Snow Report

Thu 27 Feb 2020, 06:09
View historical snow reports

Snowfall

Last Snowfall Wed 26 Feb
Next 3 days 66

Depths

Upper piste depth 220
Lower piste depth 5

Snow conditions

Snow quality New snow

Lifts

Lifts open 16 out of 24
Resort opening date Sat 21 Dec 2019
Resort closing date Sun 19 Apr 2020

Weather at a Glance

Resort Thu 27 Feb Fri 28 Feb Sat 29 Feb Sun 1 Mar Mon 2 Mar Tue 3 Mar Wed 4 Mar Thu 5 Mar Fri 6 Mar Sat 7 Mar
Les Contamines
44 -9
2 -7
20 -6
Ski Club members and registered users only

See more

Snow overview for France

25 February 2020

With a north-westerly air current, the French Alps were the first to see the snow arrive on Tuesday. After a bright morning, this made for a significant change in conditions after a very mild and sunny weekend.

Lower slopes were really suffering by the end of the weekend, thanks to a combination of the high temperatures and busy half term traffic. Resort runs at the likes of Chatel, Morzine and La Clusaz were strips of snow surrounded by brown fields by Monday.

Further up, some good wintry snow conditions could be found, but only on the very highest north-facing slopes at the likes of Tignes, Les Deux Alps and Val Thorens. Even here, no off piste was available over the weekend, but this looks set to change.

Lots of snow is forecast for the French Alps over the coming days, with the Tarentaise (resorts such as La Plagne, Tignes and Les Arcs) set to be the focus of the heaviest snow. More than 100cm is expected in places by the time the week is over, with more possible next week too. This looks set to transform the skiing, but beware of the avalanche danger which is set to rise considerably over the coming days.

Read moreread less

Les Contamines Webcams

Click through to see webcams in Les Contamines
Open Webcams

Sign up to receive email snow reports

Going skiing? Get your snow reports direct to your inbox

Go

Join the Ski Club today

Join Now