatt about 10 times in the last 15 years and keep coming back despite the high prices because of the unique atmosphere of the town, the mountain restaurants and of course the scenery. The skiing has improved a lot over rent years with the addition of new lifts linking Sunegga, Gornergrat and the Klein Matterhorn ski areas.
I usually ski with the Ski Club leaders, usually Francis Breslin and Barry Weston in mid January. Both know the area very well and are a credit to the Club. This year I skied mainly with Francis who struck a perfect balance between seeking adventurous skiing with regard for the safety of the group. For example there were always easy options for those not wanting to go off-piste. The highlight was the day she arranged with local guide Brian Farquharson, who treated us to crusty snow in the morning to improve our technique in difficult conditions followed by powder stashes in the afternoon which only someone of his experience would have found.
I stayed at the Hotel Continental, very close to the Pollux Bar where we met up in the evenings for the social hour, and would recommend this hotel highly.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Zermatt
Stephen Morris
Posted: 31/01/15
Friends reunited
Overall rating: 4 stars
Stephen Morris
Visited: January 2015

I have been skiing Zermatt for the last 6 years as well as other resorts, but it's the only one I keep returning to. Many ski friends turn up the same week and the meeting place of the Pollux hotel is one of the best SCGB venues they use. The skiing area is vast even without the Cervina area, mountain restaurants amazing range and quality, and because of the altitude of the skiing and glaciers, snow sure. The après ski is as wild as Austria if you know where to look.
The downsides are no ski in ski out accommodation and the cost, already steep was not helped by the revaluation of the Swiss franc which has made the exchange rate 20% worse overnight!
I don't know how much it will effect Swiss tourist numbers, but the average visitor is quite wealthy I suspect?

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
1 star
Mary Privett
Posted: 27/04/14
Loads of snow!
Overall rating: 5 stars
Mary Privett
Visited: April 2014

I am in Zermatt as I write and it is tipping down with snow! Have had a short break here with just a couple of days spring skiing. The Matterhorn glacier paradise and over to Italy is fabulous particularly when visibility is good! The resort is extensive and fairly well signed. I have stayed at the Alpenhof Hotel which I can recommend for location - very near the Sunnega funicular and close to ski bus stops to get to the Matterhorn Express. Service, food, spa etc all brilliant too!

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Garry Thomas
Posted: 04/04/14
Full sun
Overall rating: 5 stars
Garry Thomas
Visited: March 2014

A great wind free sunny week... probably the best week, weather wise I have ever had.

Draw back late season is dust in the streets brought up by the infernal battery taxis that drive at you to get you out of the way. The city council needs to wash the streets more regularly when its like that and ban taxis from the main street at certain peak times.

The snow conditions were very well maintained for such a sunny week.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Bob Dalziel
Posted: 01/04/14
Mr
Overall rating: 5 stars
Bob Dalziel
Visited: March 2014

Great 10 days

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Allan Cuthbert
Posted: 29/03/14
Zermatt 2014
Overall rating: 4 stars
Allan Cuthbert
Visited: March 2014

Great place to ski. Matterhorn in the background; great food and ability to pop over to Italy. Not cheap but that shouldn't come as a surprise.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Iain Pickering
Posted: 14/02/14
Iain
Overall rating: 4 stars
Iain Pickering
Visited: February 2014

Tough snow conditions with flat light most of the time, cold and with blowing snow. The reps were Russ and Alistair. We skied one day with Russ who was excellent. He accommodated my 3 snow expert snow boarder "friends" and we went in search of the deepest powder we could find; we found it on itineries ( white hare) , off the sides of steep slopes and through some trees. We skied enough in the morning to last the day, but I think he kept going after a late lunch. It was a great end to a short trip and very much appreciated. Zermatt gets better the more you visit.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
3 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Stephen Morris
Posted: 02/02/14
My favourite ski resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Stephen Morris
Visited: January 2014

After a 2 year break it was good to be back, some familiar faces and some superb ski conditions. Barry and Ed, were both on good form, Barry's imminent early retirement was adding to the joyous atmosphere! There were 2 days with a mountain guide in my week, (I only managed the first), we found loads of untracked skiing and didn't stop for lunch until after 3pm as we didn't want to miss a moment, a memorable day. There was ample off piste on the itineraries on other days, and Barry to us on a blast around the 4 farthest points of the ski map from Valtournache and Cervinia then right across Zermatt on the last Friday, which was a first for me. I experienced 2 strange phenomena 1 on the Saturday getting caught in a gale in Cervinia on a drag lift heading home, very painful with lots of ice being blown in our faces. On Sunday the train to Wisp had a power cut and we had to go down by taxi, luckily we were with travel company, so they held our flight, I would have panicked if we were traveling independently.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Glyn Taylor
Posted: 17/12/13
Forget the cost and enjoy one of the Best
Overall rating: 5 stars
Glyn Taylor
Visited: December 2013

What more can I add. Superb high altitude skiing, fantastic lift system, classic traditional village with great bars and restaurants. An absolute must on your list for early or late season skiing, and the slopes are not as tough as some may say, indeed, combined with Cervinia, it is a paradise for intermediates. You could cut the cost by sampling the slopes from Cervinia, or perhaps looking for a deal with the holiday companies, but forget the wallet and enjoy one of the best resorts in the World.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Alan Lyons
Posted: 28/10/13
The Ultimate All-Round Resort
Overall rating: 5 stars
Alan Lyons
Visited: January 2013

I am often asked what my favourite resort is. The answer is not all-together straightforward but there is one place which, as an overall package, is very hard to beat and that is Zermatt.

Zermatt is by no means perfect. There are resorts that have greater piste mileage or more challenging yet accessible off-piste. It can take time in the morning to reach the highest ski areas. Accommodation is generally not ski in/out. Neither is it particularly cheap and the lift pass alone requires a hefty outlay. However despite these apparent drawbacks people return year-after-year. So what is it that results in such a magnetic effect?

Well to my mind there are many reasons that together form a compelling package.

The most obvious factor is the stunning scenery with the town being nestled below the awesome Matterhorn. Then there are the numerous surrounding 4km peaks giving access to some spectacular touring options and contributing to the fascinating history of the area, particularly in the late 1800s as aristocrat climbers from Britain raced to be the first to climb them.

The skiing extends across 3 main areas and is also linked to Cervinia across the border in Italy, which makes for a nice day trip. There is also glacier skiing which provides a snow sure option and skiing out of season.

As a high class international resort, Zermatt has many hotels, restaurants and shops but particularly skewed to the upscale where the competition ensures that standards are high. This includes the mountain restaurants too which are some of the best in the Alps. Lower cost accommodation and eating is in shorter supply and requires a good knowledge of the resort to find.

However to me the biggest single factor is simply the charm of the place. The town retains a special something in the way that it is laid out. The fact that it is traffic free (with only small electric vehicles and horse drawn carriages allowed) contributes to the relaxed feeling and lack of pollution.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Edward Silva
Posted: 26/01/13
Great if you are a Russian oligarch or one of his many nieces.
Overall rating: 5 stars
Edward Silva
Visited: April 2012

Zermatt- fantastic.

Slopes, eating, pares, off piste, on piste, history, views. It has it all.

And Grampies.

But oh my the prices. I don't know if is poor value really. What you get is amazing, but it costs. I only mamage to go for long weekends. A week with a family would require serious dosh.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Jonny Gillespie
Posted: 08/08/12
Matterhorn Paradise
Overall rating: 5 stars
Jonny Gillespie
Visited: March 2011

What at a glorious place! From the moment I stepped on to the platform for the first time back in 2010, I knew Zermatt was going to be special. The journey itself is spectacular enough with the train rolling gently around Lake Geneva before winding up in to the mountains for the last hour. If you're lucky and get a panoramic carriage with a glass roof then that first view of the Matterhorn is even more breathtaking. You don't need to spend long wandering the tiny cobbled streets before succumbing to the village's charms. No noisy petrol cars, little electric 'bug' taxis, traditional wooden huts on stilts, sheep in sheds nestled in the shadow of 5-star hotels, all with 'that' mountain towering in the background like a guardian safeguarding the inhabitants.

Once up the mountain, it get's even better! The lift company have invested millions of Swiss Francs recently and as result there are now very few bottlenecks. What was once quite a disconnected ski area is now a delight to explore. An ambitious 6-stage, 29 minute, gondola now whisks skiers all the way from the village to Trockener Steg from where they can take the cable car to The Kleine Matterhorn and on to the boulevard pistes of Cervinia. For the more expert skiers the Trifti bumps section always provides a significant challenge. Nothing but itineraries runs up here with not a piste-basher in sight!

After taking full advantage of the plethora of marked, but un-pisted, itinerary routes on offer you will definitely be in need of some culinary respite. Luckily visitors to Zermatt are not left wanting in this regard. Some say that 6 out of 10 of the best mountain restaurants are nestled on these slopes. All I know is that if you come here and don't visit the likes of Chez Vrony, Zum See or Franz & Heidi's then you will regret it at for the rest of your life. This is the very best of Swiss service and fine alpine dining without doubt. The only problem is trying not to stay too long and miss the last lifts!

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
3 stars
Church & Zermatterhoff Hotel
Church & Zermatterhoff Hotel
Cobbled Street
Cobbled Street
Gornegratbahn Mountain Railway
Gornegratbahn Mountain Railway
Matterhorn Paradise
Matterhorn Paradise
Nicholas Oatridge
Posted: 21/04/10
Zermatt review
Nicholas Oatridge

Was in Zermatt yesterday (20th April) and the skiing was still superb down as far as Furgg and Riffelberg. You can still ski into Zermatt village from Furgg down a carpet of rather messy but skiable snow.


Incidentally, Zermatt is expensive - BUT - Chalet Etoile on the Cervinia side does serve the best fish soup above 2500m anywhere in the world for only 8 euros. Drinking in Switzerland is perfectly acceptable on the streets, and the station Kiosk sells cold beer for 3 CHF a can; and for less than 60 CHF a night, the excellent Youth Hostel in Zermatt provides breakfast buffet, a 4-course dinner and a dormitory bed.

Posted: 19/07/09
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

This resort presses all the buttons for a skiing holiday, provided you've got deep pockets. Having said that, the ski season in 2009 was a particularly expensive event for Brits everywhere in Europe so Zermatt was, proportionately, no worse than anywhere else.


Hotel standards, judging by our experience of the "Parkhotel Beausite", are quite superb. Consider booking independently, and taking the train from Geneva Airport.


I agree with the readers who have reported that the slopes are well within the competence of low intermediates; the height of (most) of the slopes means that you don't get the icy, morning, pistes of many resorts elsewhere, so it's the nearest we get in Europe to the powder snow of North America.


There's also some nice apres-ski almost equivalent to the Austrian version. Go there! It's fab.

Caroline Morris-Hills
Posted: 23/03/09
Zermatt review
Caroline Morris-Hills

Back from a week skiing (14th - 21st March) in sunny Zermatt. The weather was brilliant all week - very warm in afternoons. The skiing was great but not as demanding as I was led to believe. Some of the lifts got very busy and there was a lot of walking to get to the lifts. We spent 1 hour one morning just getting from our hotel to the Trockener steg, it seemed we spent more time on lifts than skis.

We stayed at the Alpenhof Hotel which was wonderful. Great food and very friendly. The outdoor Jacuzzi was a godsend after a hard days skiing! We ate lunch a few times in Furi which had some good restaurants and had the best apple strudel in Fuchs coffee bar.

Zermatt is by no means cheap and we were paying about 60CHF every day on lunch, but that’s all part of the holiday. Overall, Zermatt is a lovely place and the Matterhorn is breathtaking, but the lack of ski convenience did put us off a bit as did nearly being run over a couple of times by the electric taxis!! A great ski resort, but I'd rather do ski to door

Helen Thomas
Posted: 24/02/09
Zermatt review
Helen Thomas

Just spent half term week in Zermatt - 2nd year on the trot, with my husband and teenage son. Snow conditions were excellent, and lift system as efficient as ever, especially with it being half term week.
Some slopes heading back into town got crowded in the afternoon, e.g. red runs 1,2 & 3 in the Sunegga area, black run 62 & red 51/50 in the Schwarzsee area, but generally the pistes were fairly quiet (not like some resorts in half term week). Stayed at the Alpen Resort Hotel, booked through Thomsons. Good facilities and food, but lacks atmosphere in the bar in the evening.
Skis booked through Ski Set via the Ski Club website which was the first time we'd used this service - excellent, would do it again.

Eating on the mountain - would recommend Restaurant Paradies in Findeln, and the main restaurant (not self service) at Trockener Steg which serves excellent pizzas. For excellent apple strudel try Fuchs Coffee shop in the main street heading down to the river from the Gornergrat Railway Station in the middle of town. Drinks - the white glue wein at the Igloo Bar has to be tried - delicious! For hot chocolate we found the best were in the newly refurbished coffee bar at the very top of the glacier paradise. Overall, excellent skiing, restaurants, and facilities, so would visit again.

David Goldsmith
Posted: 22/09/08
Zermatt review
David Goldsmith

I've skied Zermatt in the first week of the season, last week, many many mid-season weeks and summer, since the 1960s. I'd recommend late spring - after Easter. The crowds diminish and the snow is usually at optimum depths, particularly above 2000m. Skiing back down to the village may be a bit ropey in early or mid April, but the ski area above 2000m is vast. You can enjoy some seriously beautiful, scenically spectacular days into spring. The best long pistes include Schwarzsee via Stafelalp to Furi. That's an easy run, but very pretty. Even longer and equally panoramic is Rothorn-Kumme-Patrularve: wonderful meadows skiing, cutting into a forest trail. Good for a pacy gradient and linked short swings is the National piste. The toughest reliable skiing is from the top of the Stockhorn (the cablecar up to there has been decommissioned, but I believe you can get near the top on a new lift), and the nearby Triftji is another testing run, traditionally mogulled. That's another reason to ski Zermatt from Feb onwards - the Stockhorn is traditionally held until the snow has accumulated fully. That's not to say that Zermatt isn't worth skiing in early season (pre-Christmas), when the place is almost empty. I had a brilliant few days in the first week of December, since it had been snowing since October. If you're going up the Gornergrat railway, get a seat on nearside of the train as you get on. All the big views of the Matterhorn are from this side of the train. My favourite lift is the Hornli t-bar (at the time of writing. It may change to a chair) which confronts you with the north face of the mountain. Very exciting, especially late afternoon, when few people use that lift. Ski to Cervinia via the Ventina run. Best red run in the Alps - goes on for miles and miles and miles. Where to stay? The Testa Grigia, over the road from the station, is good on a budget. The Couronne has great Matterhorn views (go for a 2nd/3rd floor Matterhorn view room). The youth hostel includes evening meal in the price, rooms are clinical, but you can find seriously good ski companions there. At the other end of the scale Drink at the North Wall bar to get local knowledge and tips.

Brad Hudson
Posted: 02/05/08
Zermatt review
Brad Hudson

We had a fantastic week skiing in February this year. The slopes are great and well groomed every day. The lift system is also second to none, we had virtually no queues except right at the top on the glacier. The restaurants are also excellent. Overall, we can't wait to go back and would recommend Zermatt to skiers/boarders of any ability.

Posted: 28/04/08
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

There can't be many resorts in the world as beautiful as Zermatt. On a fine day, skiing on its slopes feels like an outing to the sky, it's all so open and dramatic. But sadly, it's time for a little reality. The truth is, if you're a reasonably good skier, it hasn't got all that much to offer. The lift system is often frustratingly slow, relying heavily on cable cars, and at busy times - such as April school holiday time in 2008 - queues can become immense. One day I waited well over an hour at Gant, where you're trapped with a choice between a slow gondola and a cable car with no way down to the valley.


There are some good itinerary runs (patrolled off-piste), especially in the Stockhorn area, but nothing like as much as at Verbier or Chamonix. The nature of the terrain is such that even with good snow cover, there are too many rocks to permit the "ski anywhere" approach possible at Grands Montets or Tortin. There are a few great, long pistes, but when all is said and done, not all that many. The Klein Matterhon area is very high and has a superb view, but other than that, it's so flat it's barely worth visiting. A lot of the runs throughout the resort are kind of inconsequential.


On top of that, it's pretty expensive, and for reasons that escaped me, by the first week of April all the self-service restaurants on the mountain were shut even though the conditions were fantastic. That meant you were left with restaurants where if you hadn't booked, you probably couldn't eat.


You have to go there to Zermatt once, but unlike Chamonix, for me it's not a resort to long to visit again and again.

Posted: 08/04/08
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Zermatt is an absolutely fantastic resort – great mountain restaurants, runs for all levels of ability, and lifts and a lift system that is up there with the best. Intermediates or better will probably get the most from this resort, but beginners can still have a great time skiing.


There is more to a ski holiday than just skiing though and this resort has it all - picturesque scenery, the best mountain restaurants and great après ski. Just be careful were you stay, as you can end up with a good walk to the lifts or buses if you are not careful. I stayed at the Hotel Perren and this hotel had it all, great location, atmosphere and the perfect location near the Sunnega express.

Ollie Austin-Wright
Posted: 10/01/08
Zermatt review
Ollie Austin-Wright

Probably the best resort in the world!

The only draw back to the skiing throughout the whole week was to get to Cervinia you either had to endure the never ending T-Bar (very very cold!!) or cram yourself into two gondolas with everyone else. That said - well worth the journey up as the slopes into Cervinia were just amazing. There is something for everyone. Our son who is 14 had the time of his life. Although he had hoped the park would have been bigger/better.

Zermatt itself – beautiful. The people – not as friendly as Austrians but ever so efficient.

spent Christmas 2007 in Zermatt and would definitely go back again.

Brilliant!

Lindsey Gresham
Posted: 06/01/08
Zermatt review
Lindsey Gresham

Back from our 1st ever week in Zermatt over New Year and it would be difficult to do it justice. Taken all round - skiing, scenery, food, village & après-ski, I imagine it must have a strong case for being the world's best resort. I had high expectations before going but Zermatt managed to exceed them.

From your arrival in the Bahnhofplatz the quality and charm is evident as you step off the train to see the fairytale horse drawn coaches waiting for those guests destined for one of the many luxury hotels (not us!). Service is superb and we never encountered any hint of surliness or disinterest from anyone. Although Zermatt is rightly known as a luxury resort we were pleasantly surprised by prices. Beer and wine could easily be found in nice bars at less than you expect to pay in the major French resorts, the Brown Cow in the Hotel Post complex on the main street was always buzzing and sold the local beer for 6CHF for a large one (£2.70). Small glasses of the pleasant local wines started at 3.50CHF and the cosy Hotel Pollux bar with its log fire sold a delicious Pinot Noir for 7CHF.

For non skiers or those unfortunate enough to be injured the resort is ideal as it does not shut down during the day and offers scores of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars sheltering hundreds of be- jewelled fur-clad holidaymakers, - I have never seen such a high proportion of people in a ski resort wearing anything other than a ski jacket out and about.

The skiing was stunning with miles of long satisfying runs with knockout views and fabulous mountain restaurants thrown in. All 3 mountain areas include a lot of very high altitude and consequently reliable skiing and the links between them have improved recently and are now good although it is a long way from being as well linked as the Espace Killy for example. The Klein Matterhorn sector is the first to close in bad weather and the Rothorn the least vulnerable.

We are intermediate skiers and loved it but I would endorse the general opinion that it is not good for beginners or timid intermediates, even some of the blues had busy steep and bumpy sections that would have made my keen early intermediate daughter jumpy. The upside of this is that most skiers appear to be competent and in control on the slopes, consequently despite some packed conditions and a little ice in places I have never seen so few falls or people being stretchered off. The slopes were also astonishingly un-crowded given the number of people in resort and a queue was a rarity. The cleanliness was predictably Swiss and the quality and quantity of the mountain loos was excellent.

We travelled with Inghams and stayed at the (relatively) budget Hotel Atlanta. This was great value for money. The location was perfect as it was quiet but 2 mins walk from the action and 5 mins walk from both the Gornergrat and Sunnega lifts. The decor was 70's but the rooms were a good size, clean, very warm and with heart stopping views of the Matterhorn, The food was fine for the price but we found the 7.00pm sharp dinner time more of a pain than anticipated and for that reason alone we will stay B&B or in an apartment next time. Despite the prominence of 5* hotels you could stay in Zermatt at a very reasonable price by sourcing B&B "Garni" hotels or apartments through the local tourist office and travelling independently, - we plan to do this ourselves next New Year by flying with a budget carrier to Geneva and using a Swiss Transfer Ticket to make the train journey to resort.

We skied the first day with the Ski Club Reps and really enjoyed the experience.

Finally I must recommend Flexrent (or Flexirent?) for ski hire. Their shop is diagonally opposite the Sunnegga lift and they have another near the Klein Matterhorn lift. If you rent from them they will store your skis and transport them overnight between the 2 lift stations as desired. We have our own equipment but had a problem and popped in to se if they could sort it out, not only did they do so but they would not accept any payment (we took them a box of chocolates on our last day). While in the shop I could see that the quality of the equipment they were dishing out was excellent and they took the time to gauge the level and preferences of their customers before making recommendations. The clientele appeared to be mostly German speaking which is probably a good indicator in a German speaking resort but the lovely staff were multilingual. Needless to say I don't think they are used by the Tour Operators - sadly usually also an indicator of quality in my jaundiced opinion.

If you are a sybarite then this resort was made for you, but if you are a cost conscious devotee of skiing and après-skier like us then please don't be put of by the luxury tag; quality is ubiquitous but high prices are optional.

Stephen Arnison
Posted: 19/12/07
Zermatt review
Stephen Arnison

Just back from 4 days skiing in Zermatt with a group of 7 mixed ability skiers and boarders - we had a great time. The conditions for the time of year where outstanding, cold sunny days (very very cold at the top of the glacier) and lots of snow. The ski area is huge and it takes a long time to ski it all, but the lifts make getting between the three ski areas easy. The only slight downside is the length of time it takes to get to the top of the glacier !
We stayed in the hotel Christiania which is next to the Sunnega lift, I couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough - great food, great service and well located.
I probably wouldn't reccomend Zermatt for people with young families but otherwise go for it, it's a great resort.

Anthony Kelly
Posted: 06/02/07
Zermatt review
Anthony Kelly

Arrived in Zermatt on 30 December for a week and stayed at the Primavera Hotel, close to the Sunnegga lift. I went to Zermatt as it was was one of the few high resorts where I could get a single room and I thought it was just great. The new lift between Furi and Riffelberg made skiing so much easier. I went with the Summit Ski School which met at the base of the Matterhorn Express most days and this required a 10 minute bus ride in the mornings. Summit man Sam was a great instructor and improved my skiing quite a bit. After lunch I'd take the new Furi-Riffelberg lift to the Gornegrat area and then across to Sunnegga and ski down and be left with only a short walk to the hotel...brilliant. The wind closed some of the higher lifts on some days and a lack of visibility was sometimes a problem, especially later in the day. Then again, we all need to be able to cope with such conditions and I'd certainly go through it all again. The runs were so long and for a decent intermediate (like me), just great. The town is lovely and is a place to which I'll gladly return.

Posted: 18/04/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Try staying up the hill at Riffelberg Hotel. At 2500+ the snow was great and at 09.00 we were 1st on the slopes. Lovely but crispy run down to furri and we were up at the Klein Matterhorn before 11am after a couple of runs on Riffelberg to warmup. No Brits all weekend at the hotel (weekend before Easter) so why don`t you try it?

Posted: 12/04/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

This was our 3rd year at Zermatt during the 1st week of April and once again it did not disappoint. We stayed at the Alpenroyal Hotel, which has its own swimming pool, sauna and steam room and is ideally located just 125 metres from the new passenger lift, which gives quick access to the Sunegga funicular. You can ski back to the door if the snow is good and even in April we could get to within 100 metres. Food was great too, though the bedrooms are starting to look a little hard worn in places. I understand that a redcoration project is planned for this year. There is still no link between the Furi/Trockener steg area and the Gornergrat going anti-clockwise though the lift map shows this as being planned presumably for 2006/7. Once this is is place it will be hard to fault the resort lifts. The Blatten restaurant just below Furi on the home run was very welcoming and served fabulous food at prices which were quite reasonable judged by other mountain restaurants. Clearly freshly cooked to order, and so you have to wait but at prices of about £8-10 for a main course and great views of the Matterhorn. In the late afternoon it is a popular place for a last drink and a cake etc. but music - that comes at the bar just below!

Posted: 20/03/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Skied for 7 days in Zermatt with a small, mixed-ability group during the first week of Mar 2006. Stayed at the 3-star Hotel Perren, right next to the Sunnegga Funicular - highly recommended for its ski-in-ski-out convenience. First the good news - Zermatt has stunning scenery; the Matterhorn is truly beautiful; the village is straight off a chocolate box; the nightlife is plentiful; the food on sale everywhere is of a high average quality; the off-piste is extensive and easily accessible. Now the bad news - the on-piste is extensive but a good athlete will ski it all out in less than a week; the mountains are high Alpine, meaning widespread lift-closures due to high winds, heavy snow or inadequate rock cover are relatively commonplace; customer service, almost everywhere, in my opinion, was slow and rude. Above all, it is Zermatt's sub-standard lift system which disappoints the most. The ski buses, which one cannot realistically avoid over a whole week, are tiny and always overcrowded. Queues, particularly at the village stations, are frequent and long. The lifts, on the whole, despite ongoing upgrades, are old and slow - one should budget at least an hour to get from hotel door to the very top of any lift stations. And things are little better over the border in Cervinia - rusty, aging lifts are the order of the day. Is Zermatt the best ski resort in the world? No. Should it be? Yes, but it's not. Zermatt's disjointed, creaking lift system is just too bad to ignore. Overall, I would recommend a trip to Zermatt. However, be prepared to be delighted off the slopes, but mildly disappointed on them.

Posted: 07/03/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

I was interested to read comments on Zermatt. We came back from there on 25 Feb 06 after a fabulous week's holiday. We were very lucky - a big dump of snow the night before we got there and another on the second night left the pistes in beautiful condition and blue skies showed the resort off at its finest. Zermatt is a total experience. It is truly unique - nowhere else in the Alps can you stand on one spot and see so many of the Alps 4000m peaks spread out around you. Speaking as someone who has climbed the Matterhorn and quite a few others of the 4000m peaks in that area during the course of a dozen trips to Zermatt in the summer, it was a revelation to see it in its winter raiment. We felt very privileged to be there and see it looking so fabulous. We stayed in the Julen Hotel which we would highly recommend to anyone. the food was excellent and the ambiance very good indeed. We were made to feel very welcome. I would agree with others that I was a little disappointed by the relatively small number of runs [if you exclude those over the Italian side]. But I particularly enjoyed the red runs down to Gant from the Rothorn and Gorner areas and I was able to ski right down to the edge of the resort from Klein Matterhorn, above Schwarzee, Gornergrat and the top of the Rothorn. Runs of that length are a treat - the run from Klen Matterhorn is over 7000ft vertical descent and can encompass red, blue and black sections. The other point that surprised me was how dead the resort was in the middle of the day from the point of view of eating possibilities. On a couple of days we skied down for lunch with the idea of going back up after lunch. Several of our favourite options were shut including the Whymper Stube. A shame. Would I go there again - yes definitely for the total experience, but if I want a wide variety of runs then I would opt for somewhere else. But any skier should go to Zermatt once in a lifetime, surely.

Posted: 13/02/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Just got back yesterday and whilst there is much to recommend it, overall I feel it did not live up to expectations.

Firstly, the town itself is one of the best I've been to. Very picturesque and ecclectic - expensive boutiques almost rub shoulders with rickety barns housing sheep. You won't find many ugly concrete buildings which plague the likes of Val D'Isere and Courchevel.

The selection of nightspots is excellent, my favourites were Hehnustall, Hotel Alex, The Post and Schneewittchen. Hehnustall for lively sing along apres ski on the run down from furi to zermatt. it closes at 7ish so you have to do the last few hundred metres in the dark which can be a bit scary especially if you've had a few drinks.

Hotel Alex has a very chic and unusual interior and is great to relax over a couple of cocktails, especially if there's a band playing - bit pricey though. Post is great for a few beers and has a selection of venues inside, schneewittchen for late night revelling. Generally speaking, eating and drinking isn't as pricey as you might fear - whilst it is certainly very easy to blow a couple of hundred on a meal for two, Zermatt caters for all budgets and it is certainly possible to find good value meals and drinks. The use of purely electric vehicles is a big plus, the whole place just seems cleaner because of it. To the mountain. The scenery is generally very inspiring but the ski area is distinctly average in my opinion. From speaking to a few Swiss, surprisingly, this doesn't seem to be a resort where they come for the skiing, but rather for the experience as a whole. The conditions were not very good when I was there - a lack of snow combined with high winds scouring the upper slopes and turning them into ice rinks. From speaking to a few reps and seasonnaires, zermatt really comes into it's own when the conditions are very good, as the offpiste on offer and the itinerary runs open the whole resort up. I can see how this would be so, so maybe this is a resort to book late depending on the conditions. The snow making equipment was not in use when I was there and is unlikely to be used for the whole season as there was a lack of rainfall during the summer. Whilst environmental considerations need to taken into account, the slopes in places were very treacherous and really should have been either closed or the snow cannons used. It is also ridiculous that they are charging full whack for the ski pass when they are not providing the full service. Getting around can be frustrating, the ski bus is fairly efficient but there is an over-reliance on slow cable cars, and the gornergrat railway is so slow as to be almost not worth bothering with. Worth doing it once for the experience. It is possible to get around all areas in a day but you wouldn't get much skiing done. The pistes are generally uninspiring and there are very few black runs. There aren't any pistes that are simply there to be done, every one seems to be a way of getting somewhere else. Be careful of the altitude in places, most people won't be too bothered about it but you will almost definitely feel some effects. Children are more at risk and we did see a couple of children faint at the top of the Klein matterhorn. Overall, worth going, but I'd recommend getting a late deal depending on conditions rather than saving up and splashing out.

Posted: 10/02/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

I agree with most of the comments here - a great resort. The only thing that I feel really needs a mention is.... the altitude. It never even crossed my mind when I arranged my trip to Zermatt that the height of the upper runs could have a bearing on my enjoyment of the holiday. But 3,500 +M is an awfully long way up and the lack of oxygen can affect even reasonably young, fit people - it certainly got me. Not nice. I guess you could just not go that high! Nerys

Posted: 16/01/06
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Went to Zermatt on Christmas Eve 2005 for a week. Was told that it was great but... no amount of words, or even pictures, can quite prepare for how magical it is - particularly the iconic and inspiring Matterhorn! We stayed at the Alpenroyal Hotel which was outstandingly good. Zermatt itself seemed to have suffered a little from lower than usual snowfall at this time of year. However, the runs that were open were very well kept - although a little hard and icy in places. The lift system is extremely good, although not as perfectly linked for convenience - but that's in part because not all the runs were open. There are some excellent red runs on each of the 3 main areas: Furggsatel to Trockener Steg (71/72), Schwarzee to Furi (51), Furi to Zermatt (50), Riffelberg to Furi (39/40/42), Sunnega through Patrullarve to Zermatt (4/2/1/3). The last of which conveniently (but scarily - very narrow final descent) took us straight back to the door of the Alpenroyal - so it really is a ski home hotel. The top of Klein Matterhorn was closed for 2 days (-30 odd degrees). We did get across to Cervinia on our last day but quickly decided we preferred Zermatt. The food was above average (if a little expensive) almost everywhere but we particularly liked the Pizzas served in the top floor restaurant at Trock Steg...... but the meal we had at Zum See restaurant (just off the Furi/Zermatt Red run) was truely excellent and takes the biscuit - be prepared for a hefty bill though (3 courses for 2 at lunch with a couple of drinks notched in at 140 Swiss Francs, about £65). The old world feel that has been retained by limiting traffic really adds to the ambience - with only electric buses and taxis allowed. Although the buses were invariably crowded the service ran regularly and promptly enough to be of no concern. We had some very good private lessons that I organised through Stoked Ski School and I would certainly recommend them for their instructors - true English speaking! We have not been to many different ski resorts but this will take an aweful lot to beat - 10 out of 10 to the Zermatians!

Next, I felt I should share how fantastic a hotel the Alpenroyal is. It is family owned and I spoke mostly with the daughter of the family, Viktoria. She couldn't have been more helpful and the accommodation was as excellent as the resort and ski areas themselves. The food was the best we have had in any hotel stay anywhere. Every course was as good as the menu described. They have their own 'Wellness centre' with a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna - all free and all very much a luxury end to a hard day tearing up the snow. The rooms were not huge but we never felt they were too small either. They were well appointed and had a luxury feel - particularly the sumptuous pillows and duvets. We had one of the rooms with Matterhorn view and it simply set the tone for the day when we opened the curtains each morning. Location-wise we felt that this was about perfect. It shares a lift and tunnel with the Grand Shonegg hotel that takes you right down to the Sunnegga lift station area and bus stop for the other areas. Our trip each morning was more pleasant for knowing how easy this location was. For those that don't mind narrow runs there is also a red run, from the Patrullarve station, that comes straight past the door of the hotel and down into the town. I'm sure there are many other excellent hotels in Zermatt but I shall not ever see the need to try them - the Alpenroyal is a wonderfully run hotel in an excellent location.

Posted: 29/11/05
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

I visited Zermatt in early December 2004 and had a great time. I was nervous about the timing of the trip - being afraid that there wouldn't be enough snow anywhere I selected. In the end, I think I made a great choice. Despite the fact that many runs were closed, there was a lot of skiing to enjoy. In addition, there were no problems with the quality of the snow. My only complaint is that it was impossible to ski all the way into town, but it wasn't really an inconveinince in the end. I won't go on about specifics of the mountains since you can read them in the other posts. I just want to recommend the area for early season skiing.

Posted: 29/11/05
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Forgive me for being so delayed in posting this comment. I visited Zermatt in early December 2005 and had a great time. I was nervous about the timing of the trip - being afraid that there wouldn't be enough snow anywhere I selected. In the end, I think I made a great choice. Despite the fact that many runs were closed, there was a lot of skiing to enjoy. In addition, there were no problems with the quality of the snow. My only complaint is that it was impossible to ski all the way into town, but it wasn't really an inconveinince in the end. I won't go on about specifics of the mountains since you can read them in the other posts. I just want to recommend the area for early season skiing.

Posted: 18/01/05
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

We just spent a great week at Zermatt / Cervina. Despite no new snow since 26 Dec, all of the trails at the top of the mountains and most access to the village were in great shape. Sun and temperature were outstanding. The new 6 person lift in Zermatt on the glacier sets you up for a great run all the way to Furi.

Posted: 05/01/05
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

We have had an excellent time Courchevel 1850 with Finlay ski for xmas. It is "very" expensive on the slopes there, all you need do is ski to La Tania or Meribel to get 2 Gluweins for 6 euros, rather than 7 euros for one in 1850. Potiniere is good for food at a good price. Such a quiet resort for xmas with a good lift system.

Posted: 05/01/05
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

As a visitor to Zermatt several times I can't understand why anyone would say anything negative about it apart from the lift queues.It is a stunning village with a lovely mixture of young and old. The views of the Matterhorn are unsurpassed anywhere in Europe, some of the runs are just wonderful(Klein Matterhorn to the town is a lovely run), and some of the mountain restaruants are as nice as you will find in Europe. Agreed, it's not as raucous as Austria and the people are not as rude as the French but as far as being somewhere of real quality of concerned, I think it's unsurpassed. This is from someone who has been to St Anton, Verbier, Val D'Isere, Whistler (fabulous), Vail, Chamonix. Oh, and I forgot to mention, as you are hurtling down the slopes you probably won't accidentally nail any little kids as they suddenly appear from nowhere - there aren't any. It's a very adult resort. Well done Zermatt.

Posted: 30/12/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Went to Zermatt in Jan 04 and stayed in the excellent Ambassador Hotel. We really enjoyed our time in Zermatt. The skiing was excellent and we really enjoyed sampling the fantastic mountain resturants, especially the one that makes fresh pasts at Furi. We enjoyed it so much we are returning again next week (Jan 05) and can't wait. It a very romantic, picturesque village - a real must!

Posted: 08/12/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Having read the feedback on this page regarding Zermatt I feel compelled to say: My husband and I enjoyed Zermatt so very much that we are willing to endure another 20 hours travel time each way to return to this wonderful place. While I have not skied other European locations I am quite well rounded in North American Resorts. I found Zermatt to be friendly, great skiing, and a good value. It's one of my favorites !!

Posted: 09/11/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

New Year Jan 2004. Transfer from Geneva airport was longer then expected and eventually took about 5 hours. Fly to Sion if you can. Zermatt is traffic free apart from the 'milk van' type taxis, so you have to get off the train at Tasch to take a 15 minutes train journey to Zermatt and then get a taxi to your hotel. We stayed in the Alpenroyal 3 star, which is set high on a hill overlooking Zermatt. However, there is a lift set into the mountain, which will bring you down to road level and then its only 100 yards to the Sunegga funicular. Unfortunately, my ski classes (Stoked Ski school), were not held on the Sunegga but on the Trockener Steg and what an absolute pain this was to get to! So, think about were you are staying before you book your ski classes. Travelling around is the big problem with Zermatt and they really ought to do something about this. It took me over 1 hour to get to the Trockener for my 9.30 class - trying to get on a bus was a nightmare. Another day (not skiing), I planned to go up to the Klein Matterhorn to the Ice Palace, but it took me 1 3/4 hours to get to the Trockener, a further 15 minutes in the queue for the KMatterhorn cable car, by which time, I'd lost the will to live, gave up and went back to the hotel. Very pretty resort, expensive to eat up the mountains (and not taking posh nosh - just spaghetti was about £13). Apre-ski was OK but not wild. Pink Elephant bar had live music and liked it here, though for NYEve, tickets were about £45 - which I though was far too dear. Boyfriend (good skier) really enjoyed it, but both of us prefer Austria.

Posted: 27/10/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

I can't speak highly enough of Zermatt. I snowboarded there in 2004 and it was amazing. The vertical drops are massive, the overall area is big and it's varied - smooth bits (glacier), moguls in places, challenging off-piste and the lifts are modern, great snow, fantastic restaurants, big snow-sure glaciers and a great link to Cervinia in Italy. The only people I wouldn't recommend it to is beginners. But the main reason to go is the picturesque village and the outstanding scenery. It really does have your eyes on stalks, it blows most resorts away and it's exhilarating just being there, let alone swinging in a cable car above a glacier at 3850 metres - you simply have to go !

Posted: 24/09/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

In the process of planning my Christmas hols, just been reading through this column... I have to say that after a fantastic stay last year, Zermatt is definitely top of my list! Fantastic off-piste opportunities, and a very diverse set or runs stretching all the way into Italy. The new lifts were extremely fast and effective and we had virtually no queing. Part of the experience was being shown the best runs (and bars/restaurants) by our chalet host. We stayed with a small specialist company called Mountain Exposure (.com) and received a very personalised and friendly treatment. Definitely worth having somone with local knowledge around to get the most of what is to my mind a very special resort. Enjoy!

Posted: 30/04/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Am pretty much in agreement with Lindsay - the scenery was stunning, the hospitality great, the prices not as high as I was expecting (no worse than France), but the skiing was not up to what I was expecting...the ski areas are linked very tenuously, usually by a long "track" with not much to do but stand up and point forwards, and pisted area doesn't match up to a lot of the French resorts. Off piste, however, is a different story - unlimited!

Posted: 03/03/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

An excellent resort for older families/intermediates and above. The runs and the snow were the best we have had for years (end Feb 2004).The mountain restraunts and cafes were very good, especially the Pizza restaurant at Trockner Steg, the girls loved this one. However the resort is very large, more a town than a village and there are 3 separate ski areas - so access around/across the resort is poor. As with a previous contributor the best 10F we spent each day was on a taxi to the Klein Matterhorn lift which avoided the very crowded buses.

Posted: 27/02/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

After wanting to go to Zermatt for several years I have to say I was disappointed. Compared to resorts like St.Anton, 3 Valleys and La Plagne was pretty but the skiing was overrated. Due to strong winds a significant number of lifts were closed on several days, and the lift pass was overpriced for the quality of the service provided. Too many runs which just don't quite connect leaving you to plank between them. Yes it's a charming village, with some good mountain restaurants and Inghams were very good, but we won't be returning.

Posted: 13/02/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Went to Zermatt for the New Year and it was fantastic! We stayed in the Hotel Parnass and I can totally recommend it to you all. The food and hospitality were great. Had such a great time that we've booked up again for this New Year!

Posted: 02/02/04
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Just returned from a long weekend in Zermatt which gave us three great days of skiing. Travelled independently via Geneva airport and a hastle free three and a half hour rail transfer to Zermatt ( 118SF with a SBB transfer ticket). The snow conditions were superb - best I've experienced in five visits. The two new 6 packs on Riffelberg and Trockener Steg helped to access these areas without relying on old & slow drags. No queues to speak of, in fact the Saturday was blissfully quiet. Mountain restaurants lived up to their billing with Chez Vroney and Flualp both offering superb food at reasonable prices. In fact prices all round are much better value than equivalent top resorts in France and the quality of everything can be relied on. A fantastic resort with all the ingredients for a top notch ski holiday. There is a bit of walking from bottom of pistes back to hotels etc but unless you absolutely refuse to walk anywhere I can't think of a downside.

Posted: 30/12/03
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Zermatt is a great place I love it ...but... the quality of piste
preparation is generally poor in my opinion for the price of the lift
ticket. At last they are upgrading an old lift infrastructure and the new
lifts this year are both excellent but they should send their piste team
to Cervinia to see how to prepare pistes and maintain them...

Posted: 17/04/03
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

We thought the village was great and the scenery mega but the skiing was not as good as you would hope. The lifts were out of the ark and took ages to get you anywhere, but we found it amusing that some of the mountain restuarants had reserved seating not the usual. Overall an interesting place.

Posted: 24/03/03
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Picturesque and charming village with great scenery (if you want that) but skiing marred by hopelessly under developed lift system, not that extensive ski area and unjustifiably high prices. 100% won't be rushing back!

Posted: 11/03/03
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Our ski group found the resort to be charming, hospitable and very picturesque. The dramtic witch nosed Matterhorn dominates most views and a trip to the alpine museum graphically illustrates its intriguing history. The lifts operate an automated pass detection system which saves hassle. The drop from the top of the Klein Matterhorn back into the village streets is 8 miles of blissful unbroken and interestingly varied piste. The views of the village with the Matterhorn as a backdrop are breathtaking on the way back. Look out for an ice cave complex carved into the glacier - entry is surprisingly free. Boarders seem to stay away in their droves, compared to France for example, which suits the ski purists and lift queues and piste traffic seems to be kept to a minimum. However, don't come here if you're on a tight budget - for example a modest light lunch on the mountain will set you back 10 pounds. Remember to leave your Euros behind and take Swiss Francs. Connectivity to Geneva airport is via a lengthy coach trip, but the chocolate box scenery en route makes the trip worthwhile. Highly recommended, but be prepared to bend the plastic!

Posted: 23/01/03
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Zermatt is only exspensive if you use a tour operator, and the mountain resturants are good and reasonable unlike much of france where they are neither.

Posted: 13/01/03
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

There with the family just before christmas,superb snow as usual. Still too many "T" bars once you are up on the slopes at Trockner Steg,Gonnergrat or Sunnega. Been going to Zermatt for the last 10 years amongst other boys trips to different resorts and the new lift from Furi is the first
investment I have seen in the lifts system over that time. Lets hope the amalgamation of the three lift companies will lead to a better investment strategy that will enhance the lift system once you are up on the slopes. Having said this still agree with the Telegraph that this is still the best resort in the world.

Posted: 01/05/02
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Fantastic area. We were there from 5-9 april. Lots of new snow. Zermatt is also great. We are 100 % sure, that we will return next year.

Posted: 01/05/02
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Have just returned from two weeks in Zermatt staying at Hotel Simi. The hotel was excellent, food brilliant and the whole two weeks was just wonderful - the fantastic weather helped. Just one cloudy day out of 14!

Posted: 01/05/02
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Can I put in a big plug for the Kinderparadies? Our 3 and 2 year old had wonderful care there. The owners are english speaking, lunch is provided, and they are open 7 days (unlike Club Nico, no doubt good but closed Saturday and Sunday, at least this March) The Kinderparadies also take babies from 3 months, obviously a significant plus for parents.

Posted: 01/05/02
Zermatt review
Ski Club member

Zermatt - still living on its reputation as a stunningly beautiful and scenic resort. However, for skiing, many of the French resorts are now light years ahead in terms of lift efficiency and interconnectability. BTW - went with Inghams who were very professional, the days of the rep only wanting to talk to you if you buy them a beer seem to have gone from Inghams rule book.

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

Ski Club Freshtracks holidays to Zermatt

Glacier Ski Express
Action zone: 8 nights, 07 Jan 2017
Starting in Zermatt and finishing in St Moritz this fantastic opportunity to ski Switzerland’s two...
Ski & Schnapps
Action zone: 7 nights, 14 Jan 2017
Zermatt is known throughout the world for its snow-sports and with a superb selection of mountain...
Monte Rosa Safari
Touring zone: 7 nights, 21 Jan 2017
Set off from Zermatt on a five day Swiss/Italian back country skiing experience through six glorious...
Ski & Schnapps 2
Action zone: 7 nights, 01 Apr 2017
Zermatt is known throughout the world for its snow-sports and with a superb selection of mountain...
End of Season Off Piste
Weekend zone: 4 nights, 27 Apr 2017
Get a final ski break in to end your season heading to the spring snow with three days off...

tour operators in Zermatt

snow-wise
10% discount for Ski Club members
Snow-Wise is an independent ski tour operator, specialising in tailor-made ski holidays, luxury ski...
Skiworld
10% discount for Ski Club members
The largest independent ski operator in the UK. Featuring over 140 catered chalets in superb...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
Ski Independence
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Independence is one of the UK's leading tailor-made ski specialists offering the best hotels...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Crystal Ski Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
For us, the mountain is everything. We love it as much as you do. Since 1981, we’ve been finding the...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...
Lagrange Holidays
5% discount for Ski Club members
Lagrange specialises primarily in self-catering ski holidays to France, featuring accommodation to...
Elegant Resorts
5% discount for Ski Club members
Elegant Resorts, the UK's leading luxury tour operator, provides exceptional client service and...
The Oxford Ski Company
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over eighteen years of experience, some 450+ personally inspected luxury ski chalets and 90...
IGLU.COM
5% discount for Ski Club members
Igluski.com is an award-winning ski travel agency, working with over 70 tour operators to offer ski...

ski accommodation in Zermatt

Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
15% discount for Ski Club members
The Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt**** is the latest addition to the Sunstar family. Small but smart...
Walliserhof Swiss Quality Hotel - Zermatt
10% discount for Ski Club members
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt - charm and tradition in the very heart of Zermatt - with cosy rooms and...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
PowderBeds.com
5% discount for Ski Club members
PowderBeds is an online Ski Accommodation Retailer, offering a huge range of hotels, apartments and...

member discounts in Zermatt

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Glacier Sport
15% discount for Ski Club members
Ski rental shop on the main street. Profit from our assortment & experience! Families &...
European Snowsport
10% discount for Ski Club members
10% off all lessons booked direct by the Ski Club member. State membership at time of booking. Not...
Stoked Snowsports AG
10% discount for Ski Club members
Stoked offers private ski and snowboard lessons with knowledgable English speaking instructors for...
Summit Ski & Snowboard School
10% discount for Ski Club members
Zermatt's first British ski and snowboard school providing superior quality tuition in private...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now