Snow Report

Thu 21 Feb 2019, 07:31
View historical snow reports

Snowfall

Last Snowfall Tue 12 Feb
Next 9 days 0

Depths

Upper piste depth 185
Lower piste depth 50

Snow conditions

Off piste snow Hard packed

Lifts

Lifts open 89 out of 90
Resort opening date Sat 15 Dec 2018
Resort closing date Sat 27 Apr 2019

Weather at a Glance

Resort Thu 21 Feb Fri 22 Feb Sat 23 Feb Sun 24 Feb Mon 25 Feb Tue 26 Feb Wed 27 Feb Thu 28 Feb Fri 1 Mar
Montalbert
0 2
0 4
0 6
Ski Club members & registered users only
Ski Club members only
See more

Snow overview for France

20 February 2019

Resorts in the Northern French Alps having not seen snowfall in a week, but instead consistent bright sunshine. As such, expect conditions more suggestive of late season skiing than mid-February. Resorts at higher altitudes have at least been seeing the temperature drop below freezing at least, helping to maintain the quality of the snow. Even during the day, resorts such as Chamonix, Val Thorens and Espace Killy have hardly been breaking freezing during the day, working against the power of the sun to keep the snow somewhat firmer than it otherwise would be. However, as you head into resorts situated lower down the valleys, such as Morzine, La Tania or Samoens for example, pistes will gradually become softer.

Resorts in the Soutern French Alps are faring noticeably worse, having hardly seen any snow since the start of February, and being more susceptible to the warming weather. In addition, these resorts have less snow on the ground as it stands, often with lower piste depths of around half a metre. Be prepared to see some heavily soft and chopped up runs in these resorts, especially on key runs returning to the lift and resort areas.

If anything, it will more warm over the course of the week, moving from the current point with resorts sitting around freezing level during the day to the mercury being solidly above freezing.

Read moreread less

Montalbert Webcam

Click through to see webcams in Montalbert
Open webcam

Sign up to receive email snow reports

Going skiing? Get your snow reports direct to your inbox

Go

Join the Ski Club today

Join Now