Snow Report

Thu 17 Jan 2019, 12:00
View historical snow reports

Snowfall

Last Snowfall Tue 15 Jan
Next 9 days 24

Depths

Upper piste depth 260
Lower piste depth 110

Snow conditions

Off piste snow New snow

Lifts

Lifts open 58 out of 70
Resort opening date Fri 30 Nov 2018
Resort closing date Mon 22 Apr 2019

Weather at a Glance

Resort Thu 17 Jan Fri 18 Jan Sat 19 Jan Sun 20 Jan Mon 21 Jan Tue 22 Jan Wed 23 Jan Thu 24 Jan Fri 25 Jan
Saalbach Hinterglemm
19 -1
2 -9
0 -5
Ski Club members & registered users only
Ski Club members only
See more

Snow overview for Austria

16 January 2019

The heavy snowfall, which began over Austria just prior to the New Year, has finally eased off, leading into a short period of calmer conditions and bright sunshine. Most recently over the weekend, primarily beginning on Saturday evening up to 100cm of fresh snow fell, most heavily the Voralberg and the Tyrol, although much of the rest of the ski regions within Austria also saw moderate to heavy snowfall as well. This was coupled with heavy winds, high to extreme avalanche risk and other disruption, resulting in widespread resort closures, alongside somewhat impaired transportation links in some instances, an issue that persisted into Monday 14th.

Tuesday 15th saw bluebird conditions across the country, staying cool on Tuesday before seeing warmer conditions on Wednesday. While many resorts were able to open a wider range of their terrain, many connections between resorts, as well as glacial resorts were either partly or completed closed still due to avalanche risk, including Hintertux, Kaunertal, much of the Arlberg region and the links between the Skicircus area.

For those areas that are open, conditions on piste will be almost as good as it can get, with plenty of freshly groomed snow giving packed powder conditions in many areas. Off piste terrain is still a risky venture given the quantity of snow that came down – always consider the safety warnings displayed in resort. A new storm is expected to deliver fresh, although far more limited snowfall for much of Austria from Thursday onwards.

Read moreread less

Saalbach Hinterglemm webcams

Click through to see webcams in Saalbach Hinterglemm
Open Webcams

Sign up to receive email snow reports

Going skiing? Get your snow reports direct to your inbox

Go

Join the Ski Club today

Join Now