Snow Report

Thu 17 Jan 2019, 12:00
View historical snow reports

Snowfall

Last Snowfall Sun 16 Dec
Next 9 days 264

Depths

Upper piste depth 100
Lower piste depth 10

Snow conditions

Off piste snow Gripping snow

Lifts

Lifts open 7 out of 7
Resort opening date Fri 07 Dec 2018
Resort closing date Wed 01 May 2019

Weather at a Glance

Resort Thu 17 Jan Fri 18 Jan Sat 19 Jan Sun 20 Jan Mon 21 Jan Tue 22 Jan Wed 23 Jan Thu 24 Jan Fri 25 Jan
Macugnaga
6 -5
6 -8
3 -8
Ski Club members & registered users only
Ski Club members only
See more

Snow overview for Italy

16 January 2019

There was a welcome improvement in conditions in resorts across Italy, with a mammoth 60cm falling over Cervinia on Monday 14th Jan, substantially improving conditions. Although considerably smaller amounts fell elsewhere in the Aosta Valley, 10-15cm was still very much welcome in terms of freshening up otherwise tired and increasingly hard packed pistes. The coming couple of days are expected to be bright and mild, with temperatures only slightly below freezing. Beyond that however, forecasts indicate a return to more overcast and potentially snow filled conditions.

Conditions in the Via Lattea, or Milky Way were still challenging, with limited coverage restricting the potential linking pistes between the constituent resorts. Although there has been significant levels of artificial snow produced, there mains only 30-50cm on the ground, and many pistes remain closed. There was light snowfall on Monday 14th, also coming down over nearby Bardonecchia.

Resorts in the Dolomites saw some very welcome and much needed fresh snowfall, beginning on Sunday 13th and continuing until Tuesday 15th January, at which point clear skies and mild weather once again dominated the weather. Up to 20cm came down over this period, and while not enough to allow meaningful off piste skiing, it at least freshened up the pisted terrain.

Read moreread less

Macugnaga Webcam

Click through to open webcams in Macugnaga 
Open webcam

Sign up to receive email snow reports

Going skiing? Get your snow reports direct to your inbox

Go

Join the Ski Club today

Join Now