Snow Report

Thu 17 Jan 2019, 12:00
View historical snow reports

Snowfall

Last Snowfall Fri 11 Jan
Next 9 days 100

Depths

Upper piste depth 70
Lower piste depth 40

Snow conditions

Off piste snow New snow

Lifts

Lifts open 5 out of 8
Resort opening date Thu 22 Nov 2018
Resort closing date Mon 22 Apr 2019

Weather at a Glance

Resort Thu 17 Jan Fri 18 Jan Sat 19 Jan Sun 20 Jan Mon 21 Jan Tue 22 Jan Wed 23 Jan Thu 24 Jan Fri 25 Jan
Smugglers' Notch
1 -15
4 -6
51 -17
Ski Club members & registered users only
Ski Club members only
See more

Snow overview for USA

16 January 2019

West coast resorts such as Squaw and Mammoth continued to enjoy great skiing conditions, with the majority of lifts open and running across both resorts. Tuesday 15th January was forecast to be a snowy day, and indeed up to 52Cm was expected to fall at Mammoth, where temperatures could drop to around -6C.   The heavy snow is likely to continue towards the latter part of the working week, with Squaw hoping to amass over 100cm of fresh snow by the end of Thursday 17th January.

Nearby, Utah based American resorts were also offering good skiing conditions and base depths, though not quite to the same extent as those further west. Snowbird looked in great nick on Tuesday, and recent shots from around Mineral Basin showed some lovely fresh turns.  In Wyoming, Jackson Hole enjoyed good conditions on the upper mountain, and further snow over the next few days will only serve to improve conations further. Those with an eye on the Kings and Queens of Corbett’s next month will hope the snow keeps coming, and stays nice and fresh in the couloir over the coming weeks.

Timberline, Oregon, was blessed with some lovey conditions; cold temperatures of around -1C, a mixture of sun and cloud, corduroy pistes and even some pockets of powder. Like the above, snow is forecast over the next few days, but a slight rise in temperatures on Saturday 19th January could lead to a spot of rain at lower altitudes.

Generally, base depths in Colorado are not exceeding 100cm on the upper slopes. Temperatures are however cold; -7C to be precise at Loveland on Tuesday, and hopes will be high for moderate to heavy snowfall on Friday 18th January. Breckenridge, Copper Mountain, and Keystone are all predicted over 20cm.

On the east coast, Attitash, New Hampshire, is somewhat behind the west coast in terms of snow, with around a 40cm base depth on its upper slopes at present. That said, 90% of the mountain was open on Tuesday, and both Tightrope and Avenger are reported to be in good shape.

Read moreread less

Smugglers Notch Webcam

Click through to see webcams in Smigglers Notch
Open webcam

Sign up to receive email snow reports

Going skiing? Get your snow reports direct to your inbox

Go

Join the Ski Club today

Join Now