Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    

USACopper Mountain: Reviews

If you've been to Copper Mountain and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Michael Tedbury
Posted: 16/04/17
Return Visits
Overall rating: 4 stars
Michael Tedbury
Visited: March 2017

Actually this is my 4th visit to Copper -. We also visited in 2012 and 2013 when the weather was not so good for skiing (essentially not enough snow in February).
This time (end March to beginning April) there was enough snow. It was lovely. We had blue sky days, snowy days, snow over night days and at the end spring days where in all honesty skiing in the afternoon was just a little too slushy.
There is lots of accommodation very near the slopes, the lifts are fast and good, there are rarely queues. The grooming is good. There is some on-mountain eating and some evening dining options. Not lots but some. The quality is good though which place is good seems to vary from year to year. This year Incline had much improved and CB Grille was not quite as good as previously. Endos does good burgers. There are several more very good dining options in Frisco 6 miles away. We still recommend Dillon Dam brewery for food and beer. The new Outer Range Brewery in Frisco is interesting and nest to a Mexican restaurant. Its beer is good but not cheap.
In summary - I like Copper and will almost certainly return. (But it is not cheap for a Brit to visit anywhere in the USA at present). Though Copper's season pass is good value.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
2 stars
Alan Wardropper
Posted: 14/03/17
Alan W
Overall rating: 4 stars
Alan Wardropper
Visited: February 2017

Firstly,I cannot believe that no Ski Club member has been to Copper since 2007! Get your reports in! There is some very good skiing at Copper. It is varied and it is easy to get round the mountain.Stay in the village and you can get a free 'Secret Pass' which enables you to jump what few queues there may be (Timberline and Flyer). Free cat ski Fri-Sun. Friendly locals. Small village with little nightlife during the week and only a few restaurants.The resort is well worth visiting for a few days in combination with other nearby resorts.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
2 stars
Apres:
2 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Michael Tedbury
Posted: 20/06/07
Copper Mountain review
Michael Tedbury

Good resort. Transfer time from Denver by hire car is fine but it is HIGH! My headache ceased after 4 days but the runny nose and sleepless nights never ceased over 13 days. Accommodation was fine though I think charging for wifi access is a cheek. Good restaurants in nearby Frisco and I thoroughly recommend the beer at the Dam fine brewery at Dillon Dam. Plenty of variety of skiing, we liked the moguls not quite enough snow mid January 2007. Oh and did I say IT IS HIGH and the headache is a cracker.

Posted: 01/03/06
Copper Mountain review
Ski Club member

Excellent skiing resort, Just been there in mid February. A lot better than Europe and the lifts are good. For those staying at the resort, you get a beeline lift pass, which has no queues and can jump the queue. It does makes you feel like royalty lol. Stayed at the Telemark condo, the room where much bigger, better then any Europe hotels. Now the food at the resort were poor, expensive. Apres ski is poor. If you are looking for a good nightlife then this is not the place to be. But for skiing itself it is. The high altitude effected many of my friends, one even had toothache that the local dentist couldn't find anything wrong. All in all its been a great holiday.

Posted: 31/01/06
Copper Mountain review
Ski Club member

Just returned from 9 days in Copper. Excellent skiing; the separation of green, blue and black areas means no nasty surprises for inexperienced riders and usually deserted runs and lifts for those of a higher standard. Tempted to rename the place Silver Mountain as the average age of weekday skiers made us feel like we were on a Saga holiday. Bee-line lift passes which are both free and allow you to jump the queue are excellent, but there are only queues at the weekend anyway and they have the usual excellent American organisation. Bowls good, but avoid the drag - use the Rendezvous chair to the Copper bowl instead (which has two chairs and a free snowcat ride to some top off-piste). Only one on-mountain indoor restaurant though - a couple of others are outdoors only and useless when it's really cold (which it was when we were there). Very little nightlife too, some bars close at 8 and you can't get anything to eat anywhere after 9pm. Local free buses to Silverthorn for shopping (don't shop in Copper; ludicrous prices) and Breckenridge for great nightlife are another bonus. However, at 9600 feet watch out for altitude problems - many of us had headaches and minor nosebleeds for the first day or so. Given a few more years Intrawest will build this place into something amazing but it's a little small for a long trip at the moment.

Posted: 12/12/05
Copper Mountain review
Ski Club member

February 2005 Stayed in Tucker Lodge (Gold Lodging) Very well equipped and comfortable.Outdoor hot tub was lovely. Very short walk to Flyer lift. All accomodation not far from lifts. The BeeLine Lift Pass for residents gives a huge advantage in the lift queues-you have your own line with no queues at any time.And the lift pass was FREE. They are trying hard to give the Village atmosphere but not a lot of charm. The skiing is great. We are good intermediates. The mountain naturally goes from easy runs to advanced as you go from West to East. So the less advanced skiers aren't being cut up by quicker ones. Lovely cruising green & blue runs. A lot of these are through the trees and glades and because of the large number of runs you can often find yourselves alone on the mountain. Most of the black runs, and also a few of the blues are not pisted every day. This gives great opportunities for exploring among the trees and bumps. The Bowls provide a lot of fun even for non-experts like us. The areas for teaching beginners looked very good with some beautiful green runs. Overall we rated the skiing and snow conditions very highly. The lift system works very well. The locals were very friendly and helpful. We all found the altitude gave some problems, made us quite tired. The mountain restaurants were not as good as in most European resorts. We tended to eat in our room as the village restaurants also lacked charm and the American service (have a nice day) gets to you after a while! Can recommend using the local free bus services to go to Breckenridge for an evening, Main St is quite something. We would go back as the overall value(with free lift pass) is very good.

Posted: 01/05/02
Copper Mountain review
Ski Club member

Fabulous skiing, and gradually improving village. I think your summary here is very good. The bowls up at the top are incredible, although as they are only served by a single poma lift, they can be impractical at weekends - I encountered the rarity of a 20 minute US lift queue there all day on a Sunday in February. The long runs down the mountain are wonderful for any level of skier, and served by some startlingly fast lifts. My favourite, however, were the trails through glades and forests - wonderful.

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

tour operators in Copper Mountain

Skiworld
10% discount for Ski Club members
The largest independent ski operator in the UK. Featuring over 140 catered chalets in superb...
Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...

ski accommodation in Copper Mountain

Erna Low
6% discount for Ski Club members
Erna Low is an independent ski specialist offering the widest range of self-catered and hotel...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now