Close
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more
Quick Search
Advanced Search use any combination to find matching resorts
Ski resorts good for

additional options: select as many as you like - for more results use less options

     
     
     
    
    
    
If you've been to Corvara and you'd like to add a review, please log in or sign up to the Ski Club for free to add reviews and photos from your recent trips.
Sign up to the Ski Club
Stephen Wray
Posted: 26/03/17
Great skiing week in Corvara
Overall rating: 5 stars
Stephen Wray
Visited: February 2017

Super first stay in Corvara. Stunning scenery and the whole Sella Ronda area is vast. The snow makers were busy this year to produce excellent piste conditions. Best is at high season. The Posta Zirm Hotel is recommended.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Tony Blyth
Posted: 20/03/17
Corvara - Dolomiti Superski
Overall rating: 5 stars
Tony Blyth
Visited: March 2017

This was our third successive trip to Dolomite Ski area and second stay in Corvara. I personally prefer Corvara over Selva because there are more access points into the ski circuit, so less congestion during the morning start. In addition, Corvara has it's own extensive local area of pistes, ideal for bad weather days when you don't want to venture too far. Great for intermediates with lazy blues and long reds.
Corva is on the Sella Rona circuit and provides easy access to Marmolada glacier and also Armentarola for the Lagazuoi tour.
There are restaurants all over the mountain providing an excellent range and quality of food and beverages at reasonable cost. We found all toilets to be very very clean which is a refreshing experience compared with some of resorts.

The pistes are always very well maintained, the local culture is great and the people are friendly.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
David Luther
Posted: 05/02/16
Prettiest mountains in the world
Overall rating: 5 stars
David Luther
Visited: January 2016

We have skied all over Europe and North America for over 30 years and nowhere matches the stunning scenery of the Dolomites. Ditto for the mountain restaurants, lots of them, well sited and good value. Very well looked after at Hotel Greif. On edge of town but excellent shuttles to slopes. Good choices of food and wine and newish leisure facility.
We were worried about amount of snow as none fell from 23 Nov till some 25 cms fell the week before we arrived. However the snow makers were working hard and it had stayed cold enough for nearly all the runs to be open and well groomed, as you expect to find in Italy. Mainly blue and red runs so great for ageing intermediates like us. There are some black runs, but minimal off-piste due to lack of snow. The ski area is vast. The Sella Ronda is at the heart of the area but there are numerous offshoot areas.
Alta Badia has some lovely tree lined runs plus the World Cup GS Gran Risa run, fun to come out of the start hut. Cross the village of La Villa and follow the San Croce Tour signs to visit a lovely little Chapel high on the mountain. The Hidden Valley run down to Armenterola was sadly closed due to lack of snow, but is a must if open. There is also the small area above Colfusco. Soft in the afternoon as south facing.
The cable car above Arabba gives great views and links through to the triple cable car lift up to Marmolada at 3250 mts. Giving a very long run back, but watch out for the wind!
Next there is the small but pretty area above Canazei and links to the Panorama Tour towards Val Di Fassa. And there's more!
Sella Ronda continues round to the Val Gardena, which of course includes the World Cup downhill Saslong run. There are 3 villages and the only busy area we found was after taking the train under St Christina.
This might be my wife's last ski trip, couldn't have gone to a nicer place.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Corvara
Corvara
Corvara
Corvara
Gran Risa start
Gran Risa start
San Croce
San Croce
Richard Tatton
Posted: 06/04/15
Cloudy week
Overall rating: 4 stars
Richard Tatton
Visited: March 2015

Good intermediate ski area which were mostly blues and reds (with more blacks etc on linked area vis the Sella Ronda) and reasonable snow though getting quite heavy by early afternoon. Weather was mostly cloudy and the Thursday hopeless with fog and falling snow giving totally flat light. The Friday was great with fresh cold snow that remained great to ski on into the afternoon despite lots of sun from a blue sky! The Friday was the sort of day when you start planning for next season!

We stayed at the Panorama Sporthotel at the top end of Corvara. Excellent facilities (pool, saunas steam rooms) with enerprising chef in the kitchen. Various different themes on most nights with excellent dishes to delight. Rooms OK though ours certainly lived up to the hotel name with a great view from the balcony across the valley.

Corvara has a good range of bars etc but other resorts offer more varied apres ski.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Fizz Gill
Posted: 17/02/15
Dont miss out
Overall rating: 5 stars
Fizz Gill
Visited: February 2015

Stayed in a small familly run hotel, it was imaculate and only a short walk to the regular bus service. Corvarva and the Sella Ronda has knocked Val off my top spot, the area is vast and varied, the slopes excellently prepared and nearly all covered by snow making machines, the scenery is spectacular and we hardly had to queue for the whole week, only at the biggest gondolas, and then not for long. The only draw backs are that you need to be a good map reader to get the best out of the area, but first you have to locate the maps that cover all the individual areas, and apres seemed to be very limited. On the plus side we hardly heard any English spoken all week. The mountain restaurants serve great food and are so much cheaper than in the big French resorts, have booked allready to return next year and cant wait.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
4 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
3 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Keith Carter
Posted: 09/03/14
Skiing in Corvara
Overall rating: 5 stars
Keith Carter
Visited: February 2014

We had wonderful holiday in the Dolomites, staying with Collets @ Chalet Angelo, which I would thoroughly recommend. With sunny blue skies and meters of snow covering the resort, there is skiing for all abilities and full days out on the Sellaronda & Hidden Valley, finishing the run by horse drawn sleigh tow. . The area has plenty of good quality mountain restaurants, We will definitely go back for more.

Slopes:
5 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
5 stars
Value for money:
5 stars
Great Views
Great Views
Horse Drawn Tow
Horse Drawn Tow
The Dolomites
The Dolomites
Sarah Gowans
Posted: 03/01/14
A risk worth taking
Overall rating: 5 stars
Sarah Gowans
Visited: December 2013

The first week of the season can be a bit of a risk but in Corvara's case it was well worth taking. Superb pistes, no queues and a wonderful variety of pistes. The local area app SkiBeep proved great fun to clock up our daily mileage and store our favourite runs. We thoroughly enjoyed the mountain restaurants where the quality of food and value for money was exceptional. Our accommodation was also great - so much so that we've already booked to go back next year.

Slopes:
4 stars
Accommodation:
5 stars
Eating:
5 stars
Apres:
4 stars
Value for money:
4 stars
Alyson Brice
Posted: 19/09/07
Corvara review
Alyson Brice

Went to Corvara for a week in February 07 and would thoroughly recommend the resort. Lovely runs and excellent terrain.

Stayed at the hotel 'Table' which is a lovely and we have already booked to go again next year. The resort is not cheap, but with such beautiful views, it is well worth the price.

Ian Hextall
Posted: 05/02/07
Corvara review
Ian Hextall

Just returned from a week in Corvara (Alta Badia). Excellent hotel (Col Alto), excellent weather (8 hours of sunshine all 6 days) and excellent snow (from previous week). I strongly recommend this resort with a good mix of slopes, good mountain huts, good lift system and very easy access to the Sella Ronda with all the resorts associated. Credit to Neilsens for picking up this little known resort.

Posted: 12/02/03
Corvara review
Ski Club member

Corvara is a great resort. We skied through it whilst staying in Arabba with Neilson. Shame there are no British tour operators in the town. The Boot Bop otherwise known at the tea dance at the Post Zirma hotel was fantastic fun, visited by quite a few British tour operators a couple or three times a week. Need British tour operators in resort, or British run chalets.!!

Country Overview

Find out what it's like to ski or snowboard in 24 countries. The pros and cons, costs, the mountains, the resorts and a whole lot more

tour operators in Corvara

Neilson Holidays
12% discount for Ski Club members
Up to 12% discount for Ski club members on all Neilson holidays!Ski holiday savings for 2016/17...
Inghams
5% discount for Ski Club members
With over 80 years' experience in ski, offering holidays in 91 resorts in 10 countries, Inghams...
Ski Solutions
5% discount for Ski Club members
Ski Solutions is Britain's original and largest specialist ski travel agency and tailor-made...

member discounts in Corvara

Skiset
60% discount for Ski Club members
N.B. Online bookings will vary depending on resort and seasonal time. However Ski Club members will...
Where to Ski and Snowboard
Where to Ski and Snowboard 2016

Our ski resort guide is brought to you by 'Where to Ski and Snowboard', updated annually and available to

Buy now