Snow Report

Thu 27 Feb 2020, 06:08
View historical snow reports

Snowfall

Last Snowfall Thu 20 Feb
Next 3 days 18

Depths

Upper piste depth 100
Lower piste depth 30

Snow conditions

Snow quality Hard packed

Lifts

Lifts open 41 out of 43
Resort opening date Fri 06 Dec 2019
Resort closing date Mon 13 Apr 2020

Weather at a Glance

Resort Thu 27 Feb Fri 28 Feb Sat 29 Feb Sun 1 Mar Mon 2 Mar Tue 3 Mar Wed 4 Mar Thu 5 Mar Fri 6 Mar Sat 7 Mar
Wildschonau
4 -7
14 -8
0 0
Ski Club members and registered users only

See more

Snow overview for Austria

25 February 2020

The clouds rolled in across Austria during the day on Tuesday, heralding the start of a much-needed snowy spell of weather. Over the weekend, bare patches were appearing and spring-like snow conditions dominated, so this return to winter is very welcome.

Some of the resorts struggling most in the warmth were those in the SkiWelt, the likes of Kitzbühel and the Ski Amade region further east. Slopes below 2000m were suffering most, but despite the high temperatures, almost every lift was running and some decent skiing was on offer on piste.

Even the high, glacier resorts such as Hintertux, Pitztal and Stubai saw temperatures nudge above freezing and soft conditions on south-facing slopes. North-facing slopes retained cold, chalky winter snow however, but there was no powder to speak of.

As mentioned, a big change is on the way as a cold front sweeps through on Tuesday. The biggest falls are forecast for the west of the country, with spots such as Lech and St Anton favoured for the heaviest snow. Here 50cm+ is possible by the end of Thursday, with steadily decreasing amounts further east. That being said, most major Austrian resorts are looking at 20-40cm of new snow by Thursday. Further snow is then expected.

Read moreread less

Wildschonau Webcams

Click through to see webcams in Wildschonau
Open Webcam

Sign up to receive email snow reports

Going skiing? Get your snow reports direct to your inbox

Go

Join the Ski Club today

Join Now